How to Dump and Backup eShop Games and DLC

Discussion in '3DS - Tutorials' started by tubebar, Dec 8, 2014.

Dec 8, 2014
  1. tubebar
    OP

    Member tubebar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    United States
    How to Dump and Backup eShop Games

    The main focus for this is eShop games, but this also works for DLC, Updates and Themes.

    I decided to make this guide as there really wasn’t any that was clear cut and n00b friendly. It still lacks the technical comments as to what is going on, but this should get most of you backing up your eshop games, dlc, updates etc.

    There are actually two different ways you can do this, either using local data or re-downloading from CDN. The easy method is to re-download but it will usually not convert demos into .3ds format, only CIA. If you really care about dumping demos and want them in .3ds you need to use the manual method which is a lot of work for a demo dump so leave it in CIA.

    Thanks to ILYS and Anon (you know who you are) for the main guides and tools to do this. I more or less revised this and made some things a little bit easier to do.

    What you need:

    3Ds/3Ds XL 4.1-4.5 FW

    Gateway

    Python 2.7: https://www.python.org/download/releases/2.7/

    eShop Toolkit: http://www.mediafire.com/download/0mf6b74ileobntk/eShop_Toolkit.7z

    slot0x25KeyX.bin: Not included you will have to google it.

    1. Copy Launcher.dat + slot0x25KeyX.bin from eShop Toolkit\To SD onto your 3Ds’ internal (Big) SD card.

    2. Start up your 3DS click system settings, other settings, profile and DS Profile to start the launcher.

    3. On the launcher menu choose “NAND FAT16 partition padgen” option and wait for it to finish and shut down your 3DS.

    4. Back on the PC, plug in your SD card and copy all of the newly created “.xorpad” files over to the directory eShop Toolkit\Tools.

    5. Open emuNANDTool_1.0.1 and extract your emuNAND to the same directory where you have the Xorpad files (eShop Toolkit\Tools).

    6. Then drag your emunand dumped file onto the batch file “dragNandDumpForFat16” and let it finish.

    7. Next run the “decrypt.bat”, as long as you didn’t change any file names it should work. If not you can manually run the cmd: padxorer.exe nameofthenand nameofthexorpad

    8. You can ahead and delete emuNAND.bin & the xorpad files, and then rename nand.fat16.bin.out to nand.fat16.bin.

    9. Open WinImage (eShop Toolkit\Tools\WinImage) and chose File and Open and load up the nand.fat16.bin file.

    10. In Winimage folder dir, look for the folder called “dbs” and open it. Then click on “ticket.db” and drag it to the folder eShop Toolkit\ticket-titlekey_stuff. You can also right click on “ticket.db” and chose extract.

    11. Now run the “TileKeys.bat” in the eShop Toolkit\ticket-titlekey_stuff, and it should create a file called encTitleKeys.bin.

    12. Copy encTitleKeys.bin to your SD card, startup your 3DS and run the launcher and this time chose “Title Key Decryptor” option.

    13. Once again when done shut down you3DS and plug SD card back into the PC. Copy the file “decTitleKeys.bin” to the eShop Toolkit\ticket-titlekey_stuff dir.

    14. Run the “PrintKeys.bat” and you will see a list of all your 3DS titles and keys. In that windows right click and chose “mark”. Then copy out what you need into notepad.

    15. Now go to CDto3DS dir (eShop Toolkit\to3DS\CDNto3DS) and right click on “backup.bat” file and edit it with your keys.

    16. Run the backup.bat and it will automatically download and pack all the titles you placed in there.

    How to know what title/game you are looking for?

    I haven’t found an easy answer per say, but generally knowing your SD card and where most of the data types are kept you should be able to figure some out. If you are a complete n00b like I was, it takes a little learning.
    Here’s what I have been able to gather, in general the title dir contains sub dir for certain content types.

    title\0004000e – contains Updates.
    title\0004008c – contains DLC.
    title\00040000 – contains Games/Apps.
    title\00040002 – contains Demos.
     


  2. cearp

    Member cearp the ticket master

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    7,243
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    title\0004000e – Does contain Updates.
    title\0004008c – Does contains DLC.
    title\00040000 – Does contain eshop apps/games.
    title\00040002 – Does contain demos
    or are there exceptions? 3dbrew can tell you more about it :)

    nice to help people. do the cias work for you in classic mode? (the cias that are the same region at least)

    in a day or two i will release a script to implement a new method that packs eshop content into cia files :)
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  3. tubebar
    OP

    Member tubebar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks cearp.

    OK will edit that correctly since you know more about it then I do :) I wasn't 100% sure.

