I have been accused of plagiarism - need help

Deleted member 473940

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
For those of you who don't know. . Plagiarism is copying someone else's work and presenting it as your own.

Now let me tell you what happened:
I am studying biomedical science and I have a lot of coursework involving lab reports and such things. But the thing is, you can't really copy or use someone else's data when you done the experiment yourself and worked out your lab report from the result you obtained.

Now.. today my results were meant to be published, however nothing showed up when I logged into my university website. I call them up, only to find out that one of my coursework is being reviewed for plagiarism. The coursework in question is the practical exercise booklet where I have all my practical data, results(Basically all the lab reports).

At first I thought it might have been my personal portfolio as I had help from my friend to complete it, but the piece of work in question is really my lab booklet.

I have been emailing back and forth with the teachers and different departments of my university with no help at all.

Then I received an email, telling me I have 10 working days to appeal against them with proof to show that the piece of work submitted is indeed mine.

I am really confused. What I am supposed to prove to them? It just contains data I have obtained from the practicals I have done and everything in the booklet is written by me with my own knowledge.
One of the penalty could be failure of the module and or just failure of the specific piece of work.
I am shaking literally :( I don't know what to do.

paulie

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
First try to contact the professor/head of department responsible of the course/module. (or the UK variant of the person in charge of the module; in Holland its usually a professor/principle investigator [PI])