I want to know the equivalence between blocks and Bytes and...

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by Xmortal, Jan 5, 2013.

Jan 5, 2013
  1. Xmortal

    Newcomer Xmortal Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Venezuela
    Country:
    Venezuela
    I want to know the equivalence between blocks and Bytes and if any of the games listed with its current size in blocks.

    This is to see if it's worth buying digital games or continue with the physical.
     
  2. Shubshub

    Member Shubshub The Shubinator

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    New Zealand
     
  3. DaniPoo

    Member DaniPoo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    Sweden
    I think one block on a wii is about 128KB
    I have not checked if its the same with the 3DS
     
  4. Xmortal

    Newcomer Xmortal Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Venezuela
    Country:
    Venezuela
    I was bored and started making the rule of three

    Information
    1. SD de 2GB are 14,786 Blocks (7,664 used + 7,122 available)
    2. 2 GB are 2,048 MB

    Operation = 14,786 / 2,048 = 7.22 Blocks an MegaByte

    Once resolved a question comes another.

    Now I wonder how can a NES game may have almost 8 times the size of the NES Classic GBA/GBC version?

    Zelda II: The Adventure of Link "SNES Version in 3DS" 64 Blocks / "GBA's ROMs" 1 MB
    Legend of Zelda "SNES Version in 3DS" 49 Blocks / "GBA's ROM" 1 MB
    Legend of Zelda, The Link's Awakening DX "GBC Version in 3DS" 50 Blocks / GBC's Rom 1 MB

    This left me a little surprised.
     
  5. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    They bundle the emulator with each game. Probably for AP reasons.
     
  6. Xmortal

    Newcomer Xmortal Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Venezuela
    Country:
    Venezuela
    At least in the computer emulators are not so heavy.
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Well the emulators for VC stuff on the Wii have been found to be specifically modified for each game, speedhacks and such.

    Not so with PCs, which use the same emulator for all the games they can run, since they're not nearly as limited on resources.
     
  8. The Milkman

    Member The Milkman GBATemp's Official Asshat Milkman

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3,471
    Location:
    Throwing milk at the bitches!
    Country:
    United States
    I always wondered why they do that. I would think bundling the emulator would hurt the AP rather then help.
     
  9. NaokiKitsuhine

    Member NaokiKitsuhine GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Country:
    Brazil
    The problem is that an SD card doesn't have the ammout of memory it say

    2GB card doesn't have exactly 2048MB
     

Share This Page