    So what will be new/updated on the new method about packing CIA? Do we have to repack the old stuff?
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  4. cearp

    Member cearp the ticket master

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    7,243
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    well, it's a different method, it seems better, i will explain it when i release the script.
    do you mind checking if the cias that you install from your system (so, delete from 3ds, then install the cia) - do they work in gw classic mode?
    when i made that bunch of jp updates, they only worked in gw mode, they wouldn't work with a retail cart in classic mode since the 3ds would not load the cia since behind the scenes it wasn't 'good enough' (i don't actually know the technical reason)

    i'm not sure if the way you are doing it (and others) - if they (updates, or cia games) will work in classic mode. - but i don't think they will...
    but yeah you were right to make this guide, although the information is out there, it's tricky to piece it all together. because the people in the know don't need a guide...!
     
  5. tubebar
    OP

    Member tubebar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    United States
    I have never even tested classic mode or know how to use it. I know there is an option in Gateway but never tried it. I don't even know what it is for? But yeah I can test it.

    So do I just change to classic in the gateway firmware? What does classic mode do?

    Yes the info in this guide is public but was hard to find in one place, so hopefully people can get this all here. I skipped the whole manual way of doing it as that's long and it only worked for card1 .3ds for me (not cia) but again that was on a demo.
     
  6. The Real Jdbye

    Member The Real Jdbye Oh boy! I can't wait to bomb some dodongos!

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9,431
    Location:
    Somewhere on the island of Koridai
    Country:
    Norway
    Good to finally have a proper guide on how to use this. I probably wouldn't need it, but I certainly prefer it. Less chance of things going wrong that way :)
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  7. cearp

    Member cearp the ticket master

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    7,243
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    simply hold L when you go to load the gw exploit in settings, and then you can select classic mode :)
    classic mode is for using retail carts and having them region free, the gw card with the roms won't work in classic mode (maybe it's possible for gw to have made 'one mode', that lets you use gw card and retail cards, but anyway)

    yes i agree eshop->cia is a lot easier, i never tried to make it into a .3ds, the methods seemed a bit tricky to be honest. eshop content is basically in cia format anyway so it's the cleanest way to have it. i personally only use eshop content for eshop exclusives, i have no interest in having cias of 3ds retail games.
    anyway, thanks :)
     
  8. ScarletCrystals

    Member ScarletCrystals Useless Bunny of Paradise

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    941
    Location:
    Bamboo Forest, Gensokyo
    Country:
    Canada
    Gateway classic mode is for launching retail carts (which wouldn't boot in emunand).
    Hold R (Or was it L....) when entering DS profile and choose to boot into classic mode.

    I don't think devmenu or installed cias work in classic mode (I'm sure DLC doesn't)
     
  9. tubebar
    OP

    Member tubebar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    United States
    ah ok I see. Well all I have on there is DLC and can't test that as can't play the game to see since it's a rom. I'll have to go hunt down a game in CIA and try it. Will do it now give me a few.
     
  10. tubebar
    OP

    Member tubebar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    United States
    ok tested w outrun5.cia in classic, it says "The software could not be launched. Please download again from Nintendo eShop" so no it doesn't work.
     
  11. tubebar
    OP

    Member tubebar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    United States
    .3ds is only good for carts, eshop shouldn't .3ds at all as it's supposed to be installed. DLC, Themese and updates will only work if they are installed. Only the scene seems to release .3ds for all games, maybe a compatibility problem for non-gateway users as some cards only do .3ds as no internal mod like Sky3DS. That's the only reason I can see all games being released as .3ds.

    For games I have been using .3ds but .cia is probably better as it goes on the menu and space isn't an issue for me as both cards have 32gb.

    One advantage to get CIA working in classic so people can use a retail game and CIA'd DLC.
     
  12. cearp

    Member cearp the ticket master

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    7,243
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    ha outrun5... :D
    you shouldn't have the correct key for that because it's not actually yours - use something you actually purchased and see if it works. just because you get a key does not mean it's correct - i think.

    outrun is a jp exclusive game, so i think even if it was packed correctly, in that it might run in classic mode, it wouldn't because you don't have a jp 3ds (just assuming that, maybe you do)
     
  13. tubebar
    OP

    Member tubebar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    United States
    I thought you wanted me to test with a CIA I didn't own. Yea I can run eshop games I own in classic but I never packed them in CIA because I own them. But they work.
     
  14. The Real Jdbye

    Member The Real Jdbye Oh boy! I can't wait to bomb some dodongos!

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9,431
    Location:
    Somewhere on the island of Koridai
    Country:
    Norway
    Is this error normal? Everything appears to be working fine apart from that but the dumping process isn't finished yet (I'm dumping everything on my 3DS) so I haven't tested if any of the files work.
    Edit: It worked fine so I guess this error is normal. Probably because makerom is trying to read the encrypted contents.
     
  15. tubebar
    OP

    Member tubebar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    United States
    Yea that is normal, really not sure why you get that error on some files but they do all work. I probably should have stated that in the instructions but didn't think about it.

