How to play GameCube games off a USB HDD.

Discussion in 'Wii - Tutorials & FAQs' started by Conmore, Jun 28, 2012.

Jun 28, 2012
    • Newcomer

    Conmore New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Message Count:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    I don't want this to be a waste, but where did you download it?


    • Newcomer

    therealthing New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Message Count:
    19
    Country:
    France
    I downloaded the game on *snip*
    Last edited by Depravo, Jan 9, 2013. Reason: Don't name ROM sites. ~Dep
    • Newcomer

    Conmore New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Message Count:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    Is there anywhere you can find a PAL version?
    • Newcomer

    therealthing New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Message Count:
    19
    Country:
    France
    I'd like to know...the torrent doesn't have any seeds...
    • Newcomer

    Conmore New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Message Count:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    Try asking the kind people at Backup Loaders.
    • Newcomer

    therealthing New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Message Count:
    19
    Country:
    France
    thx commore, will try this :)
    • Newcomer

    LunarKnight New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Message Count:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    CFG USB LOADERv70 r36:

    COMPUTER:
    Follow steps 3-7 in the COMPUTER guide above.

    WII:

    1.) Follow steps 1 & 2 on the guide above.
    2.) Install DIOS MIOS using MMM.
    3.) Launch CFG USB Loader.
    4.) Click the icon with tools on it
    5.) Set "DML Version" to DM.
    6.) Launch your game!



    This part. Step 5. I don't have the option to set "DML Version"
    I've been through every option on every screen, and I do have CFGUSBLoader version 70.


    USB Loader GX:

    Getting an error launching from usb on USB Loader GX, + you probably should've said in the first post that you NEED the USB Loader GX Mod to add the "Launch from USB" option to the Start screen as it was frustrating as shit trying to figure out why I didn't have it.

    EDIT:
    Apparently I can't use USB Loader GX version 3.0.
    I'm trying different versions at the moment, specifically r1201.
    EDIT2:
    With r1201 I got rid of the first error, but now I'm getting the "Fatal error apploader size is zero" others are getting. I have a disc in, have DIOS MIOS 2.6 (not lite), have USB Loader GX r1201 + mod, gameid folders in the "games" folder on the root of my USB formatted in FAT32 with 64KB clusters(so the game doesn't lag), Wii games are running perfectly fine and they're on the same USB in the WBFS folder.
    Last edited by LunarKnight, Dec 26, 2012
    • Newcomer

    Conmore New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Message Count:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    Awesome! Someone to test DM 2.6. You MUST use 32k clusters. I don't get any lag in Killer 7, Super Mario Sunshine, Smash Bros, or Resident Evil 4.
    • Newcomer

    LunarKnight New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Message Count:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for replying! I heard in another guide that lag is caused from not having 64KB clusters but I guess that's not true. (I tried it before on a 4GB SD card and every game had unplayable FPS, but now I'm working with a 64GB USB that is supported)
    I'll reformat in 32KB clusters, set the games up on the drive, and try again.

    EDIT:
    No DIOS MIOS error screen this time, but now it's black/blank and I tried pressing A on the Wiimote and GC controller, no luck. I have to restart the Wii.
    Going to mess with settings.
    EDIT2:
    Changing some settings give me the 2 common DIOS MIOS screen errors, other's don't and continue to the blank screen. The Wii was forcefully turned off after launching the game a couple times.
    I'm positive the games aren't faulty and they're set up properly in the drive. It may be my settings, but I've ran out of ideas on what to change. I've seen other people get the black screen problem as well.
    I'm not sure if the blank screen is a step forward or back from the DIOS MIOS screen.
    I am running USB Loader GX through the HomeBrew channel, not a forwarder.
    All of my settings are default at the moment besides setting the Main GC Path for the USB.
    I'm loading 249, I have 248 too and apparently my 222 is "stub." Is this a problem?
    EDIT3:
    I deleted the WBFS folder from my USB so all that was there was "games," and instead of a black screen, it gave me the DIOS MIOS config error.
    That... shouldn't have made a difference. I'm lost.
    Last edited by LunarKnight, Dec 26, 2012
    • Newcomer

    arcsy New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Message Count:
    19
    Country:
    Philippines
    Hi everyone, I've been having the black screen problem too when I try to load NGC games on either USB/SD.

    I already updated my USB Loader GX to get rid off the incorrect config version error but now when I load the games (again, either USB/SD) it will load in the DIOS MIOS screen then the screen will go black and that's it.

