iMenu step-by-step set-up tutorial

Discussion in 'NDS - Tutorials & FAQs' started by Terminator02, Oct 20, 2010.

Oct 20, 2010
    • Podcast Crew

    Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Member Since:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Message Count:
    4,514
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    well you've done all the ones that i care about, nice job cannonfoddr *pats back*


    • Member

    spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Member Since:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Message Count:
    2,399
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you doing these by hand?!!!
    • Podcast Crew

    Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Member Since:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Message Count:
    4,514
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    yeah he is, he's insane
    • Member

    CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Member Since:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Message Count:
    4,092
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Same answer as above ..... Yes - Yes I am [IMG] [IMG]
    • Member

    freestile New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Message Count:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    Your the king Cannonfoddr. No doubt bro.
    • Member

    CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Member Since:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Message Count:
    4,092
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @ Spinal: Dam me with all these ideas.. I've got yet ANOTHER suggestion for iMenub4
    Anyway - any chance of adding a 'RememberPage=0/1' option to iMenu ??

    Currently each time you start up iMenu it always starts on the first 'page' of icons, so what this 'RememberPage=' option does, is that IF set to '1' then each time you start up iMenu it remembers the last 'page' of icons you were on.

    As you know I'm no programmer
    - but I would think that what could be done is that IF 'RememberPage=1' & you press [ A ] on an icon - then the 'Page number' could be saved to the MSD.
    When iMenu boots up from a softreset (or whatever) it will see a 'PageNo=' & jump straight to that page.

    To further expand on this idea - IF 'RememberPage=0' BUT there is still a 'PageNo=' (other than '0')
    - iMenu will STILL jump to that page of icons, but it WON'T re-write a newpage number when you select a icon...

    This way you could arrange it so that your 'HomeScreen' is somewhere in the middle of all your current screens
    If you've ever tried an Android Phone (I don't know if it's the same on an iPhone) then you'll know that the default 'Homescreen' is in the middle of a line of 5/7 screens & you can scroll left or right (& yes - this IS what gave me the idea)

    Of course, the only immediate problem I can see is if 'PageNo=' points to a screen that doesn't exist (say you deleted a load of INI files) - what'll happen then ??
    • Member

    Miss Panda New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Message Count:
    558
    Country:
    Arctic Ocean
    I've installed Comic Reader DS on my DSTWO as a plugin on the DSTWO menu and it works fine. But to access it in imenu I have to access it via the DSTWO Menu. In order to access it directly on the imenu menu, do I create an ini by copying one of the current homebrew ini files I have in the imenu _ini folder and simply replace the name with Comic Reader DS and then put it in the imenu _ini folder with the others?
    • Member

    spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Member Since:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Message Count:
    2,399
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Press 'Select' when in iMenu, select 'New', press 'A' when File is selected and browse to your file, if the rest of the fields don't fill themselves correctly then edit them. Once you save it, iMenu will reset and you should now have a new icon.
    • Member

    Miss Panda New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Message Count:
    558
    Country:
    Arctic Ocean
    I love you.


    That is all.
    • Podcast Crew

    Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Member Since:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Message Count:
    4,514
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    finally got around to adding Cannonfoddr's NDS game cover pack (dunno why i put it off so long)

    and i doubt i'll ever finish that homebrew list, at least not until the final version of imenu
    • Newcomer

    Hoodz New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Message Count:
    3
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone interested in this skin?
    Selected border is around the GBA icon, Move icon around the DSTwo

    [IMG]

    [IMG]

    [IMG]

    Made a photoshop file for this so the background can easily be swapped out for something else

    Example:
    [IMG]
    • Member

    spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Member Since:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Message Count:
    2,399
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Very nice! please upload it to filetrip or something! [IMG]
    • Newcomer

    Hoodz New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Message Count:
    3
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Country:
    United States
    Will pack em up later today
    I have a suggestion tho, would it be possible to add something to pick a theme? maybe in the select menu?
    as I have 12 different backgrounds now its a bit of a hassle to keep swapping out the micro sd to change the skin

    think the DSTWO menu had a theme selector, only problem was that it never worked for me [IMG]
    • Newcomer

    Hoodz New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Message Count:
    3
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Country:
    United States
    Here is the theme:
    http://filetrip.net/f25665-iMenu-Theme-1-0.html

    To install the theme simply unpack the .rar file and open up the folder of the theme you would like to use.
    Then copy the iMenu folder from the folder to the root of your micro sd and let it replace everything and your done!

