MACycle - The Improved MAC Changer for HomePass!

Discussion in '3DS - Tutorials & FAQs' started by Team Fail, Aug 21, 2013.

Aug 21, 2013
    • Member

    Team Fail Don't screw with me, kid.

    Member Since:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Message Count:
    3,223
    Country:
    Canada
    [IMG]
    If you get any bugs that aren't documented, let me know in this thread!

    Welcome to MACycle! This program designed for HomePass is conceptualized from Chaldron's MAC Cycler, however, it's written in .NET and has plenty of features:

    1. The same defined order that's in MAC Cycler. (See this page for more info!)
    2. A randomizer that randomizes the MACs you're using so you get different people all the time.
    3. The ability to use custom MAC addresses (So you can Streetpass with friends that are far away).
    4. Some speciality MACs (The Nintendo World NY ones, and they're built-in!) to try.
    5. The ability to append your own list of MAC addresses, as well as share them!

    Requirements:
    -Windows 7/8 (Or, if you're using XP, a Nintendo Wi-Fi USB Adapter, then follow instructions in this post.)
    -Active Internet connection
    -A working Nintendo Zone hotspot with the name "Wi-Fi" on your computer (Like Chaldron's program requires)
    -.NET Framework 4.0 minimum

    And with over 15 000* downloads, you can't go wrong with MACycle!

    Some screenshots:
    WARNING! Spoilers inside!

    To use this program, you must already have a working connection that you can receive a streetpass on. Once you can do that, you're ready for MACycle! Open it, find what suits you, and get started!

    Currently, I have all features coded and working to a high degree of functionality, that being listed below:

    Features (A checkmark shows completeness, or else percentage shows how much is done.)
    -Sequential MAC cycling - ✓
    -Random MAC cycling - ✓
    -Custom MAC input - ✓
    -Nintendo World MAC input - ✓
    -Parse and use a custom user-generated list - ✓
    -Next/Pause/Resume buttons - ✓

    Currently known bugs:
    -Some MACs don't switch nicely (See below for potential solution)

    Suggested-but-not-yet-implemented features:
    -ICS support (To fix issues with switching MAC addresses)

    And last, but definitely not least, some credits:
    -Chaldron for the original script for changing MACs, MAC Cycler, which gave me inspiration to write this.
    -Everyone that helped Chaldron debug his application.
    -The creators of macshift. Seriously, that's the heart and soul of this program.
    -The people that took the time to write out this set of MACs that most of the cyclers here are using.
    -Falco20019 for rewriting and improving the entire program's efficiency.
    -BLaZiNiX for the C# INI class (Link)
    -pyorin for the MACycle logo and icon (It looks fantastic!)
    -Everyone that submitted a bug report and/or suggested a feature for MACycle. Without you, this program could just run itself into the ground.
    -If I forgot you, PM me and I'll add you!

    Feel free to reply, and see if you'd like to see more MACs added, or what have you. I think it has all the features it should need, but if there's anything you don't see, ask about it and I'll see if I can manage to add it.

    *Downloads is total amount of downloads between all released versions of MACycle, excluding source code.
    Last edited by Team Fail, Jun 4, 2014


    • Member

    Team Fail Don't screw with me, kid.

    Member Since:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Message Count:
    3,223
    Country:
    Canada
    Alright, so at this point in time, I have the basic features finished, and it's now down to bug testing. I'm going to wait until tomorrow morning so all the MACs are cleared from the 3DS and none of them will time out, then I'll give it a runthrough to see how well it works. If you want to ask anything about the program, feel free to!
    • Newcomer

    Ermelber New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Message Count:
    9
    Location:
    Como, Lombardia
    Country:
    Italy
    Very nice done, Team Fail! I would rly like to test this because I need to input custom MACs. :P
    • Member

    xBleedingSoulx New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Message Count:
    183
    Location:
    Barnsley, England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Very interesting and looks like a really nice program, I'd be willing to test it at some point next week.
    • Global Moderator

    Sicklyboy Not Falco

    Member Since:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Message Count:
    4,402
    Location:
    Nowhere, Middle OF
    Country:
    United States
    I'd be more than willing to test this as soon as you send me the files, should you so choose. The random aspect sounds great.

    Actually, two questions.

    1) Is this limited to the 14 "prime" MACs that Chaldron has, or the entire 100 list (the MAX version) he has?

    2) possible to add the Nintendo World MAC addresses in for the sequential and random listings? Or, perhaps add the ability to append your own mac addresses/the NWorld ones to the sequential/random list?
    Last edited by Sicklyboy, Aug 22, 2013
    • Newcomer

    Siras New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Message Count:
    7
    Country:
    Sweden
    Looks like a nice program and I will try it when i get back home. When you are starting the mac cycling are you doing that in a new thread? Otherwise that could be the reason the gui freezes.
    • Member

    Team Fail Don't screw with me, kid.

    Member Since:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Message Count:
    3,223
    Country:
    Canada
    1. It's as long as the MAX version, but I'm thinking I may make a checkbox to toggle it now that you mention it. Shouldn't be terribly hard to implement.
    2. I could add that, and perhaps have it save all the custom MACs to a text file that it looks for on opening.

    Yeah, that is the reason, but it's not just that. When the MACs are being cycled, things are updating on the main GUI (Text being added to a textbox, progressbars are being updated, etc), and if I do that from another thread, I have illegal thread-safe calls, and it errors. I plan to hopefully rewrite that, but I need to pinpoint what exactly needs to be threaded and hopefully fix the issue soon.
    • Member

    Team Fail Don't screw with me, kid.

