N64 Emulation on 3DS... Speculation

Discussion in '3DS - Hacking & Homebrew' started by shub13, Jan 5, 2013.

Jan 5, 2013
    • Newcomer

    Patatosoupa New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Message Count:
    31
    Country:
    Greece
    While i do not wish to derail the thread discussing on how well a n64 emulator would run on the 3ds,i would like to ask if emulating a ps1 is considered easier/harder compared to it
    I understand that the psp would still be the superior choice but i am intrigued if the 3ds can hit acceptable levels while running it


    • Member

    Sychophantom I'm a plant.

    Member Since:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,021
    Location:
    Born on the Bayou
    Country:
    United States
    This is the last time I'm going to post in this thread about Copyright laws. Seriously. I mean it this time.

    Copyright laws are not designed for easy reading and interpretation. They are purposely made to be as confusing as possible to benefit those with the highest paid lawyers (and the most of them). Depending on which high paid lawyer you ask, and whether or not you were paying them or if they were against you, you will get different answers on that cat picture question.

    Some would say you own the copyright, and could sue someone for downloading it. Some might say wherever you hosted it owns the copyright (Facebook says this, as does Instagram, and I think Photobucket now claims it. Not sure).

    For the Windows installer question, that's done as an automated process and is usually understood by the company marketing the program. If you were ripping the disc to run via something like Daemon's tools, or using an ISO, that would be different.

    However, browser cache files have been used to convict. Usually in child porn, which is a subject I find very distasteful, and I have no desire to talk about.

    At any rate, I'm done. I need a coffee and some breakfast. We now return to your regularly scheduled speculation, wishful thinking, and random comments.
    • Member

    Oxybelis New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Message Count:
    253
    Country:
    Antarctica
    For those who still dream about N64 emulation on 3DS. PSP CPU @333Mhz can be even faster than one core of 3DS CPU at default speed. And like in PSP 2nd is for OS only, I think. Add ARM and MIPS target difference and you will see that this is near impossible to make an emulator running games with good framerate.
    • Member

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Member Since:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Message Count:
    10,996
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    I just love the MHz Myth.

    PSP CPU single-core 333 MHz CPU - MIPS architecture
    3DS ARM11 Dual Core 266 MHz - ARM architecture

    Lower clock speed =/= lower performance

    MHz Myth: http://www.hardwareanalysis.com/content/article/1465/
    3DS CPU Info: http://infocenter.arm.com/help/index.jsp?topic=/com.arm.doc.ddi0360f/index.html
    and http://3dbrew.org/wiki/Hardware#Specifications

    Must we forever have these higher-clock-speed-equals-better-performance discussions?
    Last edited by the_randomizer, Jan 6, 2013
    • Member

    Oxybelis New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Message Count:
    253
    Country:
    Antarctica
    the_randomizer, You are implying that ARM11 is much better than MIPS R4000 derived design? You are wrong.
    ARM11 dmips per mhz is about the same as R4000.
    • Member

    Deltaechoe The Dopefish

    Member Since:
    May 3, 2012
    Message Count:
    509
    Country:
    United States
    b-b-b-but mhz is so easy to compare!
    • Member

    Oxybelis New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Message Count:
    253
    Country:
    Antarctica
    :glare: Deltaechoe, check post above yours.
    • Member

    MAXLEMPIRA Legends are Made from True Stories...

    Member Since:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Message Count:
    287
    Location:
    Kanto <- Hyrule -> Unova
    Country:
    Mexico
    Well yeah, but, it's possible to do something like that, no?? something like a N3DS homebrew game using the files (3D models, Textures, etc.) from the N64 ROM. so.. in that way, there's more possibilities that the N3DS can run N64 games.. I think it would work...
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Even if you convert and use the resources, you'd still have to reprogram the whole game.
    Thorhian likes this.
    • Member

    VMM Full Hollow Cero

    Member Since:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Message Count:
    2,596
    Country:
    Brazil
    Considering that way, even DS could do this,
    but I don't see anyone whilling to spend all that time doing such thing.
    It needs all the coding to be converted, it would need an extra hard-work on converting the game from 4:3 to 16:9, even more hard-work into using different angles, and making a script to make a descent 3D, and it would need to create new stuff to use them for the touch screen.

    Don't illude yourself, it's not gonna happen.
    Last edited by VMM, Jan 6, 2013
    • Member

    MAXLEMPIRA Legends are Made from True Stories...

    Member Since:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Message Count:
    287
    Location:
    Kanto <- Hyrule -> Unova
    Country:
    Mexico
    so.. a quick answer... it's like do a whole new game even using the resources from the original rom??n too much work for a simple game?? umm.. I think, if we're gonna do something like that, we should do TLoZ Wind Waker or Twilight Princess, it's a good reason to do that...
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You would be pretty much programming a whole new game, yes.
    • Member

    Armadillo New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Message Count:
    2,321
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    N64 emulation on 3ds (if possible) will be terrible. All N64 emulators are terrible, even the pc ones with all their resources are bad. Until they make something decent, I don't see how we can have a good portable one.

    Why is progress with N64 emulation so slow anyway? Is the console just not understood or is there something tricky about it, that makes it hard to do?
    • Member

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Member Since:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Message Count:
    10,996
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Therein lies the issue
    • Member

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Member Since:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Message Count:
    10,996
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Source or not going to believe? You're implying that MHz is the be-all-end-all of what makes a CPU fast. It isn't; architecture and instruction sets are more vital. Are you a CS major by chance? No one knows how capable the 3DS CPU is, or what it can emulate. The fact you immediately shoot down a remote possibility of N64 emulation so quick without getting info to backup your claim is laughable.
    Last edited by the_randomizer, Jan 6, 2013
    • Member

    Thorhian My CPU's prefer Water

    Member Since:
    May 23, 2012
    Message Count:
    353
    Location:
    Shazezar
    Country:
    United States
    DING DING DING! WE HAVE A WINNER! Lol, had to do it.

    Lol, anyone who even knows the difference between Modern AMD CPUs and Intel CPUs knows this is true. Architecture makes the CPU, however your clock speed still can be a useful thing to... well... you know... be higher. Thats why I water cool my CPU >:D But yeah, Randomizer is right, Oxybelis, in that you need to know the Arch. to see how well it will TRUE-FULLY perform, since the clock speed can only guide you so much lol.
    the_randomizer likes this.
    • Member

    GamerzHell9137 Hua

    Member Since:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Message Count:
    2,758
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Ofc its possible.
    The PSP could and the 3DS has a lot better GPU and CPU.
    • Member

    Oxybelis New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Message Count:
    253
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Last edited by Oxybelis, Jan 7, 2013
    • Member

    Bryon15 New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Message Count:
    714
    Location:
    baltimore maryland
    Country:
    United States
    Exactly how powerful is the 3DS? Is it the level of a gamecube?
    • Member

    Oxybelis New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Message Count:
    253
    Country:
    Antarctica
    CPU is much worse than GC (Gekko 1125 dmips), but GPU can do some fancy stuff.
    Last edited by Oxybelis, Jan 7, 2013

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page