Paula55

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hey there :),

I am a student from Europe, bought my little brother a non-expensive second hand 32GB Wii U to give it to him during the summer :toot:, the Wii isn’t modded.

I have done some reading :wacko:, my firmware is v 5.5.1U, I disabled auto updates.

I will go for Haxchi (will buy the DS game) as I would rather not connect to the internet every time I want to install a new game.

I am looking for the cheapest option in terms of storage, I’d rather not buy an HDD and I am okay with installing one game at a time on the internal memory, using a 64GB SD Card.

Questions:

1- Does installing games directly on the internal storage means a risk of bricking the Wii? (some people advised to install them on USB HDD first to check if they work).

2- I read that there’s 25GB of space available for games for Deluxe version and the most voluminous game in USB Helper is 21GB, do you think that internal memory will be enough to install it (in other words if total game + update is 21GB will it only take 21GB after installation or more, in case some files are unzipped).

3- I am planning to copy the games I have already downloaded via USB Helper to another PC:

3.1- Will this be a problem? Can they get corrupted while copying using an SD card?

3.2- If I put them in the same path in the other PC USB Helper folder, will they be shown as “Downloaded” in USB helper so that I can use ‘’Copy to SD’’ feature?

3.3- Is it better to re-download them on the other PC instead to be safe?

4- I want to buy a 64GB SD card to use for installing games:

4.1- I can see that they have different speeds, does a faster SD card means that I can copy games to it from PC more faster or this will depend on the PC speed itself (I know that for USB it depends on ports but for SD I am not sure)? Ps: I am not asking about the speed in relation to Laodiine /play speed?