Aug 3, 2010

Minecraft by Fredrica Bernkastel at 12:52 PM (63,537 Views / 0 Likes) 662 Comments

    • Member

    Pingouin7 disgrace to famiry

    Member Since:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Message Count:
    4,453
    Country:
    Canada
    Related: R.I.P. General "Spaz"


    • Newcomer

    supermario5029 New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Message Count:
    20
    Location:
    On a Koopa shell.
    Country:
    Romania
    I think Minecraft sucks, since you need an OVERPOWERED PC to play this game!!! I can't even play it!!! It lags, it has out of memory stuff, so I think they worked horribly with compatibility for older PC's(mine isn't old, but crap)
    WARNING! Spoilers inside!

    Sorry guys, i'm pissed off, no money, no games,(well, I can torrent :)) no good PC, need MORE CONSOLES AND...god, calm me down...
    • Newcomer

    Roads1 New Member

    Member Since:
    May 27, 2012
    Message Count:
    54
    Country:
    United States
    Well, if you have a bad computer... then get a good one? Hating a game because it doesn't work on some computers, and not for the content, is a very invalid point.

    EDIT: Since I posted this, I realize that the game is really unoptimized (with some help from below :P). Though a good computer is by definition better to have than a bad one, I also kinda assumed you could afford one...
    Last edited by Roads1, Mar 30, 2013
    3 people like this.
    • Member

    Fyrus Artilleur Carmin

    Member Since:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Message Count:
    763
    Location:
    Marseille - France
    Country:
    France
    Why don't you try running Optifine along with Magic Launcher on Minecraft ?
    • Newcomer

    supermario5029 New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Message Count:
    20
    Location:
    On a Koopa shell.
    Country:
    Romania
    Optifine and Magic Launcher? Thanks! I will try.
    • Member

    Xoo00o0o0o Xoo00o0o0o is in the house

    Member Since:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Message Count:
    744
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Country:
    United States
    He has a point though, Minecraft, in it's current form is very unoptimized. It is only able to use 1GB of Ram without modifications and It lags at points on my Phenom II x4 965 BE and GTX 560Ti with 8GB of system ram. Knowing that my rig is not the perfect setup (still waiting on Haswell) it should run at a stable 130 FPS based on other peoples specs, but I still drop into the 100 FPS area (BTW: I know this isn't a bad drop in FPS, just using it as an example.). My reasoning is that because the game is coded in Java that there is no true way to fully optimize the game in it's current state, although mods like Optifine do help.

    I do like the game, I just see more potential in it.

    EDIT: Also, on the other hand, the game plays at a stable 30 FPS on my brother Pentium D and 7600GT with 4Gb of system ram. So you don't need and over powered PC to play the game.
    • Global Moderator

    Sicklyboy Not Falco

    Member Since:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Message Count:
    4,507
    Location:
    Nowhere, Middle OF
    Country:
    United States
    I have very similar specs, and I very rarely get any lag whatsoever. I'm running a Phenom II X4 955 BE (OC to 3.75GHz/core), a EVGA GTX 560Ti SC, and 6 GB of RAM. I just run mine through Spoutcraft forced to a gig of RAM.

    Edit - while running stuff like browsers, music players, and XBMC in the background on my second monitor, for what it's worth.

    Edit2 - also, LOL at "THIS GAME LAGS ON MY CRAP PC SO THIS GAME SUCKS" by supermario5029
    1 people like this.
    • Member

    Xoo00o0o0o Xoo00o0o0o is in the house

    Member Since:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Message Count:
    744
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Country:
    United States
    That's the same for me now that I think about it. XBMC, Winamp, Minecraft Server, Minecraft, and about 12 tabs in firefox.

    EDIT: I do still believe there is room for improvement in optimization. I'm not always running all of those programs and I still get frame drops.
    1 people like this.
    • Member

    Hyro-Sama I'm from the fucking future.

    Member Since:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Message Count:
    3,998
    Location:
    After Earth
    Country:
    Japan
    I don't understand all the Minecraft hate. It's still a sandbox game isn't it?
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah minecraft definitely needs to improve it's usage, but there's a reason it's so damn heavy; polygons out the ass.

    http://www.minecraftwiki.net/wiki/Frames_Per_Second#Render_distance
    Tiny render distance is 32 blocks, that's two chunks outwards from your center chunk, which is 5x5=25 chunks to be rendered.

