How To Unsoft Brick

Discussion in '3DS - Tutorials' started by DarkFlare69, Mar 27, 2016.

Mar 27, 2016

How To Unsoft Brick by DarkFlare69 at 11:40 PM (2,438 Views / 2 Likes) 8 replies

  1. DarkFlare69
    OP

    Member DarkFlare69 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    4,537
    Location:
    Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    Unsoft bricking is very easy. Since 10.7 is downgradable, there's no risk to this. Even if 10.7 wasn't downgradable, an updated 3DS is worth more than no 3DS.

    1. Open up your 3DS
    2. Hold L+R+A+Up
    3. While those are held, turn on your 3DS. You might have to move your fingers around
    4. Update your system.
    5. You'll be unsoft bricked!

    Video
     
    Margarine67 and RedBlueGreen like this.
  2. Salamencizer

    Member Salamencizer Handsome Computer Nerd

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    792
    Location:
    Below
    Country:
    India
    Nice. (But most people might probably know this)
     
    Margarine67 and Jay1Gamer like this.
  3. James310

    Member James310 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    Somewhere in California
    Country:
    United States
    This isn't considered a softbrick... Only if it's a Frankenfirmware
     
    Margarine67 likes this.
  4. The Real Jdbye

    Member The Real Jdbye Fuck me, right??

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    10,294
    Location:
    Yolo Island
    Country:
    Norway
    That is what a soft brick is. It's considered a frankenfirmware if it actually boots but is limited in some way by titles not being downgraded properly. It's considered a softbrick if it won't boot normally and re-downgrading or updating by system update is required for it to work.
     
    Margarine67 and DarkFlare69 like this.
  5. Margen67

    Banned Margen67 Dirty entited pirate

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1,100
    Country:
    United States
    If you don't have any other entrypoints you should try taking out the SD card, then do browser/menuhax and downgrade again.
    That's what I did and it worked for my N3DS after a partial downgrade.
     
    codeluca and Margarine67 like this.
  6. The Real Jdbye

    Member The Real Jdbye Fuck me, right??

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    10,294
    Location:
    Yolo Island
    Country:
    Norway
    Yup, that usually works. Reinstalling menuhax is needed since, after the downgrade, the menuhax version no longer matches your installed home menu. I had to do this earlier today, since rerunning sysupdater from browserhax just didn't want to work. it worked on the first try with menuhax, and after the "an error has occurred" in the middle of the downgrade menuhax didn't work. After browserhax failed on hax init 3 times in a row I reinstalled menuhax and it worked on the first try and completed the downgrade. It seems like it really does matter which entrypoint you use.
     
    Margarine67 likes this.
  7. Aize

    Newcomer Aize Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Thailand
    I had black screen and I can enter to recovery mode by hold L+R+A+Up but I can't complete update my system. it stuck at ~95% (o3DS LL)
     
    Margarine67 likes this.
  8. yacepi15

    Member yacepi15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    838
    Country:
    Spain
    NAND backup,open game with button combination or fucked.
    That are your options.
     
    Margarine67 likes this.
  9. nxwing

    Member nxwing GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,930
    Country:
    Philippines
    codeluca likes this.

Share This Page