nds-bootstrap loader: Run commercial NDS backups from an SD Card

Discussion in '3DS - Homebrew Development and Emulators' started by shutterbug2000, Dec 24, 2016.

  1. Svaethier

    Member Svaethier GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,207
    Location:
    Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    Sm64DS still freezes at blackscreen when entering castle
     


  2. Aditzu

    Newcomer Aditzu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    Romania
    It works for me.Though, the loading times are a bit long.
     
    Raylight likes this.
  3. Joom

    Member Joom  ❤❤❤

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2,474
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I've heard mention that this is caused by an SD with slow speeds (keep in mind that the class of a card doesn't determine how fast it reads and writes). I don't know if that's conclusive, though. I have the same problem, and I figured I'd just wait until this gets smoothed out.
     
  4. JCCG1989

    Member JCCG1989 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    306
    Country:
    Mexico
    I just updated my TWLoader via FBI, it tries to update as soon as it boots when after that it sends me to Home screen without any error message. Any ideas?
     
  5. Robz8

    Member Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,694
    Country:
    United States
    Set AUTODOWNLOAD in settings.ini to 0.
     
  6. JCCG1989

    Member JCCG1989 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    306
    Country:
    Mexico
    checking, ty for fast answer.
     
  7. TheArcadeStriker

    Member TheArcadeStriker GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Inside a Virtuaroid
    Country:
    Venezuela
    It does load (relatively) fast for me (and I mean that it does not stay in a blackscreen after entering the castle), and that was with the U version of SM64DS.
     
  8. JCCG1989

    Member JCCG1989 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    306
    Country:
    Mexico
    fixed, thank you.
     
  9. umbjolt

    Member umbjolt Wild jolteon

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    Sevilla
    Country:
    Spain
  10. TheArcadeStriker

    Member TheArcadeStriker GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Inside a Virtuaroid
    Country:
    Venezuela
    You can get the latest TWLoader version, in which you can update the bootstrap to the latest unofficial version avaliable through the options screen.
     
    umbjolt likes this.
  11. WarioTails358

    Member WarioTails358 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Messages:
    241
    Country:
    United States
    Twloader 2.2.3 is crashing for me when I reach/move to a really big ds game (556mb)
    on my new 3ds xl.
    It didn't use to crash when doing this on 2.2.2 though.
     
  12. Robz8

    Member Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,694
    Country:
    United States
    I'm currently trying to free some RAM space.
     
  13. Stephano

    Member Stephano I'm not a Casul...

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Country:
    United States
    I updated TWLoader through the homebrew browser and downloaded the newest bootsrap.nds. I placed that and my roms inside sd/roms/nds but i still get a white screen when i load a game like Smea's Portal or Super Mario 64 DS. Is there anything im doing wrong?
     
  14. Robz8

    Member Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,694
    Country:
    United States
    Did you get the latest nds-bootstrap.ini file, and installed the latest TWLNAND side CIA?
     
  15. Joom

    Member Joom  ❤❤❤

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2,474
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Are you using scene releases (Trashman)? If so, which version are you using? I ask because this'll clarify if the game not loading when entering the castle is an SD speed issue or not. If it is then that's rather disappointing since my wife bought me a new one for Christmas.
     
  16. Stephano

    Member Stephano I'm not a Casul...

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Country:
    United States
    wow, quick reply. No i haven't im going to assume the homebrew browser doesnt install to twlNAND. As for the ini, where do i get that exactly?
     
  17. Robz8

    Member Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,694
    Country:
    United States
    Latest TWLoader .7z file. It's in "sdroot/_nds/". Put it in "sd:/_nds/".
     
    Last edited by Robz8, Jan 10, 2017
  18. Stephano

    Member Stephano I'm not a Casul...

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Country:
    United States
    To install the TWLoader-TWLNAND side.cia, i just copy it to my clipboard and paste it into "TWL NAND" and then install it right?
     
  19. Robz8

    Member Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,694
    Country:
    United States
    No. It's a CIA file. You install it.
     
  20. Stephano

    Member Stephano I'm not a Casul...

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Country:
    United States
    Lol, i'm dumb. Thanks alot! :yay:

    Edit: IT WORKED. Thanks again.
     
    Last edited by Stephano, Jan 10, 2017

Share This Page