Interesting stuff in Contra 4...

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by Tanks, Nov 15, 2007.

Nov 15, 2007
    • Newcomer

    Tanks New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Message Count:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    So I decided to look through the Contra 4 rom to see if there was anything of interest and it appears there was.

    I ended up finding the Contra.nes and SuperC.nes roms inside. They play like any other rom in an emulator. The strange thing is that there are small differences between the roms and the good NES dumps we have. I have a few pictures of them.

    The files not labeled with the "good set" labeling ((u) [!]) are the ones I ripped from the Contra 4 rom.

    Contra.nes differnces

    SuperC.nes differences

    It appears there's quite a bit of padding added to the Contra .nes rom I got from Contra 4. and the difference I found in SuperC.nes is that the "A" was changed to a "@."

    I haven't tested any other NES roms yet but it's possible that other will play in Contra 4's emulator. It's entirely possible that the built in emulator only supports Contra's mappers. I cannot test any other NES roms yet because I haven't unlocked any of the extra games.

    I've also found what I think is a file for a test stage and I've read through the interview in a hex editor. I also think I might have stumbled upon the levels themselves. [IMG] I'll do a little more research into this once I get a better save file or beat the game myself.


    • Member

    Jax Pip Pip Cheerioink!

    Member Since:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Message Count:
    4,067
    Location:
    L.A.V.
    Country:
    Portugal
    I found "PocketNES" somewhere in the credits. That must be the emulator!
    • Member

    Takeshi GBAtemp Addict

    Member Since:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Message Count:
    1,941
    Country:
    Germany
    • Newcomer

    Tanks New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Message Count:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    • Member

    Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Member Since:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Message Count:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    [IMG] Wow! Nice find dude...

    Can't believe they just edited the NES rom and stuck it in Contra 4. I hope you find out more soon.

    ~Nero
    • Newcomer

    zerosystem New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Message Count:
    46
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I replaced contra and superc with different nes roms. They all run pretty well with only a few sound issues. Zelda works on it but does not save (I was not expecting it to save). Replacing contra and superc with roms that are bigger than the original have worked so far. So you could use Contra 4 as a nes emulator, but you can only have two games on it at one time.
    • Member

    Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Member Since:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Message Count:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Sweet dude! Can I request you try Chrono Trigger?

    Sorry, but I haven't beaten Contra4 yet. [IMG]

    ~Nero
    • Newcomer

    zerosystem New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Message Count:
    46
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Chrono Trigger is a Snes game so I'm sure it would not work on the nes emulator.
    • Member

    Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Member Since:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Message Count:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    [IMG] [IMG] [IMG] [IMG] [IMG]

    SORRY! Laughing my A.. Off.

    I forgot that CT was a SNES game.

    Now I feel stupid. [IMG]

    ~Nero
    • Member

    GameDragon Mugiwara RAWR!

    Member Since:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Message Count:
    1,355
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Thats pretty amazing... using a commercial game as an emulator. Would TMNT II work on it? Its one of the few games I remember that does not work on nesDS.
    • Newcomer

    Tanks New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Message Count:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    Sound problems is to be expected and I figured not saving would be an obvious "no-no." I just got challenge mode... currently trying to beat it to unlock Contra NES.

    I also think I'll try to hack in Sheena and Probotector without having to deal with unlocking them. (So long Bulldog and Scorpion)

    EDIT:

    Well I finally got through challenge mode enough to unlock Contra NES. I re-inserted Double Dragon II, a game currently not working with nesDS. I've created an IPS patch and have included the save file for automatic testing.

    http://www.filefactory.com/file/f0ee6e/

    Now to look into the Sheena and Probotector thing...
    • Member

    Takeshi GBAtemp Addict

    Member Since:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Message Count:
    1,941
    Country:
    Germany
    Wow, amazing work Tanks!

    It's really strange that he said the emulation is proprietary when it obviously based on the PocketNES core.
    • Member

    pasc GBATemps official GBA Freak

    Member Since:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Message Count:
    2,496
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Perhaps you mean property ?

    Anyway, thanks for this save ^^ Good to play the old one again.

    BTW: It SUCKS that they didn't include Singlecardplay [IMG]. I used to play the old Contra with my friend (Gba Pocketnes hehe) for hours, but with this "Multicardshit" how are we supposed to play it ? BuYiNG ? What a awful thought... Anyway, back to Singleplayer...
    • Member

    Yugge New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Message Count:
    209
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    How about not having your friend leech of you for once? [IMG]
    • Member

    chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Member Since:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Message Count:
    897
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    No, he means proprietary.

    Also, "singlecardplay" is called Download Play.
    • Member

    pasc GBATemps official GBA Freak

    Member Since:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Message Count:
    2,496
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    he means proprietary, ok.

    the latter is clear, but I do not always think about anything 150 times, though thanks for mentioning.
    • Member

    Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Member Since:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Message Count:
    2,365
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    ^^^ You should only have to think about what something's called once.

    Is the emulator actually based on PocketNES? That's a really bold claim, and pocket NES hasn't been the only emulator out there. I'd think they would just get help from Nintendo. It's an interesting theory Mr. Wright, but where's your evidence?
    • Newcomer

    Tanks New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Message Count:
    89
    Country:
    United States
    Moving on from the NES emu discovery...

    I've found that the 2D Contra 4 graphics can be edited via Tile Molester.

    As you can see with the picture linked below, you can view the .ANM files. All you need to do is set the codec to 4bpp linear, reverse order.

    Contra 4 graphics hacking.

    Now the palette files are somewhere in the rom. I have a hunch I might know just what they are. If I'm right, I'll ask a friend of mine to help me with a little TM hack that will force it to load the palette file.
    • Member

    deufeufeu Compulsive RomHacker

    Member Since:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Message Count:
    879
    Location:
    South of france
    Country:
    France
    isn't a little converter from animated gif to anm would be a lot better ?
    • Member

    cubin' New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Message Count:
    1,866
    Country:
    Australia
    This game is just too hard for me. what have modern games turned me into?

Share This Page