Is it possible to change a game's region?

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by CrashmanX, Dec 23, 2012.

Dec 23, 2012
    • Member

    CrashmanX Current project: Danball Senki BOOST (PSP)

    Member Since:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,105
    Location:
    @CrashmanX
    Country:
    United States
    I'm curious if it's possible to change a games region. Things like the HOME button screen and the Save/Load screens. If it is possible, does anyone know how?
    I've tried adjusting the PARAM.SFO but to no avail. I've check through a Japanese game and through an English game and adjusted them but got nothing.
    • Member

    TyBlood13 Adventure Time Lord

    Member Since:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Message Count:
    1,422
    Location:
    I'd rather be in
    Country:
    Australia
    Why bother? The PSP is region-free.
    • Reporter

    Foxi4 Interesting machine... Pre-collapse, I'd wager.

    Member Since:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    18,316
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    The "region" of video games that are not on home consoles is completely "made up" and a matter of a few variables - they can be changed, but are more often removed, making the game Region Free.
    • Member

    CrashmanX Current project: Danball Senki BOOST (PSP)

    Member Since:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,105
    Location:
    @CrashmanX
    Country:
    United States
    Because many games have a preset region. So menus like below are set and I'd like to get them into english.
    [IMG]

    And what variables would I have to modify to change this? I've tried using UMDGen to change it but sadly to no avail.
    • Reporter

    Foxi4 Interesting machine... Pre-collapse, I'd wager.

    Member Since:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    18,316
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    I was talking in general - all games on the PSP are region-free, only UMD Movies are locked. I'm afraid that the menu language is hard-coded into the game, I can't really think of a way to change that language without modifying the game proper, and with that I have little experience.

    In any case, it's not a matter of "regions" as those don't apply to PSP games - it's a matter of the in-game language selector.
    • Member

    CrashmanX Current project: Danball Senki BOOST (PSP)

    Member Since:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,105
    Location:
    @CrashmanX
    Country:
    United States
    Hrm... alright. That's what I was afraid of. Well I MIGHT be able to find that. But I'm not 100% sure where to look. I'll have to dig through a few of my English titles. Thanks though.
    • Member

    Ryupower Brood

    Member Since:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Message Count:
    2,490
    Country:
    United States
    i think
    the game loads/reads the jpn fonts because, it a jpn games,

    i think it is something coded in to the game to do that
    • Member

    CrashmanX Current project: Danball Senki BOOST (PSP)

    Member Since:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,105
    Location:
    @CrashmanX
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I understand that. However there's clearly a way to change that since games like MediEvil show those menus in English and other games show it in other languages. It's also a very common menu message so it's stored on the PSP itself. I just need to find out What changes it and where said data is stored.
    • Member

    StorMyu "I'm too old for this"

    Member Since:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Message Count:
    768
    Country:
    France
    • Member

    CrashmanX Current project: Danball Senki BOOST (PSP)

    Member Since:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,105
    Location:
    @CrashmanX
    Country:
    United States
    Oh hey. That's incredibly handy. Thanks for that StorMyu. I'll mess with it later!
    • Member

    StorMyu "I'm too old for this"

    Member Since:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Message Count:
    768
    Country:
    France
    You have to know some assembly to understand what is going on but, one stupid way to do it is to launch JPCSP, make a huge "Dump Code" and You search in the file for the syscall, I'll have to ask which one is the good one though I don't really remember xD
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    When one ROM/ISO is one language and another is another, it's not that both games contain the languages and a switch is flipped... it's that two versions of the game were produced, and both sold under the same label with the difference being noted as the "region".

    Now, in some cases games DO have hidden languages in them, but this is a rare exception, and usually only the in-game text is changed (not graphics or save names and such).
    • Member

    StorMyu "I'm too old for this"

    Member Since:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Message Count:
    768
    Country:
    France
    That's not what he's talking about, this "menus" are from the PSP system, and are generated by it.
    They can be initialize by any games, and the setting for its language is set when you ask for it, unless it's set by default.
    • Member

    CrashmanX Current project: Danball Senki BOOST (PSP)

    Member Since:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,105
    Location:
    @CrashmanX
    Country:
    United States
    Rydian, no. That's not what I'm talking about at all. There are MENUS for the PSP ITSELF, much like the PS3's HOME SCREEN, which is changed to a different language but generated by the system and not the game. It's why you can tell the PSP to be a "fake region" and the menus will be in Japanese or whatever language you switch to.
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, and that data's in the ISO, it's a certain value.

    I wasn't trying to give a solution, I was helping confirm the earlier point that there's some single that determines the language used (like Foxi posted), it's all different sets of data.
    • Member

    CrashmanX Current project: Danball Senki BOOST (PSP)

    Member Since:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,105
    Location:
    @CrashmanX
    Country:
    United States
    Duh? However it IS a singlular data value switch that is flipped in 99% of PSP games given that it is the PSP Menus and not the actual game data. It's more or less a simple "What language is this?" Value.
    • Member

    StorMyu "I'm too old for this"

    Member Since:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Message Count:
    768
    Country:
    France
    Actually, it is possible, and if it's located somewhere, it's in the Eboot.bin
    try to look for different Encoding (it's probably Unicode though)
    I'll look further in January as I said ^^
    • Member

    CrashmanX Current project: Danball Senki BOOST (PSP)

    Member Since:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,105
    Location:
    @CrashmanX
    Country:
    United States
    Yea, I was expecting it to be in either the Eboot.bin or the Param.sfo
    I'll dig through and see what I can find. Thanks again bro.

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page