    Member Since:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Message Count:
    3,223
    Country:
    Canada
    Thought I'd bump to mention that V1.00 beta has been released. Check the readme! http://bit.ly/16iMMhc

    I've also added some checks to the program to ensure that you know what bugs there are and that I'm aware of them. I have a few other things to add that I'll do in the coming days, but currently, it just does what it does. However, if you get any bugs that aren't documented, let me know in this thread!
    Last edited by Team Fail, Aug 22, 2013
    • Member

    picano New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Message Count:
    184
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Country:
    United States
    Downloaded, I'll be trying it out while I sleep tonight.

    Once you get the threading issues worked out (I have some experience in VB.net with it... delegates were explained in a weird way, but made sense in practice) it would be nice to be able to skip ahead to the next mac with a click/keypress like Chaldrons.

    Also, one issue I've run into with both programs is my connection not connecting after a mac switch. Sometimes I have to disable the virtual connection for about 5 seconds while it re-establishes a connection to my router, otherwise it will just sit at some connected/not-validated state. An configurable delay for the 'start hostednetwork' call would be nice.

    EDIT: Running one of my cores at 100% usage was running the fan which was getting annoying, so I'll try this again once you fix some things up.
    Last edited by picano, Aug 23, 2013
    • Member

    Team Fail Don't screw with me, kid.

    Member Since:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Message Count:
    3,223
    Country:
    Canada
    I can probably add a few second's configurable delay (3 seconds default sounds fair, then I'll add a new Settings tab to configure this kind of stuff) before the hostednetwork restart. I'll add that to the buglist, and yeah. I might attempt to optimize the program a tad before I hand it off to anyone. Being new, as I said, isn't easy because everything you write looks like shit and performs like shit.

    What I'm not sure about is that it waits until macshift is totally done running before running command prompt to restart the hostednetwork, so I don't know why it's doing that, but yeah. I can add a cooldown period in there to ensure it properly resets and restarts.
    Last edited by Team Fail, Aug 23, 2013
    • Member

    Dartz150 I'm an alternate dimension superhuman behind a PC

    Member Since:
    May 5, 2010
    Message Count:
    582
    Location:
    On a Strange Journey
    Country:
    Mexico
    Here you have a tester, looking forward to this :D, great job Team Fail!!

    EDIT: If this gets fixed:

    -virtual network may not restart properly and stay in a limited state

    I'll love you forever :grog:
    Last edited by Dartz150, Aug 23, 2013
    • Member

    Team Fail Don't screw with me, kid.

    Member Since:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Message Count:
    3,223
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, if my mom stops wanting to look at houses on my laptop, I might try coding that in real quickly and release 1.01.
    Dartz150 likes this.
    • Member

    Dartz150 I'm an alternate dimension superhuman behind a PC

    Member Since:
    May 5, 2010
    Message Count:
    582
    Location:
    On a Strange Journey
    Country:
    Mexico
    Got the first error, I'm using Windows 8 PRO, sorry for it not be in English, I don't have that language set instaled:

    [IMG]
    • Member

    Team Fail Don't screw with me, kid.

    Member Since:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Message Count:
    3,223
    Country:
    Canada
    Based upon that output box, and that the error is showing up at the "Switching to the next MAC..." part, that means it can't find macshift. Is it in the same directory as the program? A copy of macshift comes with the program for that.

    I was thinking on making an error handler for that. I might just do that.
    • Member

    Dartz150 I'm an alternate dimension superhuman behind a PC

    Member Since:
    May 5, 2010
    Message Count:
    582
    Location:
    On a Strange Journey
    Country:
    Mexico
    Yup, is in the same folder, you can see the unziped folder on the desktop, everything is untouched.
    • Member

    Team Fail Don't screw with me, kid.

    Member Since:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Message Count:
    3,223
    Country:
    Canada
    Actually, I just found why. I'm going to release a version with the cooldown added, but I haven't implemented the check in case it isn't copied yet. Hang on a minute and I'll upload it.

    Edit: MACycle V1.01: http://bit.ly/19NQ1W8
    Check the Version History in the Help tab for more information!
    Last edited by Team Fail, Aug 23, 2013
    Dartz150 likes this.
    • Member

    dicamarques Definetely not Bruce Wayne.

    Member Since:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Message Count:
    870
    Location:
    Your computer's Recycle Bin
    Country:
    Portugal
    Hey, just telling you that added this post to mine. Good luck with those bugs :)
    Team Fail likes this.
    • Member

    Team Fail Don't screw with me, kid.

    Member Since:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Message Count:
    3,223
    Country:
    Canada
    What I'm thinking I might do is create a second form that's threaded so it doesn't freeze, and have controls (buttons that change bools, different ints, etc) on it that control the MAC cycling, whether it's go to next, stop, etc etc. In theory it should work, but I need to actually find out haha.
    • Newcomer

    AndyN New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Message Count:
    7
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Country:
    United States
    This is an awesome program. I think I set everything up using the virtual router and macycle correctly. I can see the Nintendo zone and the internet appears to be working on my 3ds (shows my friends online and I can use ie explorer). I am running the virtual router and the macycle program at the same time but I haven't gotten any streetpasses yet. Is there something else I need to do? I am using windows 7. On a side not I tried using a different method before, using the wifi router and this it was the same. I could always get to and able to use Nintendo zone but couldn't ever get any streetpasses.
    • Member

    MushGuy New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Message Count:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    It would be nice if this evolved into a network spoofing program. Still, kudos for this.

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page