my 3ds is wanting to update. how to stop it?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by RichardFlores, Apr 3, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RichardFlores

    Newcomer RichardFlores Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    I am getting an update on my 3ds to ask me to update the firmware. I have an acekard 2i installed and working well. (v1.8.8)

    I read that the update stops the acekard from working.. How can I stop the update from trying to download. I have my lil girls that play with my 3ds and dont want them accidently hitting yes to update and then I lose my acekard functions.

    THanks for the help.
     
  2. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo IF ONLY I COULD BE SO GROSSLY INCANDESCENT

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,696
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    Update your Acekard 2i to the latest firmware, it works on 3.0.0.6. Then you can just update the 3DS. http://www.acekard.com/download.php download it from there, run it on the Acekard, then update the 3DS.
     
  3. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,402
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    If your Acekard 2i shows up as Prince Caspian on the 3DS menu, then you are free to update to 3.0.0-6. If not, first update your Acekard by running this update file on your Acekard. After that is done, it should show up as Prince Caspian.

    Edit: if you're worried about updates affecting your Acekard, I recommend you setup parental controls on your 3DS so no one can accidentally update it. It should also be noted that AKAIO 1.8.9z is the latest firmware for playing games on your Acekard.
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo IF ONLY I COULD BE SO GROSSLY INCANDESCENT

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,696
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    AKAIO is not a firmware, it's a loader.

    As he said, if you activate Parental Controls it would stop the system from auto-updating.
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,402
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    You're right; I meant loader, which is why I included the "for playing games" part.
     
  6. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo IF ONLY I COULD BE SO GROSSLY INCANDESCENT

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,696
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    Figures, but you don't want to get the two confused else he might think AKAIO is the firmware I originally posted about and he'd just go and download that.
     
  7. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    21,354
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    AKAIO is a firmware which features loaders. Acekard cards have two types of firmware - "internal" firmware stored on the on-board chip that deals with basic I/O operations between the flashcart and the DS and "external" firmware with its system files stored on the SD card which deals the software side of things and interacts with the "internal one". Loaders are just a part of the "external" firmware.

    To prevent confusion, the internal one is called "firmware" and the external is called "OS" or "OS Menu" or just "Menu".
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    To clear something up, you cannot stop it from updating (there's no softmodding of the OS for the 3DS yet), which is why the answers focus on making sure the Ak2i still works after the update.
     
  9. NathanDuma

    Member NathanDuma GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    114
    You can just set parent controls and then you can't update if you press cancel. I did that so my 3ds wouldn't update it self.
     
  10. AC/DS

    Member AC/DS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    173
    Country:
    Slovakia
    Sorry, I'm a new 3DS user and thought this would be an appropriate thread to ask (as I am obviously too lazy to search for answers on the web).
    Can the 3DS update itself to a higher firmware without any user interaction, i.e. without the user knowing?
    Thanks in advance for info.
    I too have been using a DS flashcard and would not like to wake up one morning to find out that... you know what.
     
  11. pelago

    Member pelago Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    839
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Apparently minor updates (such as the list of Nintendo Zone valid SSIDs) can happen automatically, but major updates require user confirmation. If you're really worried, you could disable Wi-Fi on your 3DS, although you would still be vulnerable to updates on game cards.
     
  12. pje122

    Newcomer pje122 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Do you need to set a specific restriction or does even setting up a PIN + Security Question put the Systen NAND update lock in place?
     
  13. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,160
    Location:
    Nowhere, Middle OF
    Country:
    United States
    There's no way to block the 3DS from updating via parental controls on more recent firmwares (iirc it was removed around 4.5)

    In the future, if you have a question, please create a new topic in the appropriate subforum rather than posting to a topic that has been dead for two years.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page