Official Luma3DS - Noob-proof 3DS Custom Firmware

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Aurora Wright, Jan 19, 2016.

Jan 19, 2016
  1. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,277
    Country:
    There is a converter as well as pre-converted d9wip/hg9 payloads here:http://gbatemp.net/threads/tutorial...derhax-payloads-to-firms.471144/#post-7319608 . Note that I did minimal testing with the payloads so make a nand backup with gm9 before doing anything potentially dangerous.
     


  2. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBATemp's Official Waifu™ ʚ♡⃛ɞ(ू•ᴗ•ू❁)

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17,949
    Location:
    Between insane and insecure
    Country:
    Antarctica
  3. sks316

    Member sks316 J O Y C O N B O Y Z

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    635
    Location:
    That one place
    Country:
    United States
    1. Yes.
    2. If you're using Hamcha's updater, it's broken and you need to get @KunoichiZ's updater. If you're using @KunoichiZ's updater, get the latest update from the GitHub and you should be good to go!
    3. If you mean the CTRNAND-based Luma installation, yes.
    I apologise, but I do not understand 4 and 5.
     
    Last edited by sks316, May 20, 2017 at 5:44 AM - Reason: added the link to KunoichiZ's Luma Updater.
  4. Ryumaru

    Member Ryumaru Creator of themes for 3DS

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    2,263
    Country:
    Brazil
    Even with this modification, the protection of the A9LH was maintained ?
     
  5. Sonic Angel Knight

    Member Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    8,225
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    1. Okay then
    2. Okay i will check
    3. I see....
    4. Before renaming arm9loaderhax.bin to "arm9loaderhax_si.bin" Will make the screen flash when is booting. How do i do that with this bootstrap9 stuff now?
     
    Last edited by Sonic Angel Knight, May 20, 2017 at 5:50 AM
  6. sks316

    Member sks316 J O Y C O N B O Y Z

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    635
    Location:
    That one place
    Country:
    United States
    I believe so. According to @addi33:
    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    4. I don't believe that has been looked into. arm9loaderhax.bin/arm9loaderhax_si.bin don't work with boot9strap because boot9strap uses boot.firm.
     
    Februarysn0w likes this.
  7. KunoichiZ

    Member KunoichiZ GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    6,574
    Country:
    United States
    Last edited by KunoichiZ, May 20, 2017 at 6:12 AM
    Jubash, Sev501, a9lh-1user and 3 others like this.
  8. Ryumaru

    Member Ryumaru Creator of themes for 3DS

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    2,263
    Country:
    Brazil
    This new payload will replace the arm9loaderhax ?
     
  9. KunoichiZ

    Member KunoichiZ GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    6,574
    Country:
    United States
    boot.firm (SigHax/Boot9strap) replaces arm9loaderhax.
     
  10. sks316

    Member sks316 J O Y C O N B O Y Z

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    635
    Location:
    That one place
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, boot.firm will boot instead of arm9loaderhax.bin and/or arm9loaderhax_si.bin. You will need to manually delete arm9loaderhax.bin and/or arm9loaderhax_si.bin.
     
  11. Sorathehero2

    Newcomer Sorathehero2 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Australia
    I have a problem of updating Luma3DS to 7.1 where it can not find the arm9loaderhax.binFATAL
     
  12. addi33

    Member addi33 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,479
    Country:
    Germany
    • boot9strap support (all older entrypoints, including ARM9LoaderHax and menuhax, are no longer supported).
    • Replaced .bin (brahma/a9lh) payload loading with .firm (FIRM format) payloads. This format allows for way more flexibility and is also the only one supported by boot9strap.
     
  13. Sorathehero2

    Newcomer Sorathehero2 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Australia
    So how do I update now
     
  14. addi33

    Member addi33 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,479
    Country:
    Germany
  15. YupItsJocey

    Newcomer YupItsJocey Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Hello, I recently installed Luma3DS with a long overdue update from MenuHax + EmuNand and now that I have Luma, I can't access my friend's list due to freezing. What do I do?
     
  16. ombus

    Member ombus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    United States
    its necessary to have arm9loaderhax to update to boot9strap to still have luma updates ? i have menuhax on 9.2 with latest emunand.
     
  17. Sonic Angel Knight

    Member Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    8,225
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, i officially dropped hamcha luma updater in favor of yours, thank you very much. :)

    Now if homebrew launcher can just get working again, had i know it wasn't i might have waited before updating luma. :unsure:

    Can you also add the updater to TitleDB.com so we can update it with fbi installer without QR codes?
     
    KunoichiZ likes this.
  18. sks316

    Member sks316 J O Y C O N B O Y Z

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    635
    Location:
    That one place
    Country:
    United States
    Homebrew Launcher isn't working? Have you tried the 11.2 payloads?
    Also, I already submitted it to TitleDB, but the changes haven't been made yet.
     
  19. Sonic Angel Knight

    Member Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    8,225
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I been using 11.2 for months, i stop updating since there was no more reason to update. No it doesn't work, every time i load, is a red screen, i am forced to reboot.
     
    a9lh-1user likes this.
  20. sks316

    Member sks316 J O Y C O N B O Y Z

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    635
    Location:
    That one place
    Country:
    United States
    Update to 11.4 and try again. I can't help on an outdated firmware because it's a firmware I never used Homebrew on.
     

Share This Page