Installing the mod

Discussion in 'Microsoft Xbox' started by ficarra1002, Dec 17, 2011.

Dec 17, 2011

Installing the mod by ficarra1002 at 3:21 PM (803 Views / 0 Likes) 15 Comments

    • Member

    ficarra1002 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Message Count:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    I really don't want to order a memory card online, and I don't have any recognized USB drives. Is it possible to just put the HDD in my pc and copy the needed hack saves to it?
    • Member

    431unknown Greatness Awaits

    Member Since:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Message Count:
    2,055
    Country:
    United States
    I think you can.

    Been awhile since I did one of these.
    • Member

    ficarra1002 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Message Count:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    Well aren't you active? Helping me with quite a few of my weekend projects.
    • Member

    431unknown Greatness Awaits

    Member Since:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Message Count:
    2,055
    Country:
    United States
    Nah just bored. I actually have other shit to do but am feeling kinda meh and blah today. Must be the dreary weather. :unsure:
    • Member

    DinohScene Femboy

    Member Since:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Message Count:
    8,079
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Atlantic Ocean
    You can hotswap the HDD and install the files, but it's risky and can potentially ruin your xbox HDD.

    http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?act=ST&f=45&t=143288

    Hope this helps.
    • Member

    ficarra1002 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Message Count:
    165
    Country:
    United States


    What program is this?

    -----


    Thanks, I didn't use that exact guide, but you nosed me in the right direction. I used http://www.instructa...-FREE/?ALLSTEPS and it worked....Kinda. Usually when people tell me stuff like "could potentially ruin blah blah brick" I think, yeah, right.
    I have 2 xboxes. I went to mod the first one, and halfway through my power surged. Now it has a dreadful error 21. D:
    The second one went through effortlessly, and beforehand I went through the house and turned everything off. Now I'm running XBMC and am very happy. Really wanted the second modded xbox to be a gift, but oh wells.
    • Member

    ficarra1002 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Message Count:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    EDIT: Woops, double post!
    • Member

    DinohScene Femboy

    Member Since:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Message Count:
    8,079
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Atlantic Ocean
    I just did a quick search for hotswap tips but you're quite welcome ;]
    You've experienced a HDD softbrick first hand, I did nothing more then warn you that it COULD happen, you're quite lucky that you have a second xbox.

    You can (if you have access to a chipped box) restore the MS Dash of the box.
    If you're lucky you can try and boot it with the drive open.
    it should boot into the softmod menu (if you have installed a couple of files) then FTP into the drive and copy a retail/hacked dash onto C:\
    • Member

    dilav New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Message Count:
    1,185
    Country:
    United States
    I skimmed over this thread, and I'm sure some of my info is redundant.
    Error 21 can be anything as you may of known. You most likely have some kind of corruption/lack of files or unlocked HDD. All Xbox hard drives are locked with a unique key and it will also not boot if the hard drive is not locked. This key however is stored on a eeprom near the LPC headers. If you have a chip programmer (or build one) you could easily read this chip and rebuild and lock/unlock your hard drive on a PC with Xbox HD Maker.

    Or like Dinoh said a modchip will need to be installed/temporary installed in the error 21 xbox to reconfigure the xbox and (if temporary installed) lock the HDD
    1 people like this.
    • Member

    ficarra1002 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Message Count:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    It looks like my brother will be recieving a gift after all. I'll work on this tomorrow, and I'll let you know if it works.
    Thanks for the help guys!
    • Member

    DinohScene Femboy

    Member Since:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Message Count:
    8,079
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Atlantic Ocean
    Your welcome.

    I should block/delete the format menu from your dashboard if I where you.
    Especially that on your brothers console.

    You'll never know when someone decides to be a jerk and formats the drives.

    You could also install a TSOP flash in your box and rebuild the Error drive in that console.
    TSOP flashing requires a 1.0-1.5 console and a little bit of soldering.
    • Member

    dilav New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Message Count:
    1,185
    Country:
    United States
    The problem isn't rebuilding the drive. Rebuilding a drive is easy enough with the tools available. The problem is unlocking and locking the hard drives. While you can TSOP flash the 'working xbox' and possibly rebuild the 'error drive' on the 'working xbox'. If you put the 'fixed error drive' in the 'error xbox' it will show error 5 due to a unlocked hard drive. You can however desolder and swap over the eeprom, however removing them isn't easy if you do not have the right equipment.

    The Xbox TSOP contains the bios, if you flash it you can have benefits like being able to using a unlocked hard drive and lba48 support to support hard drives larger than 137 GB. Most modchips are a bios replacement and are equivalent to a TSOP flash.
    • Member

    DinohScene Femboy

    Member Since:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Message Count:
    8,079
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Atlantic Ocean
    Damn true.
    Didn't thought of the drive locking when I posted it.

    I got a 160 GB drive in a softmodded box (no TSOP flash) wich works fine.
    Maybe you meant HDD partitions bigger then 137 GB.

    Only way for OP to get his box working is to install a commercial modchip or homebrew modchip.
    You could fashion a homebrew modchip from a old PC BIOS.
    It doesn't have to be permanent, as long as you can dump the EEPROM and lock the drive again.
    • Member

    dilav New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Message Count:
    1,185
    Country:
    United States
    I mean to say you cannot access more than ~137GB of data on the xbox due to 28-bit LBA. It is not a limit of partition size.
    That message was to inform OP since you brought up TSOP flashing.

    The homebrew chip is known as a 'cheap mod'. Many cheap commercial chips are based off of it.
    These chips are long discontinued and no longer cheap to buy. But if you have them available, program them and they are great to obtain the HDD key or to add to a 1.6 xbox for hard drive upgrades.
    • Member

    DinohScene Femboy

    Member Since:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Message Count:
    8,079
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Atlantic Ocean
    I'll boot up my old box and will check the partition sizes soon.
    I'm 100% confident it's more then 137 GB.
    • Member

    DinohScene Femboy

    Member Since:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Message Count:
    8,079
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Atlantic Ocean
    My softmodded box.
    No TSOP flash or modchip what so ever.

    Hitachi Deskstar 7.2k RPM 160 GB.

    Drive C : 499.92 MB total
    Drive E : 4,881.63 MB total
    Drive F : 123,408.52 MB total
    Drive G : 25,988.52 MB total
    Drive X : 749.89 MB total
    Drive Y : 749.89 MB total
    Drive Z : 749.89 MB total

    Drive F and G together are more then 137~ GB formatted.

Share This Page