How to NOT get annoyed by the system updates again:

Discussion in '3DS - Tutorials' started by HRudy94, Apr 9, 2017.

?

Does it worked for you? Was I understandable?

  1. Yes. Thanks you.

    8 vote(s)
    72.7%
  2. No.

    3 vote(s)
    27.3%
  1. HRudy94
    OP

    Newcomer HRudy94 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    France
    Hello, guys, if you use homebrew launcher or other things, you probably saw this message:

    [​IMG]

    Well, maybe not this one but a similar one :)

    In this post, i will explain you how to remove this messages and access eshop,.. without updating:


    I - Launch system titles / fonctions that requires updating without update

    1. Launch your Homebrew Launcher
    2. Launch "ntr-ctrhttpwn" by Yellows8
    3. When it's finished, press START and return to the home menu
    (if you are still on the homebrew launcher press START + X)
    4. Access the eshop...

    5. Enjoy! :yay3ds:

    NB: If in some cases it doesn't work, try with A9LH enabled.


    II - Remove the message "An update is available" when you power on your 3DS
    1. Go to your internet settings, Connection Settings
    2. Select your connection and click edit
    3. Go to DNS and set the option to "No"
    4. Go to the advanced settings and type in:

    Primary: 168.235.092.108
    Secondary: 081.004.127.020

    (Yes, this is the same DNS for the Wii U:))

    5. Click OK, Save, test it! And reboot your console!

    6. Enjoy! :yay3ds:





    Tell me if it worked,
    HRudy94.


    (Sorry for my english, i'm french)
     
    Last edited by HRudy94, Apr 13, 2017
    cvskid and kbmarinha like this.


  2. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBATemp's Official Waifu™ ʚ♡⃛ɞ(ू•ᴗ•ू❁)

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17,962
    Location:
    Between insane and insecure
    Country:
    Antarctica
    This is a helpful guide, but if someone is on an OFW lower than 11.3, than they really should just install a CFW instead. There's really no reason to stay on an older OFW when the same homebrew that worked on 11.2, now works on 11.3 (minus the kernel exploits.)
     
    Ryccardo likes this.
  3. xXDungeon_CrawlerXx
    This message by xXDungeon_CrawlerXx has been removed from public view by Issac, Apr 9, 2017, Reason: One word post, not helpful.
    Apr 9, 2017
  4. HRudy94
    OP

    Newcomer HRudy94 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    France
    Yes, i personally use Luma... but i speaked about homebrew for people who uses linkers (it works as well...)
     
  5. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBATemp's Official Waifu™ ʚ♡⃛ɞ(ू•ᴗ•ू❁)

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    17,962
    Location:
    Between insane and insecure
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Well I am not saying it's a bad idea. Personally I think it's completely pointless to update anymore because the Big N isn't introducing anything worth updating to. Unless you want a MORE STABLE SYSTEM! Otherwise the updates are just junk.
    Although IIRC, all CFWs actually block update and block the update message. So I guess this is really only useful for homebrew users.
     
    comput3rus3r and Subtle Demise like this.
  6. HRudy94
    OP

    Newcomer HRudy94 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    France
    but in fact luma does still say the message "an update is available" for me... (not now because i used DNS :) )
     
  7. Ryccardo

    Member Ryccardo WiiUaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Imola
    Country:
    Italy
    An autorunning CFW would still be better in my opinion, because:

    - flashcards may be more convenient than installing 3DS games, but how would you get your DSiware/GBA fix? :)
    - DNS only applies to the connection you set up, ie not to Nintendo Zones or Download Play
    - with A9LH, a CFW with kernel write protection there's no point for most in not updating anyway!
     
  8. HRudy94
    OP

    Newcomer HRudy94 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    France
    And a simple question: does anyone knows how to autoboot a cia or 3dsx file with luma + a9lh (for autobooting the ctr-httpwn)
     
  9. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,981
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    Very good post. Should also be in the tutorials section.
     
  10. TheVinAnator

    Member TheVinAnator GBATemp's Greatest Vin

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    3,323
    Location:
    NO COFFEI!
    Country:
    Canada
    Why would you need to do that? With A9LH and luma you can safely update to the latest version.
     
  11. Ryccardo

    Member Ryccardo WiiUaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Imola
    Country:
    Italy
    3dsx - impossible (although you could downgrade and install menuhax if you were really bored, or recompile hblauncher-loader to point directly to a different 3dsx then do as for a cia)

    cia - possible thanks to the "launch kernel with arguments", but no CFW has implemented this yet. If this were implemented, you could map buttons/menus to any installed title you want
     
  12. sonic1000

    Newcomer sonic1000 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    United States
    There's still no way to install CFW from stock on 11.3?
     
  13. xtheman

    Member xtheman Custom Titles are trash.

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    5,828
    Country:
    Antarctica
    No way yet, and likely won't be for a long time.
     
  14. Ev1l0rd

    Member Ev1l0rd ◥▷◁◤ Knight of Void

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Land of Darkness and Bounty
    Country:
    Netherlands
    there is a flag that you can set that makes them autoboot, circumventing the home menu (it doesn't even get loaded). The only problem is getting rid of it. It's used for store demos.

    I'm not sure if that works for CIA files tho. It works at least with gamecards.
     
  15. proflayton123

    Member proflayton123 just another user

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    5,257
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Will test the II part !
     
  16. CeeDee

    Member CeeDee Lunar Magic, more like, Luxer Magic

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Messages:
    3,540
    Location:
    Country:
    Bermuda
    yeah but I saw this message instead, what do I do
     
  17. Ev1l0rd

    Member Ev1l0rd ◥▷◁◤ Knight of Void

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Land of Darkness and Bounty
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Shut it down and wake up to find it automagically installed next morning. Now with additional spyware and a four hour long setup! (tm)
     
  18. Hayleia

    Member Hayleia GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,379
    Country:
    France
    Your link is wrong. Of course it had to happen on the one link I want to click in a month :P
     
  19. tomx86

    Member tomx86 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    415
    Country:
    Poland
    That removes the message "An update is available" to but only on sysNAND (but if you do this on sysNAND first and then make a emuNAND, it will work for emuNAND to):
    1.Hold L+R+UP+A, and turn on the console.
    2.Wait for it to start, and touch CANCEL.
     
  20. Ryccardo

    Member Ryccardo WiiUaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,216
    Location:
    Imola
    Country:
    Italy
    Hayleia likes this.
  21. CaptainHIT

    Newcomer CaptainHIT Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Bursa
    Country:
    Turkey
    Both ways not working on my new 3DS on 11.2 with Luma. When using first way, I get an error. When using second way I can't access eShop. Though the update request will be not shown.

    Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page