Howto: Install DevMenu and SaveDataFiler to NAND to Survive Formats and SD Card Wipes.

Discussion in '3DS - Tutorials' started by driverdis, Apr 1, 2016.

  1. driverdis
    OP

    Member driverdis I am Justice

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,227
    Location:
    1.048596β
    Country:
    United States
    Right now, the main method of installing CIAs is to inject FBI into health and Safety app.

    I am going to talk about an alternate to this that may interest some people, especially ones that want to retain the stock Health and Safety app afterward for whatever reason.

    This will still need FBI injected into Health and Safety temporarily or another method of installing CIAs like Gateway but afterward will not require either.

    The alternative is to install DevMenu and SaveDataFiler to NAND, this has very minimal brick risk as these titles are simply ignored on OFW SysNAND or EmuNAND and will show up only while in CFW. these also will survive System and SD formats also.
    I had these installed to SysNAND when I did the downgrade to 2.1 for OTP, on both my N3DS and O3DS and ran into no issues in case people are worried about these apps affecting the downgrade process.

    -------------------------------------

    Make sure you have a method of installing CIAs before doing this
    If you are using a version of DevMenu that installs to the SD Card, Install FBI using DevMenu then uninstall DevMenu from the SD Card via Data Management or FBI
    If you have SaveDataFiler installed to the SD Card, ununstall it via Data Management or FBI.

    -------------------------------------

    first, download the DevApps we will need | Search for "[MEGA] Retail Encrypted DevApps! (Caution. These will install to NAND!)" on that site and it will show just that thread) [exclude the quotes in the search]
    A thanks to @Apache Thunder for the files :grog:

    You will see download links to both an SDK11.4 verson of DevMenu (requires 9.2 and CFW with firmlaunch or an updated CFW SysNAND or EmuNAND)
    and an older pack that includes the older DevMenu that works all the way back to 4.x along with other DevApps

    -------------------------------------

    Decide on which DevMenu you want then grab the RAR that includes SaveDataFiler if you have not done so already.

    DO NOT DOWNLOAD the files from this link "[MEGA] DevMenu, SaveDataFiler, and PlayCoinSetter (New Banners!)" on that thread, that links to the regular SD Install versions.
    ------------------------------------

    Now that you have the DevMenu and SafeDataFiler CIAs you want (I used the 3D banner ones myself) , Proceed to install them to NAND destination with FBI.

    Now that you have them installed to NAND, reboot into CFW again and they will show up and run.

    Now that they are installed on NAND, you can proceed to restore the Health and Safety app back to normal if you want as it is no longer needed.
     
    Last edited by driverdis, Apr 6, 2016


  2. Faolan

    Newcomer Faolan Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    Edit downloaded the wrong files.
    Thanks :)
     
    Last edited by Faolan, Apr 2, 2016
  3. driverdis
    OP

    Member driverdis I am Justice

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,227
    Location:
    1.048596β
    Country:
    United States
    did you install them to NAND then reboot
     
  4. Faolan

    Newcomer Faolan Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    downloaded wrong files
     
    Last edited by Faolan, Apr 2, 2016
  5. driverdis
    OP

    Member driverdis I am Justice

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,227
    Location:
    1.048596β
    Country:
    United States
    you did get them from the correct link, right
     
  6. Nikki_swap

    Member Nikki_swap The Lewdest

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    372
    Country:
    United States
    driverdis likes this.
  7. driverdis
    OP

    Member driverdis I am Justice

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,227
    Location:
    1.048596β
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for the Idea, I have now done so in the guide.
     
  8. lpchaim

    Newcomer lpchaim Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    Brazil
    Thank you for this, installed devmenu to sysnand just in case even if I want absolutely no part in messing around too much with my unit in the foreseeable future, a9lhax has kind of saturated me already haha. Working perfectly.
     
