Loading demos on a WII U kiosk Console

Discussion in 'Wii U - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by Conker69, Apr 29, 2016.

Apr 29, 2016
  1. GlitchyDavid

    Newcomer GlitchyDavid Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Australia
    Breath of the wild should be a demo. and Conker could be one of the first to get it. (The E3 conspiracy to me is a lie)
     


  2. TLOZmaster

    Member TLOZmaster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Hyrule
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried dumping the demo discs? It would be nice to have just in case anywhere gets a BOTW demo that we could dump and then extract or something like that.
     
    supermario18 likes this.
  3. Conker69
    OP

    Newcomer Conker69 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't have anyway of dumping them sorry but I do have two copy's of oct 16 update disc which has a video of zelda breath of the wild on it.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. VinLark

    Member VinLark It's only man's fear that carries him on

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    2,622
    Location:
    Leonard Cohen ‎– Greatest Hits
    Country:
    United States
    I read that wrong and I thought it said you had a DEMO of BOTW
     
    Sinon likes this.
  5. TotalInsanity4

    Member TotalInsanity4 GBAtemp Supreme Overlord

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    5,867
    Location:
    Under a rock
    Country:
    United States
    Any way you could get some form of contenthax running on one of these bad boys?
     
  6. Skyshadow101

    Member Skyshadow101 The Sky Is The Limit!

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    740
    Location:
    The Underground
    Country:
    Antarctica
    How do you even get one of these!? I am so interested in one. Onwards, to Craigslist!
     
    supermario18 likes this.
  7. Viri

    Member Viri GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    909
    Country:
    United States
    I found a Wii demo unit once when going dumpster diving at Toys-R-Us.
     
  8. Skyshadow101

    Member Skyshadow101 The Sky Is The Limit!

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    740
    Location:
    The Underground
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Gimme it, lmao.
     
  9. Conker69
    OP

    Newcomer Conker69 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Canada
    Not sure what your asking here ?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I got the bare kiosk from my local ebgames when they were tossing them I paid one of the employees to get it for me. All four consoles came from eBay and my Facebook page.
     
  10. TotalInsanity4

    Member TotalInsanity4 GBAtemp Supreme Overlord

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    5,867
    Location:
    Under a rock
    Country:
    United States
    If you have some way of accessing an exploit on those consoles, it's possible you could dump the system menu and demos from the console for study
     
    supermario18 likes this.
  11. adcstroke

    Newcomer adcstroke Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Mexico
    I have 2 wii U Kiosk for sale!!! Only console
     
  12. WiiuGold

    Member WiiuGold GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    336
    Country:
    Haiti
    I got a WiiU Kiosk unit display and system :) they are nice to have !
     
  13. KiraW

    Newcomer KiraW Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Actually, you might be able to dump it by using wudump on a retail console. Just because the Wii U Menu refuses to read the disc doesn't necessarily mean it's not readable at all.

    On the other hand, the discs say they're only to be used in a CAT-R reader, which suggests that maybe there's a different type of reader in the kiosk models. Still, it's worth a try!
     
    CuriousTommy likes this.
  14. Watertoon

    Newcomer Watertoon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    Getting one of these tomorrow, can any of these update through the internet? I am recieving a disc model.
     
  15. Watertoon

    Newcomer Watertoon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    Turns out there is not a single playable demo on it, just 19 trailers from September 2012. Oddly my game pad only works when it is pointing at a specific angle almost against the kiosk. Still cool enough to own but pretty disappointing.
     
  16. Conker69
    OP

    Newcomer Conker69 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Canada
    Did you get just the console or a complete kiosk ?
     
  17. Watertoon

    Newcomer Watertoon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    Just the console and power adapter. I synced my own gamepad to it.
     
  18. Conker69
    OP

    Newcomer Conker69 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Canada
    How did you manage to sync your game pad to it ? The kiosk consoles I have are all wired to the console
     
  19. Watertoon

    Newcomer Watertoon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    I Have been reading up on these enough to know that if you insert any SD card before powering on you access a menu that with a retail Wii remote (use the consoles sync button to sync that while in the menu) you can then sync a retail gamepad to it from a option in the menu, however mine only works when very close to the front of the console.
     
  20. GerbilSoft

    Member GerbilSoft GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    888
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like the kiosk system still has the GamePad Wi-Fi adapter, but it isn't connected to an antenna. You might be able to fix this by disassembling the system and connecting a Wi-Fi antenna. (They use the same connector as laptop Wi-Fi antennas.)
     

Share This Page