How to run GBA games on your DS

Discussion in 'NDS - Tutorials & FAQs' started by soulx, May 15, 2011.

May 15, 2011
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    64GB SDHC's don't exist, it's the SDXC format that goes past 32GB. From what I've read it may just be a filesystem change so some things might be updated to support them, but I wouldn't count on it.

    You can fit like 100 games in an 8GB anyways. DS games are tiny.


    • Member

    ScarletCrystals Useless Bunny of Paradise

    Member Since:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Message Count:
    750
    Location:
    Bamboo Forest, Gensokyo
    Country:
    Canada
    Currently, it only supports up to 32gb sdhc. That is...unlikely to change.
    • Newcomer

    afehst New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Message Count:
    9
    Country:
    Netherlands
    your write, but i want to put all my gba games on it, 2810 gba games, and and all these games are more than 15gb, and i also want put all my ds games, and these are more than 5000 games, so i dont think it will pas on a 32gb sdhc, so...... but any way, thanks for your help
    • Member

    NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU Now with extra redundancy!

    Member Since:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Message Count:
    859
    Location:
    The EoF
    Country:
    Australia
    Did you download every game ever made for those 2 systems!?! Anyway, with those figures you would be bound to have the same game from all regions (PAL, NTSC, etc) and you don't need the same game 3 times... go through and delete the double/triple/quadruple/whatever-ups...
    • Newcomer

    afehst New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Message Count:
    9
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yep, i;m going to do that, thanks to all of you
    • Newcomer

    Metal Militia31 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Message Count:
    11
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I know im way late to this party :ha: but what exactly does the RED mean
    • "Create "/GBA_SAVE" and "/GBA_SIGN" folders on the root of your MicroSD card. (Modify "GBA_ExpLoader.ini" to set different folders)
    • Copy GBA files into "/GBA_SIGN".
    • Put SAV files into "/GBA_SAVE".
    • To run the game, browse to the GBA file and press A to launch it. (If the game is too big to launch in PSRAM, press R to switch to NOR, then press A to launch it.)"
    • meanbecause I put my save files I made from an emulator in the "/GBA_SAVE" to load and its not loading. This is really my first time trying to do this so any help is good thanks!
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    An INI file is a text file that holds config settings. If you want to name your folders differently or have them in sub-folders or something, you'd change the settings in there.
    • Newcomer

    Metal Militia31 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Message Count:
    11
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    • Member

    raystriker Balance Breaker!

    Member Since:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Message Count:
    462
    Location:
    Hyoudou Residence
    Country:
    India
    Dear soulx
    the gba emu by ichfly has been and i am afraid that the one in your post is outdated will/could you update your post?
    • Member

    SteelLord New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Message Count:
    191
    Country:
    Greece
    • Member

    SteelLord New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Message Count:
    191
    Country:
    Greece
    which of all the cards are better for running games gba?
    • Member

    Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp's Official Glaceon™ That little pansexual

    Member Since:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    10,370
    Location:
    Not sure
    Country:
    Antarctica
    EZ Flash 3-in-1 and EZ-Flash IV
    • Member

    raystriker Balance Breaker!

    Member Since:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Message Count:
    462
    Location:
    Hyoudou Residence
    Country:
    India
    Needs an update
    • Member

    sonicrings New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Message Count:
    170
    Country:
    Canada
    I am having an issue with my ez Flash 3in1. Simply put, it does not keep my saves at all. I put my ROM in the GAME_SIGN folder and my save in the GAME_SAVE folder (those 2 folders were created automatically) with no luck. I also tried putting the save in the same folder as the ROM. Nothing. This problem happens both when using my DSTTi and DSTWO. It also does not keep a save when booting the ez Flash 3in1 as a GBA agme on the DS Lite menu. When I soft reset (A+B+Start+Select), I have to start a new game. After having completed a stage in which the game autosaves.
    The ROM I am referring to is Sonic Advance 3.. I'd really appreciate some help. Thanks!
    • Global Moderator

    Sicklyboy Not Falco

    Member Since:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Message Count:
    4,400
    Location:
    Nowhere, Middle OF
    Country:
    United States
    If it's not keeping saves your battery is probably dead.
    • Member

    PROTOBOY New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Message Count:
    197
    Country:
    Canada
    Can someone put a video on youtube to show how to do it on Acekard 2i????????????????
    • Reporter

    Foxi4 What's a "Pokeflood"?

    Member Since:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    18,238
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Check the first post. There are numerous methods, different ones applying to different setups.

    Do you have a Slot-1 + Slot-2 solution (DS Lite or DS Classic) or just the Acekard 2i? If the latter, follow the emulator instructions.
    • Member

    Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Member Since:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Message Count:
    2,721
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    As already stated, ichichfly's GBA emulator has been updated with major new features.

    - ROM size no longer matters (not even on standard DS)
    - Boots a LOT of commercial games
    - Sound support
    - 60FPS with sound on quite a few commercial ROMs
    - Save support

    In fact, I would have to recommend his emulator over a slot2 cart if you're gonna be playing only a few GBA games.
    • Member

    PROTOBOY New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Message Count:
    197
    Country:
    Canada
    I have only Acekard 2i, my ds don't have slot-2, it's DSi-XL.
    • Reporter

    Foxi4 What's a "Pokeflood"?

    Member Since:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    18,238
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    N-no... :D Native Support > Emulation, forever and always. ;) Not to mention that a Slot-2 cart gives you other benefits as well.

    Well then your only option is ichichfly's emulator - follow the instructions, ;)

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page