Minecraft 1.2 is Out!

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Wizerzak, Mar 1, 2012.

Mar 1, 2012

Minecraft 1.2 is Out! by Wizerzak at 4:58 PM (1,729 Views / 0 Likes) 36 Comments

    • Member

    Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Member Since:
    May 30, 2010
    Message Count:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Minecraft version 1.2 (actually 1.2.1) is now officially released! Get it by updating the game in the Minecraft launcher. Features include:
    -New jungle biome
    -Added ocelots
    -Added cats
    -Added iron golems
    -New AI for mobs
    -Tame wolves can have puppies
    -Villagers will have children if there is room in their village
    -New map height limit (256 instead of 128)
    -New items and blocks
    -Doors have been updated so that double-doors work better with redstone
    -Added rare drops for mobs
    -Many other minor tweaks and fixes
    In addition, the Minecraft launcher has been updated. The new launcher should properly select 64 bit Java installations for Mac OS X users. If you haven't downloaded Minecraft yet you can grab it here: minecraft download page

    Update: Uploaded Minecraft 1.2.2 because birches and pine trees were missing…



    Pretty neat update, especially looking forward to building some uber-high buildings :yay: Also, hopefully the double door thing means that they won't open one without the other when redstone activated which makes them look rubbish (or a pain to make them work normally).

    Also, anyone who posts just saying that this 'isn't news' or just spams with posts of 'Minecraft's rubbish' I'm just going to report - don't like it? don't post
    .


    • Member

    EyeZ New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Message Count:
    2,326
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Updating now, haven't played minecraft in a while but always welcome the updates :)
    • Member

    kupo3000 New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Message Count:
    457
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Time to update my mods again. :moogle:
    • Member

    TehSkull Addict

    Member Since:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Message Count:
    2,682
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Time to build an 85-story skyscraper. Maybe 51 stories if I'm feeling generous.
    • Member

    pokefloote h8 anime h8 pokemon

    Member Since:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Message Count:
    2,664
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Jeez, this game has really taken off since the last time I've played it.
    One of these days I'll get back into it.
    • Member

    frogboy SORRY NOTHING

    Member Since:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Message Count:
    1,713
    Location:
    Relocating
    Country:
    United States
    Ehh, I don't care that much since we've been getting weekly snapshots.
    1 people like this.
    • Member

    Forstride The rudder moves when I turn the wheel

    Member Since:
    May 6, 2008
    Message Count:
    2,763
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah. The only reason it's exciting news to me, is that mods will finally start updating again (Well, when MCP updates), as well as servers.
    • Member

    Hells Malice Are you a bully?

    Member Since:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Message Count:
    4,819
    Country:
    Canada
    New map height limit?
    I may have to check out MC again.

    EDIT: jesus yeah you can build so damn high now
    • Member

    frogboy SORRY NOTHING

    Member Since:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Message Count:
    1,713
    Location:
    Relocating
    Country:
    United States
    I have heard rumors that the limit is over nine-thousand... disregard them, though. The new limit is 256 instead of 128.
    2 people like this.
    • Member

    AlanJohn Fuck you and a happy new year! :3

    Member Since:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Message Count:
    3,310
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    The height increase is the best thing ever, the possibility's are amazing...
    • Member

    thiefb0ss New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Message Count:
    158
    Location:
    Moscow
    Country:
    Russia
    Heck yea time to build that mountaintop castle.
    • Supervisor

    raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Member Since:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Message Count:
    9,131
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    I was building a Survival MP world with 1.1, do I have to trash my old world and build a new one to get all the new features? :unsure:
    • Member

    AlanJohn Fuck you and a happy new year! :3

    Member Since:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Message Count:
    3,310
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    No, it automatically converts shit.
    • Supervisor

    raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Member Since:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Message Count:
    9,131
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    So I get all teh new awzums? Yeah!

    That also works for private servers, huh?
    • Member

    AlanJohn Fuck you and a happy new year! :3

    Member Since:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Message Count:
    3,310
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Well, for private servers you just need to change the SNAPSHOT thing, nothing else.
    • Global Moderator

    Bortz Tony Stark's pet spider

    Member Since:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Message Count:
    8,232
    Location:
    USSR
    Country:
    United States
    I haven't played since 0.9
    • Supervisor

    raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Member Since:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Message Count:
    9,131
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Wat is that. I just run the server executable usually :unsure:
    • Member

    AlanJohn Fuck you and a happy new year! :3

    Member Since:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Message Count:
    3,310
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Sorry, I thought you used Bukkit.
    As for the default .exe, nothing is needed other than the updated client.
    • Member

    Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Member Since:
    May 30, 2010
    Message Count:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope, no jungle biomes or anything world-related for you (unless, possibly, if you go an explore an area that has yet to be rendered - by anyone), this may also mean no iron golems depending on how they spawn - also, if mountains / terrain can be generated above 128 blocks you will have none of that (except possibly unrendered areas as before).
    • Member

    Hells Malice Are you a bully?

    Member Since:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Message Count:
    4,819
    Country:
    Canada
    As far as I saw flying around a world, the world generation doesn't ever surpass the old height limit to begin with. Iron golems spawn in NPC villages with 15 or more villagers. But you're right about jungles, but it isn't hard to explore for one and they're not that amazing anyway.

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page