My Wii will not read my backup discs. Please help!

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by PsychoticDust, Jun 8, 2010.

Jun 8, 2010
    • Member

    PsychoticDust New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Message Count:
    287
    Location:
    England, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi everyone,

    I'm using NeoGamma R8 (Rev 14) to load my backups, I recently brought some discs and they won't work at all. I get various error messages, NeoGamma times out, or at best I start a game only to see the message "The game disc could not be read, etc...". The last discs I had were DVD+R 8x speed and they were great, but my local shop now only has 16x speed discs.

    The discs I am trying to make work now are TDK DVD+R, 1-16x speed, 4.7GB single sided. I know people say to use DVD-R, but for now I'm stuck with the discs I have and I've never had a problem with DVD+R in the past. All of my old DVD+R x8 backup discs still work perfectly.

    I'm using ImgBurn and I've tried burning discs at 3x all the way to 8x. My drive won't go any lower than 3x or higher than 8x. I make sure that my laptop is focused solely on burning discs when I burn them. I would love to use an external harddrive, but all I have is a 4GB USB, so I can only put small games on it. Lol, go me.

    If it helps, my Wii is 4.1E, about 3 years old, I've always used backup discs and I've never updated through Nintendo.

    If you need anymore info, then please let me know.

    Thanks in advance!
    • Member

    Dimensional New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Message Count:
    355
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    • Member

    PsychoticDust New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Message Count:
    287
    Location:
    England, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the prompt reply. [IMG]

    I brought my Wii about 3 years ago, I've always used backup discs and I've never updated it through Nintendo. I think that maybe the problem is that I've gone from using 8x discs (which have always worked perfectly for me) to 16x, but I can't get anymore discs for a while, so I need to know how to make them work.
    • Member

    chop New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Message Count:
    478
    Location:
    Pontefract
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do your old backups (the 8x ones) still work?
    • Member

    PsychoticDust New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Message Count:
    287
    Location:
    England, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All of them are working perfectly.
    • Member

    Dimensional New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Message Count:
    355
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, sorry about that. I read most of your post, as sometimes I can't see bits and pieces. You might want to go back to 8x discs, or trying to burn the discs at a lower speed, like 6x, as that's how fast the native wii drive will read. When you burn a disc, there should be an option to burn at a slower speed.
    • Member

    PsychoticDust New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Message Count:
    287
    Location:
    England, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Lol, that's ok I appreciate that you're trying to help. When I can I will go back to 8x, but for now I'm stuck with the 1-16x and I don't want to have wasted my money. I've tried burning them at every speed between 1 - 8
    • Member

    Dimensional New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Message Count:
    355
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    Are the discs the exact same brand as the ones that did work?
    • Member

    PsychoticDust New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Message Count:
    287
    Location:
    England, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, the discs I'm using now are TDK DVD+R, 1-16x speed, 4.7GB single sided and the one's that worked were Tesco (lol) DVD+R 8x. I've tried Tesco DVD+R 16x, but they didn't work, so I moved on to the one's I'm using now as they're a better brand.
    • Member

    Dimensional New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Message Count:
    355
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    Then it might just be the speeds the disc can use. I guess the drive can only handle discs that only have 1-8x speeds.
    • Member

    PsychoticDust New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Message Count:
    287
    Location:
    England, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, I'm thinking that it's my drive rather than the discs, as with 8x I've only ever had 3-4 bad burns out of many, many discs and I've not had one good burn with a 16x, but still I just want to see if there is a solution to get a 16x disc working for me. I'm not very technical, so I'm hoping that some of the more Wii savvy people out there will have a solution!
    • Member

    Dimensional New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Message Count:
    355
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    With each post I'm getting new information that completely changes my thoughts on the problem. Now you tell me that the drive sometimes does bad burns. Yes, it could be your drive. I'd recommend getting a new one or maybe trying out USB Loader GX.
    • Member

    HaniKazmi New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,657
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is a simple issue. The wii can't read TDK discs. Ever. It has nothing to do with burn speeds or drives.
    I'm not sure why, but me and serveral other people have discovered this. Just get another brand and use them.
    • Member

    PsychoticDust New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Message Count:
    287
    Location:
    England, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Lol I mean that with 8x discs I've only ever had about 3 bad burns out of about 50 games and nothing but bad burns with 16x discs, so I think it's either my drive or I'm not doing something right, but I don't know what...

    I would love to use a USB loader, as they're great, but I only have a 4GB USB...
    • Member

    Dimensional New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Message Count:
    355
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    • Member

    PsychoticDust New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Message Count:
    287
    Location:
    England, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, but I'm in the UK, so your Walmart is my Asda. I don't have a job at the moment, but when I can I'm getting an external HDD!
    • Member

    Dimensional New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Message Count:
    355
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    Gotcha. Well, I hope this problem is resolved. I would also suggest that you get the WODE, so to get every feature of games. You can't play Metroid Prime Trilogy's game 2 multiplayer using USB Loader GX.

Share This Page