How to run GBA games on your DS

Discussion in 'NDS - Tutorials & FAQs' started by soulx, May 15, 2011.

May 15, 2011

How to run GBA games on your DS by soulx at 12:05 AM (76,719 Views / 1 Likes) 71 replies

  1. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    64GB SDHC's don't exist, it's the SDXC format that goes past 32GB. From what I've read it may just be a filesystem change so some things might be updated to support them, but I wouldn't count on it.

    You can fit like 100 games in an 8GB anyways. DS games are tiny.
     


  2. ScarletCrystals

    Member ScarletCrystals Useless Bunny of Paradise

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    941
    Location:
    Bamboo Forest, Gensokyo
    Country:
    Canada
    Currently, it only supports up to 32gb sdhc. That is...unlikely to change.
     
  3. afehst

    Newcomer afehst Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Netherlands
    your write, but i want to put all my gba games on it, 2810 gba games, and and all these games are more than 15gb, and i also want put all my ds games, and these are more than 5000 games, so i dont think it will pas on a 32gb sdhc, so...... but any way, thanks for your help
     
  4. NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU

    Member NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU Now with extra redundancy!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    The EoF
    Country:
    Australia
    Did you download every game ever made for those 2 systems!?! Anyway, with those figures you would be bound to have the same game from all regions (PAL, NTSC, etc) and you don't need the same game 3 times... go through and delete the double/triple/quadruple/whatever-ups...
     
  5. afehst

    Newcomer afehst Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yep, i;m going to do that, thanks to all of you
     
  6. Metal Militia31

    Newcomer Metal Militia31 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I know im way late to this party :ha: but what exactly does the RED mean
    • "Create "/GBA_SAVE" and "/GBA_SIGN" folders on the root of your MicroSD card. (Modify "GBA_ExpLoader.ini" to set different folders)
    • Copy GBA files into "/GBA_SIGN".
    • Put SAV files into "/GBA_SAVE".
    • To run the game, browse to the GBA file and press A to launch it. (If the game is too big to launch in PSRAM, press R to switch to NOR, then press A to launch it.)"
    • meanbecause I put my save files I made from an emulator in the "/GBA_SAVE" to load and its not loading. This is really my first time trying to do this so any help is good thanks!
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    An INI file is a text file that holds config settings. If you want to name your folders differently or have them in sub-folders or something, you'd change the settings in there.
     
  8. Metal Militia31

    Newcomer Metal Militia31 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
  9. raystriker

    Member raystriker Computer Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    507
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Country:
    India
    Dear soulx
    the gba emu by ichfly has been and i am afraid that the one in your post is outdated will/could you update your post?
     
  10. SteelLord

    Member SteelLord GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    Greece
    thanks..
     
  11. SteelLord

    Member SteelLord GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    Greece
    which of all the cards are better for running games gba?
     
  12. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp's Glaceon™ Mikhaila! <3

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10,698
    Location:
    Space
    Country:
    United States
    EZ Flash 3-in-1 and EZ-Flash IV
     
  13. raystriker

    Member raystriker Computer Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    507
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Country:
    India
    Needs an update
     
  14. sonicrings

    Member sonicrings GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    695
    Country:
    Canada
    I am having an issue with my ez Flash 3in1. Simply put, it does not keep my saves at all. I put my ROM in the GAME_SIGN folder and my save in the GAME_SAVE folder (those 2 folders were created automatically) with no luck. I also tried putting the save in the same folder as the ROM. Nothing. This problem happens both when using my DSTTi and DSTWO. It also does not keep a save when booting the ez Flash 3in1 as a GBA agme on the DS Lite menu. When I soft reset (A+B+Start+Select), I have to start a new game. After having completed a stage in which the game autosaves.
    The ROM I am referring to is Sonic Advance 3.. I'd really appreciate some help. Thanks!
     
  15. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,120
    Location:
    Nowhere, Middle OF
    Country:
    United States
    If it's not keeping saves your battery is probably dead.
     
  16. PROTOBOY

    Member PROTOBOY GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    Canada
    Can someone put a video on youtube to show how to do it on Acekard 2i????????????????
     
  17. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    21,202
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Check the first post. There are numerous methods, different ones applying to different setups.

    Do you have a Slot-1 + Slot-2 solution (DS Lite or DS Classic) or just the Acekard 2i? If the latter, follow the emulator instructions.
     
  18. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,017
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    As already stated, ichichfly's GBA emulator has been updated with major new features.

    - ROM size no longer matters (not even on standard DS)
    - Boots a LOT of commercial games
    - Sound support
    - 60FPS with sound on quite a few commercial ROMs
    - Save support

    In fact, I would have to recommend his emulator over a slot2 cart if you're gonna be playing only a few GBA games.
     
  19. PROTOBOY

    Member PROTOBOY GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    Canada
    I have only Acekard 2i, my ds don't have slot-2, it's DSi-XL.
     
  20. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    21,202
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    N-no... :D Native Support > Emulation, forever and always. ;) Not to mention that a Slot-2 cart gives you other benefits as well.

    Well then your only option is ichichfly's emulator - follow the instructions, ;)
     

Share This Page