    [IMG]

    Each block in a chunk can contain anywhere from 0 (air or block contained within others) to 10/12 (stair block) renderable polygons, there's 65,536 blocks per chunk... but the world still generates at >128 height so the top half is air blocks, so we'll cut that down to 32,768 blocks, and even then the majority of the ones there will be invisible (embedded inside others) so let's take a random guess at 1% visible at any given moment (surface area or inner cave) and we still have ~320 blocks with anywhere from 0-10/12 polygons... but most naturally-occurring blocks are square or two-plane models (grass, flowers, etc.) so let's say the average is 2.5 visible polygons per visible block (to account for all the corners). So that's a really rough estimate of 800 polygons visible on average per chunk you're looking at, and assuming you're playing on tiny you can see two chunks away, so let's say you can see 9 chunks (~7,200 polygons) and the GPU has to render about that much at once, with 25 chunks (~20,000 polygons) loaded into memory at a time (and as you can see from the chart, the game keeps track of more than is sent to the GPU for things like monster movements further away but that doesn't affect render speed directly).

    Go up to normal render distance and that's 128 blocks, 8 chunks in each direction (so counting the center, 17x17). 81 chunks (approximately 64,800 polygons) to be rendered, 289 total (231,200 polygons in memory).

    [IMG]

    Compare this to a game like Crysis, which uses on average 9000 polygons per character on-screen, 6000 for the first-person view weapon model, and so on and so forth, and you can see why minecraft's type of terrain is so heavy.
    http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=564463

    If I completely fucked up any of these numbers, tell me.
    1 people like this.
    • Newcomer

    Roads1 New Member

    Member Since:
    May 27, 2012
    Message Count:
    54
    Country:
    United States
    True, true. Though my framerate isn't that bad, I've seen better than it called "laggy." I guess I'm just used to it. :/

    ;)
    • Global Moderator

    Sicklyboy Not Falco

    Member Since:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Message Count:
    4,507
    Location:
    Nowhere, Middle OF
    Country:
    United States
    I completely agree it could use some optimization, but then again, the lag I get on mine craft is about as had as the lag I get in every other game ever. I get super brief stutters in Diablo 3, amnesia, mine craft, half life 2, wow, star craft, metro 2033... the list goes on. Nothing runs perfectly 100% of the time, but as long as your hardware is decent, you're fine.
    • Member

    Xoo00o0o0o Xoo00o0o0o is in the house

    Member Since:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Message Count:
    744
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Country:
    United States
    But the thing is, out of all the games you listed (except Minecraft of course) I only get minor lag in Diablo 3, but only when first starting the game.

    EDIT: And that lag is server lag!
    • Newcomer

    supermario5029 New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Message Count:
    20
    Location:
    On a Koopa shell.
    Country:
    Romania
    Well,you sure need a lot of RAM to handle this game, that sucks, i'm also poor, so I cant play this game.
    • Global Moderator

    Sicklyboy Not Falco

    Member Since:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Message Count:
    4,507
    Location:
    Nowhere, Middle OF
    Country:
    United States
    I get startup lag in most of those games, meaning it stutters for a few seconds right as the level/world finishes loading. After that, gameplay is, for the most part, smooth all the way.
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.reddit.com/r/edstonehelper/comments/p6lol/planned_for_the_next_update/
    That's the list of confirmed changes for 1.3 so far.

    And in the quote here is Jeb explaining why it's taking so long and why the modding API is being pushed back.
    http://www.minecraftforum.net/news/544-snapshot-27a-13-news/
    • Member

    gifi4 How am I a 'New Member'?

    Member Since:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Message Count:
    2,315
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    I've been keeping up with the changes and all that but something in the new snapshot that pisses me off is that boats drop boats when destroyed, it's more convenient but then alot less 'realistic'. I guess I won't have to carry 5000 boats with me when setting of in water xD
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It's just a way to pick up the boat, and carrying around one boat is more realistic than as many as your inventory holds. :P

    But yeah the boat changes (including the handling) should make water travel more viable now.
    • Member

    Hells Malice Are you a bully?

    Member Since:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Message Count:
    4,911
    Country:
    Canada
    Whelp for anyone who HASN'T seen this, I figured it'd be relevant.

    !

    Instant classic. More funny if you know the anime OP, but still awesome regardless.
    1 people like this.
    • Member

    triassic911 Burst Mode

    Member Since:
    May 9, 2007
    Message Count:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    So I've been playing the cracked version of minecraft online. It's pretty addictive. One question, though... Can I join the GBAtemp server with my cracked version?

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page