    Screenshots:

    Black
    http://oi55.tinypic.com/2mrz889.jpg
    http://oi51.tinypic.com/2009xco.jpg
    http://oi54.tinypic.com/24qo6ep.jpg

    Black striped
    http://oi56.tinypic.com/104mb8p.jpg

    Blue
    http://oi52.tinypic.com/eame7b.jpg

    Blueblur
    http://oi55.tinypic.com/2wlrg9f.jpg

    Diagonal stripes
    http://oi56.tinypic.com/2iuvmg.jpg

    Dotted
    http://oi55.tinypic.com/mr4wm1.jpg

    Green
    http://oi53.tinypic.com/o51erm.jpg

    Lensflare
    http://oi52.tinypic.com/2s7i611.jpg

    Pattern
    http://oi51.tinypic.com/30li9ld.jpg

    Pinkstars
    http://oi53.tinypic.com/dh7nh5.jpg

    Rainbow
    http://oi53.tinypic.com/ngzon8.jpg

    Red
    http://oi55.tinypic.com/2rqdf1f.jpg
    • Newcomer

    Glacies New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Message Count:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Is it possible to add groups (folders) with icons to the menu, for example one titled 'Emulators' with CATSFC, NDSGBA, etc. inside, or is it limited to applications only?
    • Member

    CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Member Since:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Message Count:
    4,092
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Unfortunately it is only 'Apps' - since when you create a new icon you can only browse for '*.nds' files

    Although that does should like a good idea, iMenu is really meant to be an 'App' launcher to replace the existing 'plugin' menu of the DSTwo & not a file browser like 'Bagplug' works

    Perhaps when Spinal has sorted out his website (how's that going spinal - it's been a while now [IMG] ) he'll get back to working on iMenu & may add something like that to the next version (among any/some/all of the other suggestions [IMG] )
    • Member

    CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Member Since:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Message Count:
    4,092
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Been a bit quiet here for iMenu updates (guess Spinal still having trouble with his site to carry on with iMenu ATM)

    Can't be bothered to update my icon pack for just one icon, but any day soon (Today or tomorrow hopefully) DSCraft is being released to the public, so I got in early & produced an iMenu graphic for it
    - I won't know it DSCraft actually works on the DSTwo until it's released.... but I'm guessing it'll be OK

    [IMG] Download link
    • Newcomer

    Shaun C New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Message Count:
    2
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi all

    Is it possible to alter iMenu so that instead of the top screen displaying a clock it would display an image linked to an icon?

    i.e. a homebrew application/game icon is selected on the bottom screen and the top screen display a relevant image of the homebrew application/game.

    Cheers

    Shaun
    • Member

    CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Member Since:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Message Count:
    4,092
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I assume you meant something like what Bagplug does ?!?
    Unfortunately No....AFAIK (it's been a while since I mucked about with iMenu INI file) it was never programmed into iMenu, so the feature doesn't exist.

    The nearest you can get to that is when you select an icon on the bottom screen - you'll get the same icon on the top screen, & you can also have extra details like Game name/info and any additional 'notes' - which you've included in the iMenu shortcut under 'notes='

    You'll need to alter the iMenu INI file to enable these features as well
    showinfoicon=0/1
    showinfoname=0/1
    showinfonote=0/1
    hideicontext=0/1

    Perhaps If/When Spinal gets back to (re)developing this, you might be able to suggest this as a feature & it might get added
    • Newcomer

    Sondy New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Message Count:
    5
    Location:
    FL
    Country:
    United States
    I really hope it's okay to post here.

    But, I did this step just like it says (it's pretty simple) and it didn't work for me.

    What could I be doing wrong?

Share This Page