    I also installed DIOS MIOS v2.6 in my v249. Is that correct?

    I ran a sysCheck hoping that someone can tell me if I have to update my Wii after all?


    sysCheck v2.0.1 by Double_A
    ...runs on IOS58 (rev 6175).

    Region: NTSC-U
    System Menu 4.2U (v481)
    Hollywood v0x21
    Console ID: 125690047
    Boot2 v4

    Found 200 titles.
    Found 40 IOS on this console. 4 of them are stub.

    IOS3 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS9 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS11 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS15 (rev 523): No Patches
    IOS16 (rev 512): Stub
    IOS17 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS20 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS21 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS28 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS30 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS31 (rev 3349): No Patches
    IOS33 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS35 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug ES Identify NAND Access
    IOS36 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug ES Identify NAND Access
    IOS37 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug NAND Access
    IOS38 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug ES Identify NAND Access
    IOS40 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS41 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS43 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS45 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS46 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS48 (rev 3867): No Patches
    IOS50 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub
    IOS52 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS53 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS55 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS56 (rev 5662): No Patches
    IOS58 (rev 6175): No Patches
    IOS60 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS61 (rev 5662): No Patches
    IOS70 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug
    IOS202 (rev 4): Trucha Bug ES Identify NAND Access USB 2.0
    IOS222 (rev 4): Trucha Bug ES Identify NAND Access USB 2.0
    IOS223 (rev 4): Trucha Bug ES Identify NAND Access USB 2.0
    IOS236 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug ES Identify NAND Access
    IOS249 (rev 21006): Trucha Bug NAND Access USB 2.0
    IOS250 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug ES Identify NAND Access USB 2.0
    IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii
    BC v6
    MIOS v10




    Thanks everybody!
    • Newcomer

    Conmore New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Message Count:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    Try it with an earlier version of DM.
    • Newcomer

    LunarKnight New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Message Count:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Tried DM 2.2, now I get "Fatal error apploader size is zero."
    • Member

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Message Count:
    5,138
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    You'll need the LATEST version of GX, PostLoader, WiiFlow, or CFG (click the desired link)
    on a couple of these, you might have the last RELEASE but need the latest BETA since older versions were not compatible with newer versions of DM(L).
    • Newcomer

    LunarKnight New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Message Count:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty much done trying, I've tried everything.
    • Newcomer

    Randomarchitect New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Message Count:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I keep getting a message saying "incorrect config version. please update your loader" and the background has dios mios on it. Any ideas?
    • Newcomer

    ryujose New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Message Count:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, you have to install one of these http://www.mediafire.com/?fywqichbzdktn7w using the same method. i.e. extract one of the .dol files into sd\apps\usbloader_gx

    Also, just in case you get rid of the 'incorrect config' message and it still doesn't work, you should know that I used EaseUS to format, I didn't remember seeing an option for 32k cluster size, I had to use another formatting tool that gave me that option, so make sure it absolutely is formatted to fat32 WITH 32k clustersize. Those were the two things that were screwing me. Hopefully they help you.
    Last edited by ryujose, Jan 1, 2013
    • Newcomer

    LunarKnight New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Message Count:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Already had mine set up like this, no luck.
    • Member

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Message Count:
    5,138
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    Now that you're sure you have the a new enough beta version (like the one he linked) in that folder, try running it from the HBC directly and see if that helps. It's always possible you don't have a FORWARDER channel but just have a channel that has the DOL file built in. In that case, updating what's in the fold wouldn't do anything to help unless you run from HBC or change to a forwarder channel.
    • Newcomer

    metallicasf New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Message Count:
    1
    Country:
    Portugal
    I just want to say that this is my first post and that i've been trying to load GC games from USB on Wii since i bought it years ago. At some point it looked like it was not going to happen and i gave up. I don't know if this is something that was discovered in 2012 but man i'm happy. Worked at the first time and only read the first page of the topic. Only tried one game so far though...
    ok sorry about the long text, bottom line is: Thank you very much!
    • Member

    Squirps Official Squirps of GBATemp.netâ„¢

    Member Since:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    174
    Location:
    The corner in that dark alley.
    Country:
    United States
    Any way to run GC games via NTFS filesystem? :/

    Or is it only FAT32 (32 kb clusters)?

Share This Page