N64 Emulation on 3DS... Speculation

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Shubshub, Jan 5, 2013.

Jan 5, 2013
  1. Patatosoupa

    Newcomer Patatosoupa Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Greece
    While i do not wish to derail the thread discussing on how well a n64 emulator would run on the 3ds,i would like to ask if emulating a ps1 is considered easier/harder compared to it
    I understand that the psp would still be the superior choice but i am intrigued if the 3ds can hit acceptable levels while running it
     


  2. Sychophantom

    Member Sychophantom I'm a plant.

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,163
    Location:
    Born on the Bayou
    Country:
    United States
    This is the last time I'm going to post in this thread about Copyright laws. Seriously. I mean it this time.

    Copyright laws are not designed for easy reading and interpretation. They are purposely made to be as confusing as possible to benefit those with the highest paid lawyers (and the most of them). Depending on which high paid lawyer you ask, and whether or not you were paying them or if they were against you, you will get different answers on that cat picture question.

    Some would say you own the copyright, and could sue someone for downloading it. Some might say wherever you hosted it owns the copyright (Facebook says this, as does Instagram, and I think Photobucket now claims it. Not sure).

    For the Windows installer question, that's done as an automated process and is usually understood by the company marketing the program. If you were ripping the disc to run via something like Daemon's tools, or using an ISO, that would be different.

    However, browser cache files have been used to convict. Usually in child porn, which is a subject I find very distasteful, and I have no desire to talk about.

    At any rate, I'm done. I need a coffee and some breakfast. We now return to your regularly scheduled speculation, wishful thinking, and random comments.
     
  3. Oxybelis

    Member Oxybelis GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    Antarctica
    For those who still dream about N64 emulation on 3DS. PSP CPU @333Mhz can be even faster than one core of 3DS CPU at default speed. And like in PSP 2nd is for OS only, I think. Add ARM and MIPS target difference and you will see that this is near impossible to make an emulator running games with good framerate.
     
  4. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    14,047
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    I just love the MHz Myth.

    PSP CPU single-core 333 MHz CPU - MIPS architecture
    3DS ARM11 Dual Core 266 MHz - ARM architecture

    Lower clock speed =/= lower performance

    MHz Myth: http://www.hardwareanalysis.com/content/article/1465/
    3DS CPU Info: http://infocenter.arm.com/help/index.jsp?topic=/com.arm.doc.ddi0360f/index.html
    and http://3dbrew.org/wiki/Hardware#Specifications

    Must we forever have these higher-clock-speed-equals-better-performance discussions?
     
  5. Oxybelis

    Member Oxybelis GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    Antarctica
    the_randomizer, You are implying that ARM11 is much better than MIPS R4000 derived design? You are wrong.
    ARM11 dmips per mhz is about the same as R4000.
     
  6. Deltaechoe

    Member Deltaechoe The Dopefish

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    509
    Country:
    United States
    b-b-b-but mhz is so easy to compare!
     
  7. Oxybelis

    Member Oxybelis GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    Antarctica
    :glare: Deltaechoe, check post above yours.
     
  8. MAXLEMPIRA

    Member MAXLEMPIRA Legends are Made from True Stories...

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    347
    Location:
    Kanto <- Hyrule -> Unova
    Country:
    Mexico
    Well yeah, but, it's possible to do something like that, no?? something like a N3DS homebrew game using the files (3D models, Textures, etc.) from the N64 ROM. so.. in that way, there's more possibilities that the N3DS can run N64 games.. I think it would work...
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Even if you convert and use the resources, you'd still have to reprogram the whole game.
     
    Thorhian likes this.
  10. VMM

    Member VMM Full Hollow Cero

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,731
    Country:
    Brazil
    Considering that way, even DS could do this,
    but I don't see anyone whilling to spend all that time doing such thing.
    It needs all the coding to be converted, it would need an extra hard-work on converting the game from 4:3 to 16:9, even more hard-work into using different angles, and making a script to make a descent 3D, and it would need to create new stuff to use them for the touch screen.

    Don't illude yourself, it's not gonna happen.
     
  11. MAXLEMPIRA

    Member MAXLEMPIRA Legends are Made from True Stories...

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    347
    Location:
    Kanto <- Hyrule -> Unova
    Country:
    Mexico
    so.. a quick answer... it's like do a whole new game even using the resources from the original rom??n too much work for a simple game?? umm.. I think, if we're gonna do something like that, we should do TLoZ Wind Waker or Twilight Princess, it's a good reason to do that...
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You would be pretty much programming a whole new game, yes.
     
  13. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,623
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    N64 emulation on 3ds (if possible) will be terrible. All N64 emulators are terrible, even the pc ones with all their resources are bad. Until they make something decent, I don't see how we can have a good portable one.

    Why is progress with N64 emulation so slow anyway? Is the console just not understood or is there something tricky about it, that makes it hard to do?
     
  14. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    14,047
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Therein lies the issue
     
  15. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    14,047
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Source or not going to believe? You're implying that MHz is the be-all-end-all of what makes a CPU fast. It isn't; architecture and instruction sets are more vital. Are you a CS major by chance? No one knows how capable the 3DS CPU is, or what it can emulate. The fact you immediately shoot down a remote possibility of N64 emulation so quick without getting info to backup your claim is laughable.
     
  16. Thorhian

    Member Thorhian My CPU's prefer Water

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    355
    Location:
    Shazezar
    Country:
    United States
    DING DING DING! WE HAVE A WINNER! Lol, had to do it.

    Lol, anyone who even knows the difference between Modern AMD CPUs and Intel CPUs knows this is true. Architecture makes the CPU, however your clock speed still can be a useful thing to... well... you know... be higher. Thats why I water cool my CPU >:D But yeah, Randomizer is right, Oxybelis, in that you need to know the Arch. to see how well it will TRUE-FULLY perform, since the clock speed can only guide you so much lol.
     
    the_randomizer likes this.
  17. GamerzHell9137

    Member GamerzHell9137 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,171
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Ofc its possible.
    The PSP could and the 3DS has a lot better GPU and CPU.
     
  18. Oxybelis

    Member Oxybelis GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    Antarctica
  19. Bryon15

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    755
    Location:
    baltimore maryland
    Country:
    United States
    Exactly how powerful is the 3DS? Is it the level of a gamecube?
     
  20. Oxybelis

    Member Oxybelis GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    Antarctica
    CPU is much worse than GC (Gekko 1125 dmips), but GPU can do some fancy stuff.
     

Share This Page