How to Connect to Wifi (WEP, WPA)

Discussion in '3DS - Tutorials & FAQs' started by tigris, Jun 9, 2011.

Jun 9, 2011

How to Connect to Wifi (WEP, WPA) by tigris at 9:40 PM (13,696 Views / 1 Likes) 16 replies

  1. tigris

    Member tigris Sentient Existential Anthropomorphic Sweet Potato

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,689
    Location:
    The Tibetan Himalayas
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How to Connect to Wifi (WEP, WPA) for first-time users of Nintendo 3DS technology​


    [*]Go to System HOME menu

    [​IMG]

    This is the menu that is first shown when you boot up your Nintendo 3DS Console by pressing the power button located on the bottom right of the console, printed with a circle and a line going through it ([​IMG])[*]Tap on "System Settings, Nintendo"
    [​IMG]

    Icon with a spanner. Grey in colour.[*]Tap on "Internet Settings"
    [​IMG]
    Top Left Icon, with a blue spanner and globe superimposed on each other. Spanner in bottom of globe.[*]Tap on "Connection Settings"

    Big Blue Button at the top of the menu[*]Tap on "New Connection"
    [​IMG]
    Grey box with "New Connection" on the middle of it[*]Tap on "Manual Setup"
    [​IMG]
    Left option[*]Tap on "Search for Access Point"[*]Select your Wifi Access Point

    If mine was "Linksys" with WPA Connection, I will tap on "Linksys" with the Golden Lock beside it,[​IMG] and type in my WPA Key, for instance. If "Linksys" was unsecured, the Golden Lock would be unlocked. [​IMG]
    [*]Type in your WPA or WEP key, if you are prompted for one.

    You can find yours using "WirelessKeyFinder" for Windows if you have forgotten and use this connection on a regular basis for your computer[*]Wait for the test to pass[*]If Test does not pass, try these steps again, or select the "Tutorial" Button instead of "Manual Setup" at Stage 6 and follow instructions

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  2. adriande2

    Member adriande2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    199
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, so the 3DS supports WPA, that's good for me.
     
  3. ViviOrnitier

    Newcomer ViviOrnitier Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Amersfoort, The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yeah, I'm so happy they fixed that, I was never able to connect to the internet on my DS Lite cause it doens't support WAP.
     
  4. Penguin

    Newcomer Penguin Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Antarctica
    Country:
    Australia
    I've researched this a bit, and I've seen that I'm not the only one with the issue of trying to setup the connection for regular DS games. I've triple-checked my settings, as I have a WEP key and hidden SSID; 3DS internet works fine, but no NDS - just an error code of '51300' which the Nintendo Support describe as 'incorrect settings'. Is this a confirmed issue that is soon to be fixed? I still have a regular DS which works with Wi-Fi smoothly, but being able to use the 3DS alone would be awesome.

    Great guide there, this will be sure to provide assistance to those in need :)
     
  5. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    how did you take those pics?
     
  6. Giga_Gaia

    Member Giga_Gaia Shinigami

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,262
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    The DSi and 3DS support it. However, the DS and DS Lite don't. So if you're using a DS flashcart on 3DS and DSi, since the DS didn't support it, then because it's a DS flashcart, you're not gonna be able to use the WPA encryption in your DS roms on 3DS/DSi. Unless of course, your flashcart is a flashcart that can run on DSi mode, but lets face it, the only one is the cyclo ievo and lets face it, it's crap in DSi mode.
     
  7. Pingouin7

    Member Pingouin7 Ammako

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4,460
    Location:
    Canada, Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    I like how the 3DS allows me to go on Wi-Fi with Pokémon White, but too bad the GTS in White is crap.
    The GTS was way better in Diamond and Pearl. This feeling was enhanced by the fact I couldn't use any kind of hack to get event Pokémon back in the days, so I used to stay in the GTS for ages looking for event Pokémon.
    Once got a Lv. 50 Saikyou Milotic. Best. Day. Ever.
    I spent all night levelling it up and got it to Lv. 100.
    Too bad Black and White don't let me have the same feel as Diamond/Pearl do.
     
  8. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    13,405
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    getting a 3ds soon (limited edition zelda console) is there a way to download dsiware and vc games with a wired connection?
     
  9. Penguin

    Newcomer Penguin Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Antarctica
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm sure that as long as you are connected to the internet, and that you have the right firmware, the Nintendo eShop is available for DSiWare, 3DSWare and Virtual Console games. Unfortunately, the 3DS doesn't have an ethernet port, and so it only accepts a wireless connection...
    Most require some form of payment, but at the moment, you could get the Zelda: Four Swords Adventures for free; it won't be around for long though! Also, Pokedex 3D is pretty awesome if you are into Pokemon Black/White, which is a free download. Have fun with your 3DS - the Zelda edition looks really nice :)
     
  10. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    My 3DS can't connect properly to my WEP network, but my DS could.
    Guide for that anywhere?
    (I mean in DS mode. 3DS mode works fine. >_>)
     
  11. TheDreamLord

    Member TheDreamLord GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    916
    Location:
    Ireland
    Country:
    Ireland
    Not to mention Wi-Fi is nonexistant on the ievo.
     
  12. kodelz

    Newcomer kodelz Newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    is it possible that the 3ds connect to an adhoc wifi connection ?
    does anyone here have tried this ?
     
  13. tigris

    Member tigris Sentient Existential Anthropomorphic Sweet Potato

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,689
    Location:
    The Tibetan Himalayas
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    nope.
     
  14. stephysanrio

    Member stephysanrio GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    So any Ds game on a flashcart won't be able to connect to use online features as it is not supported on a 3ds? Someone was asking me about this today, and I'm trying to help.

    I mean I have played pokemon black / white for a few before and I was able to connect buy maybe this is a more recent game that's why.
    Whoever asked me was using pokemon heart gold
     
  15. DiabloStorm

    Member DiabloStorm Five Gold Star Medalist

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Location:
    Charicific Valley
    Country:
    United States
    inb4 necrobump comments

    My DSTWO runs online games fine on my 3DS.
     
  16. stephysanrio

    Member stephysanrio GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    Inb4...? Huh you lost me there T_T
    Well dstwo is awesome ;b
    This person was using an r4i gold I will test it myself and see but I remember being able to on those other games with an r4 dual core
     
  17. DiabloStorm

    Member DiabloStorm Five Gold Star Medalist

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Location:
    Charicific Valley
    Country:
    United States
    In before. As in, I'm predicting something is about to happen. (In this case, someone else pointing out that the last poster in here was from over a year ago.)

    Even Japanese DS games that have the ROM edited (translated) connect fine through my 3DS via wifi.
     
    stephysanrio likes this.

Share This Page