How to run GBA games on your DS

Discussion in 'NDS - Tutorials & FAQs' started by soulx, May 15, 2011.

May 15, 2011
    • Member

    soulx #eattherude

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    10,047
    Location:
    Zimbabweland
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Just noticed this, I'll update it as soon as I can.


    • Member

    PROTOBOY GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Posts:
    202
    Country:
    Canada

    I'm followed but didn't work :(, anyway thanks for help.
    • Member

    noob killer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Posts:
    194
    Location:
    bakersfield
    Country:
    United States
    dstwo has gba emu you should try it
    • Member

    Kaoid MantouDev 馒头软件 Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    dude try copying hbmenu.nds and ichflyr4igbaemu to the root of your card. launch hbmenu.nds, select a rom and keep pressing A and select newirq or newirqsound (depends if you want sound) and it should work. to save, save in game then pressY. the next time you launch the emu and load a game, it should auto detect the save. hope that helps. tell that to anyone who needs help with the emu :)
    • Member

    Ziggy Zigzagoon GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Posts:
    436
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    The thing is that Slot 2 Cards are now even harder to obtain at all, much less cheaply. Plus, there is the RTS issue.
    • Newcomer

    oateo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Posts:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    I wonder if anyone can help me with this. I have a NDSL and R4i Gold and want to be able to play GBA homebrew/patched roms (Pokemon hacks like Liquid Crystal, to be specific). Would the slot-2 carts (EZ Flash) be the best choice for this? I've found a couple of places to get the 3-in-1, but can't seem to find the IV for sale from a US-based site.
    • Member

    Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Posts:
    4,902
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would highly recommend the EZ Flash 3in1 for your combo of DS Lite and R4i Gold because it's what I also have as well. You can run the GBA games straight from the micro SD card but the loading takes a while. Compatibility is pretty high but sadly I never used it to test it for Pokemon hack games. EZ-Flash IV is another decent GBA card but the loading just takes forever. One to load the GBA game and when you turn the handheld off and turn it back on again to select another game, the EZ-Flash IV goes through ANOTHER loading just so that it can write the save.
    oateo likes this.
    • Newcomer

    oateo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Posts:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the help! I guess I'll go for the 3-in-1 then. Is homebrew/hacked roms something that people use the EZ Flash for, or am I just chasing an impossible dream? (I don't know much at all about different flashcarts/emulators, and it seems like most people run the hacked Pokemon games on emulators on the pc..)
    • Member

    Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Posts:
    4,902
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you're still super unsure, I grabbed the IPS patch for Liquid Crystal and here it is running on my 3-in-1:

    WARNING! Spoilers inside!


    As for why everyone uses the emulator to run Pokemon hacks? It's much easier and it's free but if you want to carry this game with you wherever you go then the EZFlash 3in1 and R4i card combo is great.
    oateo likes this.
    • Newcomer

    oateo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Posts:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, awesome. Thank you so much for your help!
    • Newcomer

    Dan-the-Rebirth Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Posts:
    72
    Country:
    Austria
    hey in the first post soulXsaid you can also use the Cyclo DSi eveolution on a DSi but doesnt say how... i own both but my Cyclo doesnt show the gba files i put on the SD (cyclo fm 2.2)

    can someone help me out?
    • Member

    Ulieq GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Posts:
    316
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Country:
    United States
    You probably need an emulator on your cyclo yo.

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page