iMenu step-by-step set-up tutorial

Discussion in 'NDS - Tutorials' started by Terminator02, Oct 20, 2010.

  1. Terminator02
    OP

    Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Member
    4,517
    309
    Apr 10, 2010
    United States
    Somewhere near monkat
    well you've done all the ones that i care about, nice job cannonfoddr *pats back*
     


  2. spinal_cord

    spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Member
    3,010
    580
    Jul 21, 2007
    somewhere
    Are you doing these by hand?!!!
     
  3. Terminator02
    OP

    Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Member
    4,517
    309
    Apr 10, 2010
    United States
    Somewhere near monkat
    yeah he is, he's insane
     
  4. CannonFoddr

    CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Member
    4,115
    68
    Sep 23, 2006
    Sitting by computer
    Same answer as above ..... Yes - Yes I am [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  5. freestile

    freestile GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    135
    4
    Jan 10, 2011
    United States
    https://www.youtube.com/user/freestilesteve
    Your the king Cannonfoddr. No doubt bro.
     
  6. CannonFoddr

    CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Member
    4,115
    68
    Sep 23, 2006
    Sitting by computer
    @ Spinal: Dam me with all these ideas.. I've got yet ANOTHER suggestion for iMenub4
    Anyway - any chance of adding a 'RememberPage=0/1' option to iMenu ??

    Currently each time you start up iMenu it always starts on the first 'page' of icons, so what this 'RememberPage=' option does, is that IF set to '1' then each time you start up iMenu it remembers the last 'page' of icons you were on.

    As you know I'm no programmer
    - but I would think that what could be done is that IF 'RememberPage=1' & you press [ A ] on an icon - then the 'Page number' could be saved to the MSD.
    When iMenu boots up from a softreset (or whatever) it will see a 'PageNo=' & jump straight to that page.

    To further expand on this idea - IF 'RememberPage=0' BUT there is still a 'PageNo=' (other than '0')
    - iMenu will STILL jump to that page of icons, but it WON'T re-write a newpage number when you select a icon...

    This way you could arrange it so that your 'HomeScreen' is somewhere in the middle of all your current screens
    If you've ever tried an Android Phone (I don't know if it's the same on an iPhone) then you'll know that the default 'Homescreen' is in the middle of a line of 5/7 screens & you can scroll left or right (& yes - this IS what gave me the idea)

    Of course, the only immediate problem I can see is if 'PageNo=' points to a screen that doesn't exist (say you deleted a load of INI files) - what'll happen then ??
     
  7. Miss Panda

    Miss Panda GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    568
    1
    Aug 15, 2007
    I've installed Comic Reader DS on my DSTWO as a plugin on the DSTWO menu and it works fine. But to access it in imenu I have to access it via the DSTWO Menu. In order to access it directly on the imenu menu, do I create an ini by copying one of the current homebrew ini files I have in the imenu _ini folder and simply replace the name with Comic Reader DS and then put it in the imenu _ini folder with the others?
     
  8. spinal_cord

    spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Member
    3,010
    580
    Jul 21, 2007
    somewhere
    Press 'Select' when in iMenu, select 'New', press 'A' when File is selected and browse to your file, if the rest of the fields don't fill themselves correctly then edit them. Once you save it, iMenu will reset and you should now have a new icon.
     
  9. Miss Panda

    Miss Panda GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    568
    1
    Aug 15, 2007
    I love you.


    That is all.
     
  10. Terminator02
    OP

    Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Member
    4,517
    309
    Apr 10, 2010
    United States
    Somewhere near monkat
    finally got around to adding Cannonfoddr's NDS game cover pack (dunno why i put it off so long)

    and i doubt i'll ever finish that homebrew list, at least not until the final version of imenu
     
  11. Hoodz

    Hoodz Newbie

    Newcomer
    3
    0
    Jul 14, 2011
    United States
    Somewhere
    Anyone interested in this skin?
    Selected border is around the GBA icon, Move icon around the DSTwo

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Made a photoshop file for this so the background can easily be swapped out for something else

    Example:
    [​IMG]
     
  12. spinal_cord

    spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Member
    3,010
    580
    Jul 21, 2007
    somewhere
    Very nice! please upload it to filetrip or something! [​IMG]
     
  13. Hoodz

    Hoodz Newbie

    Newcomer
    3
    0
    Jul 14, 2011
    United States
    Somewhere
    Will pack em up later today
    I have a suggestion tho, would it be possible to add something to pick a theme? maybe in the select menu?
    as I have 12 different backgrounds now its a bit of a hassle to keep swapping out the micro sd to change the skin

    think the DSTWO menu had a theme selector, only problem was that it never worked for me [​IMG]
     
  14. Hoodz

    Hoodz Newbie

    Newcomer
    3
    0
    Jul 14, 2011
    United States
    Somewhere
    Here is the theme:
    http://filetrip.net/f25665-iMenu-Theme-1-0.html

    To install the theme simply unpack the .rar file and open up the folder of the theme you would like to use.
    Then copy the iMenu folder from the folder to the root of your micro sd and let it replace everything and your done!