  9. HariGp

    Member HariGp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    266
    Country:
    India
    Everytime I install Devmenu/SaveDataFiler to NAND in emuNAND, when I open it I get an error. I'm on O3ds, RX - E 10.7

    Can anybody help me? Thanks
     
  10. driverdis
    OP

    Member driverdis I am Justice

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,227
    Location:
    1.048596β
    Country:
    United States
    when you launched FBI while on EmuNAND, did you switch the destination to NAND first before installing

    If it still does not work, make sure you downloaded the right zip. one of the links on that iso site links to a SD Card install version and that at least one person on GBATemp ran into the same error and found out they had the wrong zip.
     
  11. HariGp

    Member HariGp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    266
    Country:
    India
    I downloaded the "DevMegaPack.rar", and installed the CIAs which didn't have the 3D banner, and those that did. Both of them didn't work :/ And yes, I did switch destination to NAND
    Oh and I deleted it each time before trying again :P
     
  12. driverdis
    OP

    Member driverdis I am Justice

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,227
    Location:
    1.048596β
    Country:
    United States
    try rebooting and see if they launch
     
  13. noctis90210

    Member noctis90210 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    670
    Country:
    Philippines
    can someone repack the devmenu sysnand sdk 11.4 original banner...
    cuz what ive seen the only devmenu sysnand sdk 11.4 contains modified banner...
    sorry for being OC, just want to make my cia looks legit... :-) thanks and have a nice day...
     
  14. driverdis
    OP

    Member driverdis I am Justice

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,227
    Location:
    1.048596β
    Country:
    United States
    Being installed onto a non dev console already ruins the feel, so very few people will bother to help you with this. However, you have 3 choices:

    Use the older FBI versions(before version 2) then set destination to NAND and install the 2D Banner 11.4 DevMenu (someone said this worked, I forgot who)

    Install the older DevMenu 2D banner one to NAND

    Use the 3D Banner one anyway
     
  15. noctis90210

    Member noctis90210 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    670
    Country:
    Philippines
    whats the version of FBI that able to install cia to NAND?
    cuz the newest FBI doesnt have this feature...
    thanks...
     
  16. Ryccardo

    Member Ryccardo WiiUaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,262
    Location:
    Imola
    Country:
    Italy
    All versions of FBI can install titles to the nand.

    In FBI 1 that's a manual selection;
    FBI 2 it guesses based on the titleid (and older versions got it wrong, but since 2.4.6 at least it's fixed - if it still screws up, you are using bad cias (I know since I made proper conversions of the dev tools :))

    --- All versions of DevMenu, SaveDataFiler, Config, and a few other dev tools which install to SD are BAD CONVERSIONS, check out the "developer" link in my sig for information ---
     
    Last edited by Ryccardo, May 21, 2017
    noctis90210 likes this.
  17. noctis90210

    Member noctis90210 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    670
    Country:
    Philippines
    @Ryccardo im trying it now on my other 3ds... but after going to...

    SD ---> cia (folder on my sd) ---> devmenu.cia ---> there are choices as follows:

    install cia
    install and delete cia
    delete
    rename
    copy
    paste

    i cant find the option to install it on NAND...

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    @Ryccardo
    do i need to use the cia version of fbi? or the homebrew vesrion?
     
    Last edited by noctis90210, May 21, 2017
  18. Ryccardo

    Member Ryccardo WiiUaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,262
    Location:
    Imola
    Country:
    Italy
    Of course there's no option... it's automatic!

    Shouldn't matter, but as a rule of thumb always prefer the cia version of homebrews available in both formats
     
  19. noctis90210

    Member noctis90210 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    670
    Country:
    Philippines
    but i remember (i think 1st quarter of 2016) there is a version of fbi that gives you choice where to install cia...
     
  20. Ryccardo

    Member Ryccardo WiiUaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,262
    Location:
    Imola
    Country:
    Italy
    It exists, that's FBI 1. (The last version of FBI 1 is 1.4.17)

    But it's a false freedom of choice: titles don't work if installed in the wrong storage!
     
    noctis90210 likes this.

Share This Page