How to recovery a bricked Wii using Bootmii as an IOS??

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Bobbarooskie, Dec 12, 2009.

Dec 12, 2009
    • Newcomer

    Bobbarooskie New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Message Count:
    75
    Country:
    United States
    I have a quick question about Bootmii. I was only able to install it as a IOS. I backed up my nand and was wondering how I would use Bootmii as an IOS to recovery a bricked wii.

    I've tried searching the forums but could only find the steps on how to recover a bricked wii using Bootmii as Boot2.

    I'm just about to update my wii to 4.1 using dop-IOS MOD and just want to make sure I know the process before I dive in.

    Thanks for any help or suggestions.

    Regards
    • Member

    longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Member Since:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    there not bricked they just want to know the process of how you would recover from a brick if you only have bootmii as an IOS
    • Newcomer

    Dj_Qbert New Member

    Member Since:
    May 1, 2009
    Message Count:
    59
    Country:
    Canada
    preloader/priiloader can help go into the bootmii menu.
    • Member

    cearp  

    Member Since:
    May 26, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,473
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    ...please just answer his question guys....
    so, you open up bootmii, make sure the sd card that has been configured for bootmii (via the hackmii installer, maybe something else) is in the sd slot, and on the bootmii menu go to the settings bit, and the select the icon which looks like 'a sd card, with an arrow going to an sd card'. it will then test restoring the nand, and then it will run it through properly if you choose to. it warns you that it is 'risky' to modify nand without bootmii in boot2.
    • Member

    icebrg5 New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Message Count:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    Priiloader will be the only option of restoring a backup if all you have is bootmii as an ios.

    It's the only program that will let you boot into bootmii as ios except for the HBC and if your wii is bricked the only way your going to get into bootmii as ios or hbc is by having priiloader installed.
    • Newcomer

    Bobbarooskie New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Message Count:
    75
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you everyone for the helpful replies!

    I now have priiloader installed and believe I'm now good to go. [IMG]
    • Member

    razorback78 New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    i read from your OP that you are going to upgrade to 4.1. this will leave you priiloader useless for it will be uninstalled by installing a new system menu.
    • Member

    wes11ph New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Message Count:
    455
    Location:
    basement lvl-249
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    yeah. installing new system menu will overwrite priiloader, preloader. the safe way is installing the system menu using wad manager and installing sysmenu IOS. then after you exit wadmanager you'll be forwarded to HBC. then this is now your chance to install preloader or priiloader. before you do this things trucha patched IOS36 first to be sure that you'll be installing preloader or priiloader..

    goodluck on (bricking)oopPppss! i mean upgrading!
    • Member

    DKAngel New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Message Count:
    658
    Location:
    Perth,Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    even if he fully bricks, priiloader wont save him only helpfull with banner bricks
    • Member

    Hyro-Sama I'm from the fucking future.

    Member Since:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Message Count:
    3,990
    Location:
    After Earth
    Country:
    Japan
    ok guys i need help. my wii is actually bricked. i followed these 2 guides:
    http://adewii.wordpress.com/2009/10/17/how...dx-and-bootmii/
    http://adewii.wordpress.com/2009/07/28/how...otmii-as-boot2/

    I got as far as:
    7. On the install screen press +. in the 2nd link and then now everytime I turn on my Wii, it does absolutely nothing. just a blank black screen and I CAN power on my wii using the Wiimote so it is an officially fully bricked wii.

    I am about to jump off of my house if I can't get my wii to work properly. I just finished putting in over 25 hours STRAIGHT getting my rb2 drums to work with rb2 game and now this. a fully bricked wii! i'm about to die!!
    • Member

    Riicky New Member

    Member Since:
    May 15, 2009
    Message Count:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    you come on this site looking for help....why didn't you just follow the GREAT guides on here?
    • Member

    Hyro-Sama I'm from the fucking future.

    Member Since:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Message Count:
    3,990
    Location:
    After Earth
    Country:
    Japan
    I would have but I didn't see any specific guides explaining how to get my wii's ng-id# without using xyzzy. But how do I fix this wii brick problem??
    • Member

    Hyro-Sama I'm from the fucking future.

    Member Since:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Message Count:
    3,990
    Location:
    After Earth
    Country:
    Japan
    I have 'confirmation' that my wii is fully bricked so it is going in the trash and no wii for me. but don't worry it's not a big deal, i am only a casual gamer anyway so I can now focus on my studies more. thanks for all the help! it was good while it lasted. [IMG] [IMG]

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page