    Screenshots:

    Black
    http://oi55.tinypic.com/2mrz889.jpg
    http://oi51.tinypic.com/2009xco.jpg
    http://oi54.tinypic.com/24qo6ep.jpg

    Black striped
    http://oi56.tinypic.com/104mb8p.jpg

    Blue
    http://oi52.tinypic.com/eame7b.jpg

    Blueblur
    http://oi55.tinypic.com/2wlrg9f.jpg

    Diagonal stripes
    http://oi56.tinypic.com/2iuvmg.jpg

    Dotted
    http://oi55.tinypic.com/mr4wm1.jpg

    Green
    http://oi53.tinypic.com/o51erm.jpg

    Lensflare
    http://oi52.tinypic.com/2s7i611.jpg

    Pattern
    http://oi51.tinypic.com/30li9ld.jpg

    Pinkstars
    http://oi53.tinypic.com/dh7nh5.jpg

    Rainbow
    http://oi53.tinypic.com/ngzon8.jpg

    Red
    http://oi55.tinypic.com/2rqdf1f.jpg
     
  15. Glacies

    Glacies Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Feb 6, 2011
    United States
    Is it possible to add groups (folders) with icons to the menu, for example one titled 'Emulators' with CATSFC, NDSGBA, etc. inside, or is it limited to applications only?
     
  16. CannonFoddr

    CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Member
    4,115
    68
    Sep 23, 2006
    Sitting by computer
    Unfortunately it is only 'Apps' - since when you create a new icon you can only browse for '*.nds' files

    Although that does should like a good idea, iMenu is really meant to be an 'App' launcher to replace the existing 'plugin' menu of the DSTwo & not a file browser like 'Bagplug' works

    Perhaps when Spinal has sorted out his website (how's that going spinal - it's been a while now [​IMG] ) he'll get back to working on iMenu & may add something like that to the next version (among any/some/all of the other suggestions [​IMG] )
     
  17. CannonFoddr

    CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Member
    4,115
    68
    Sep 23, 2006
    Sitting by computer
    Been a bit quiet here for iMenu updates (guess Spinal still having trouble with his site to carry on with iMenu ATM)

    Can't be bothered to update my icon pack for just one icon, but any day soon (Today or tomorrow hopefully) DSCraft is being released to the public, so I got in early & produced an iMenu graphic for it
    - I won't know it DSCraft actually works on the DSTwo until it's released.... but I'm guessing it'll be OK

    [​IMG] Download link
     
  18. Shaun C

    Shaun C Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    0
    Nov 15, 2010
    Hi all

    Is it possible to alter iMenu so that instead of the top screen displaying a clock it would display an image linked to an icon?

    i.e. a homebrew application/game icon is selected on the bottom screen and the top screen display a relevant image of the homebrew application/game.

    Cheers

    Shaun
     
  19. CannonFoddr

    CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Member
    4,115
    68
    Sep 23, 2006
    Sitting by computer
    I assume you meant something like what Bagplug does ?!?
    Unfortunately No....AFAIK (it's been a while since I mucked about with iMenu INI file) it was never programmed into iMenu, so the feature doesn't exist.

    The nearest you can get to that is when you select an icon on the bottom screen - you'll get the same icon on the top screen, & you can also have extra details like Game name/info and any additional 'notes' - which you've included in the iMenu shortcut under 'notes='

    You'll need to alter the iMenu INI file to enable these features as well
    showinfoicon=0/1
    showinfoname=0/1
    showinfonote=0/1
    hideicontext=0/1

    Perhaps If/When Spinal gets back to (re)developing this, you might be able to suggest this as a feature & it might get added
     
  20. Sondy

    Sondy Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Jan 4, 2011
    United States
    FL
    I really hope it's okay to post here.

    But, I did this step just like it says (it's pretty simple) and it didn't work for me.

    What could I be doing wrong?