    If you are doing your whole 3DS remember that most files will be CIA only. It seems games will be CIA and 3DS but guess that makes sense since the other stuff has to be installed anyway with the exception of demos.
     
  16. tubebar
    OP

    Member tubebar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    United States
    I should add that still no way to play or dump DSiWare w/ GW hack. Also supposedly GBA won't work either but I never tried it.
     
  17. brushguy

    Newcomer brushguy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Germany
    Seems to work nicely, had some problems trying to backup SMT4 Euro (1.8+ Gb) -> aescbc crashed.
    So i compiled a 64bit version and it worked :)

    Before i did a test on Gunman Clive (download so slooow) and made md5 / sha1 checksums but
    they were different. Then i put back the included aescbc, ran the script two times again ... checksums differ every time.

    Your script / one of the tools produces different output files when run again,
    however this does not happen with FunkyCIA.

    Edit: Ok, I learned that makerom is the culprit here (different checksums).
     

    Attached Files:

    cearp and octopus like this.
  18. cearp

    Member cearp the ticket master

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    7,243
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    FunkyCIA does dsiware!
     
    chrisluna413 likes this.
  19. JohnathanMonkey

    Member JohnathanMonkey GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    569
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys. I downloaded Citizens of Earth (U) and I followed the following steps from ehop toolkit:

    1. Copy Launcher.dat + slot0x25KeyX.bin from eShop Toolkit\To SD onto your 3Ds’ internal (Big) SD card.

    2. Start up your 3DS click system settings, other settings, profile and DS Profile to start the launcher.

    3. On the launcher menu choose “NAND FAT16 partition padgen” option and wait for it to finish and shut down your 3DS.

    4. Back on the PC, plug in your SD card and copy all of the newly created “.xorpad” files over to the directory eShop Toolkit\Tools.

    5. Open emuNANDTool_1.0.1 and extract your emuNAND to the same directory where you have the Xorpad files (eShop Toolkit\Tools).

    6. Then drag your emunand dumped file onto the batch file “dragNandDumpForFat16” and let it finish.

    7. Next run the “decrypt.bat”, as long as you didn’t change any file names it should work. If not you can manually run the cmd: padxorer.exe nameofthenand nameofthexorpad

    8. You can ahead and delete emuNAND.bin & the xorpad files, and then rename nand.fat16.bin.out to nand.fat16.bin.

    9. Open WinImage (eShop Toolkit\Tools\WinImage) and chose File and Open and load up the nand.fat16.bin file.

    10. In Winimage folder dir, look for the folder called “dbs” and open it. Then click on “ticket.db” and drag it to the folder eShop Toolkit\ticket-titlekey_stuff. You can also right click on “ticket.db” and chose extract.

    11. Now run the “TileKeys.bat” in the eShop Toolkit\ticket-titlekey_stuff, and it should create a file called encTitleKeys.bin.

    12. Copy encTitleKeys.bin to your SD card, startup your 3DS and run the launcher and this time chose “Title Key Decryptor” option.

    13. Once again when done shut down you3DS and plug SD card back into the PC. Copy the file “decTitleKeys.bin” to the eShop Toolkit\ticket-titlekey_stuff dir.

    14. Run the “PrintKeys.bat” and you will see a list of all your 3DS titles and keys. In that windows right click and chose “mark”. Then copy out what you need into notepad.

    15. Now go to CDto3DS dir (eShop Toolkit\to3DS\CDNto3DS) and right click on “backup.bat” file and edit it with your keys.

    16. Run the backup.bat and it will automatically download and pack all the titles you placed in there.


    I get to step 16 and it downloads but once the download is finished, I get this error:

    Content count: 2

    Content ID: 00000000
    Content Index: 0000
    Downloaded 1157820416 of 1157820416 bytes (100.00%)
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "C:\Users\Pierce\Desktop\3ds stuff\eShop Toolkit\to3DS\CDNto3DS\CDNto3DS.
    py", line 161, in <module>
    call(["aescbc", outfname, outfname + '.dec', titlekey, cIDX + '0000000000000
    000000000000000'])
    File "C:\Python27\lib\subprocess.py", line 486, in call
    return Popen(*popenargs, **kwargs).wait()
    File "C:\Python27\lib\subprocess.py", line 672, in __init__
    errread, errwrite)
    File "C:\Python27\lib\subprocess.py", line 882, in _execute_child
    startupinfo)
    WindowsError: [Error 740] The requested operation requires elevation


    Any ideas on what is going on?
     
  20. cearp

    Member cearp the ticket master

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    7,243
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    just use FunkyCIA :( it would have been so much easier and faster than all of that...
    you already have your ticket.db (although you got it in the difficult slow manual way), so you just need to run the tool and that is it :)

    but to answer your question, from what you pasted... look at the last line, it seems for some reason it wants more rights, as in it wants you to run as admin (not sure what wants that, or why... but that is what it looks like to me)
     

Share This Page