Learning code, where should I start?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and Technology' started by gifi4, Aug 3, 2011.

Aug 3, 2011

gifi4 How am I a 'New Member'?

Message Count:
    Australia
    I plan on learning to code and well, I don't know where to start, is C# a good place to start or not?
    Any tips? What language should I learn afterwards?

Waflix El Psy Congroo

Message Count:
    Netherlands
    I started with VBScript. The basics are quite simple, and it helped me understanding how it works.
    Then I learned Python. Just because a friend of mine recommended it.
    After Python, I started learning C++.
    I don't have experience with C#.

I have also collected a few sites that helped me, and a few tutorials.
    • W3schools - A site full of tutorials how to learn languages HTML, CSS, JavaScript, VBS, and many more.
    • VBS Tutorial - The VBS Tutorial on W3schools.
    • Python - The official site for the language Python.
    • Python BG - The Python Beginners Guide. I used this as my tutorial for learning the language.
    • C++ Tutorial - A good tutorial for learning C++.
    • C# Tutorial - A site for learning C#. I haven't used it, so I don't know if it's useful.
    Satangel likes this.

Issac 10 Year Member, 0 Warnings!

Message Count:
    Sweden
    I wouldn't bother with VBScript actually... I'd jump straight on to C++.
    Java is also a good place to start...

xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

Message Count:
    United Kingdom
    I bought this last month having no experience at all with programming. It's actually a really good resource and i *think* i'm doing ok working through all the examples, drills and exercises.

Having guides online is great, but nothing beats the ability to read 10 mins here and there when you don't have computer access.

Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

Message Count:
    Netherlands
    I wouldn't start with VBscript. It'll only get you unmotivated to code.