Is there currently any DML Forwarders?

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by BoredGuyonGBA, Apr 11, 2012.

Apr 11, 2012
    • Newcomer

    BoredGuyonGBA New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Message Count:
    72
    Location:
    Space craft
    Country:
    United States
    Oh my gosh, this thread got huge.

    Just ignore my posts and read on.


    • Global Moderator

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,213
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    1 people like this.
    • Newcomer

    ECSS New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Message Count:
    52
    Country:
    • Newcomer

    BoredGuyonGBA New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Message Count:
    72
    Location:
    Space craft
    Country:
    United States
    Where do i put all the files?
    • Newcomer

    ECSS New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Message Count:
    52
    Country:
    • Member

    fatherjack New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Message Count:
    234
    Location:
    Still Here
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    are you saying that this boot.dol can somehow be used to construct an individual GC game shortcut to the wii sysmenu?
    • Global Moderator

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,213
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Yep, if you look into the source, especially the main.c, you'll see a line:
    Code:
    static const char ID[6] = "GZLP01";
    
    Means in short it will give DML the ID GZLP01 which should be booted. You can change that to what you want, let's say you have the game in "sd:/games/[GM4P01] Mario Kart Double Dash!", then you need to change that line in the main.c to:
    Code:
    static const char ID[32] = "[GM4P01] Mario Kart Double Dash!";
    
    You see the [6] and the [32] just say how many characters the ID is long. If you replaced the ID with the one you want you can simply compile it and inject it in a regular channel, if you start this channel your game boots.
    Also you need to replace the line
    Code:
    fwrite(ID, 1, 6, f);
    
    With the length, so that would be
    Code:
    fwrite(ID, 1, 32, f);
    
    In this example ;)
    1 people like this.
    • Member

    LWares87 The 'Wise' Merchant

    Member Since:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,469
    Location:
    Colchester, ENG
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I injected this forwarder into a wad which acts like the Disc Channel, when a NGC is inserted into the disc drive and until I started to read this thread properly, I didn't realise it was "game-specific".
    • Global Moderator

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,213
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    How else should it be? Gimme a idea what you want ;)
    • Newcomer

    BoredGuyonGBA New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Message Count:
    72
    Location:
    Space craft
    Country:
    United States
    ..This is too confusing.. nevermind. :(
    • Global Moderator

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,213
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    No really say what you want I'm open for everything :P
    • Newcomer

    BoredGuyonGBA New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Message Count:
    72
    Location:
    Space craft
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, okay, How about making a wad forwarder? all this is complicated.
    • Global Moderator

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,213
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    So you want a wad which just starts a game right?
    1 people like this.
    • Newcomer

    BoredGuyonGBA New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Message Count:
    72
    Location:
    Space craft
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, a wad channel. that boots the game from a loader.
    • Global Moderator

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,213
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    How this channel should look like in your opinion? With the source I posted above you have the loader, now you just need a channel ;)
    • Newcomer

    BoredGuyonGBA New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Message Count:
    72
    Location:
    Space craft
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure so sure,

    [hr]Posts merged

    How about a Gamecube logo
    • Member

    fatherjack New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Message Count:
    234
    Location:
    Still Here
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @[member='FIX94']
    thanx for the pointers on the code - just tried dols for Windwaker (default), Luigis Mansion and Doshin and all launched flawless via HBC
    gotta get busy now with graphics to knock some channels together :)
    • Global Moderator

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,213
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    • Newcomer

    BoredGuyonGBA New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Message Count:
    72
    Location:
    Space craft
    Country:
    United States
    ...What's new in it? it's the same thing.

    And i can't edit files.

    Thanks anyway.
    • Global Moderator

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,213
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Why you cant edit files? Just get the devkitpro installer, install everything from devkitppc in it and make the source.

Share This Page