How to Change vWii System settings in WiiMode (via SettingsEditorGUI v1.6)

Discussion in 'Wii U - Tutorials & FAQs' started by driverdis, Dec 25, 2012.

?

What setting change(s) worked for you?

WiiConnect24 w/ or w/o Standby Enabled 3 vote(s) 37.5%
Setting Sound to "Surround" and getting proper Pro Logic II from games. 3 vote(s) 37.5%
Changing Aspect Ratio (from 4:3 to 16:9 or the reverse) 5 vote(s) 62.5%
Changing Video Mode (from 480p to 480i or the reverse) 3 vote(s) 37.5%
IR Sensitivity Level 2 vote(s) 25.0%
Sensor Bar Position 2 vote(s) 25.0%
Controller Rumble 1 vote(s) 12.5%
Burnin Reduction 0 vote(s) 0.0%
Setting Sound to "Surround" and Pro Logic II Not working still (not working response) 0 vote(s) 0.0%
Setting Sound to "mono" 0 vote(s) 0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
Dec 25, 2012
    • Member

    driverdis Searching for Pandora

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Message Count:
    464
    Country:
    United States
    EDIT: guide uses 1.8b now instead of 1.6, upgrade to 1.8b. it works when launched directly from the HBC. It still requires IOS236 for now until its updated with the AHBPROT patches.

    I decided to take the plunge and see what if I edit and save the changes to the system settings from inside SettingsEditorGUI,risking a brick if it messed them up.
    And....IT WORKED.:yaywii:

    NOTE: you will need IOS236 since it has NAND access enabled.

    NOTE3: these settings revert back each time you enter WiiUMode. you will need to set them again each time you boot WiiMode. its better then not being able to change them at all tho.

    THE STEPS
    -----------------------------------------------------
    1. Download SettingsEditorGUI (i used 1.8b).
    2. Copy the "apps" and "ploader" folders to the root of your SD card. they are in the "Settings Editor GUI folder in the zip.

    3. launch Settings Editor GUI from the Homebrew Channel.

    4. Now that your in SettingsEditorGUI, take note of the Video Mode option, its set to "minimal by default(for me at least) and will change to 480i (if your using composite ) or 480p (if your using component set at 480p or higher) once you save your settings. do not worry, this is normal and does not mess up WiiMode at all.

    5. change the settings you want to change then "save changes and Exit"

    NOTE: i have not tested manually changing the Video Mode ,burnin, rumble, or IR sensitivity.
    there should be no risk of brick by trying as they are reset by booting into WiiUMode and back to WiiMode.

    Stuff I have changed and can confirm they work.
    ---------------------------------------------------
    Video Aspect : it does infact work and you can set it to 4:3 even when the Wii U is set to 720p/1080i/1080p video mode.which means the reverse is true, you can set to 16:9 when Wii U is set to 4:3.

    RESULT: once i saved and exited, the homebrew channel.System Menu,games, and apps all were running properly in 4:3. ( I had my Wii U set to 720p so 4:3 is normally impossible to set)
    --------------------------------------------------
    [Getting WiiConnect24 apps working, including standby on only apps] at least the news app if you install it via DOP-MII

    NOTE: turning Standby Mode on makes the News App work. Weather threw a error code and failed to retrieve the weather. not sure if its related to my flaky WiFi connection, try it if you want.
    the Wii U is unaffected by it and Will Still shutdown properly when turned off via power button or WiiMote when standby mode is on, same goes with returning to the Wii U menu. this is because it has no standby mode to enter.

    Enabling WC24 Standby Mode:
    Change "Shutdown Mode" from "Full" to "Idle"

    Enabling WiiConnect24
    Change "WiiConnect24" from "Disabled" to "Enabled"

    thats it, the News Channel,and other WiiConnect24 Enabled only channels should work now, including ones that require Standby Mode on.
    ---------------------------------------------------
    "Exit to Internet Settings" causes Wii to go back to System Menu and ask if you want to boot into Wii U mode to change the Settings

    Changing the Sound Options work, I was able to set it to "Surround" from "Stereo" (mono is a option also)
    I have not hooked it up to a Pro Logic Receiver yet to see if Wii Games output Pro Logic II like they do on a normal Wii set to Surround.
    Last edited by driverdis, Dec 25, 2012
    MassiveRican and ozl like this.


    • Member

    driverdis Searching for Pandora

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Message Count:
    464
    Country:
    United States
    I (and others most likely) would appreciate it if someone would compile SettingsEditorGUI(1.6) with the latest AHBPROT vWii Patches. I would try but It would be safer for someone who has previously compiled apps with the AHBPROT patches to do so.
    This would eliminate needing to run it using IOS236 or 249/250/251.

    I have not tried version 1.7 or 1.8 at all (1.8 adds neek checks and stuff so it may not allow changing some options as it could misdetect the vWii and disable some options)

    EDIT: it seems JoostinOnline may be the only one to do this as i do not think the source was released for it
    Last edited by driverdis, Dec 25, 2012
    • Member

    driverdis Searching for Pandora

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Message Count:
    464
    Country:
    United States
    115 views (so far) and not one comment on if you tried it, or even voting on the poll if anything.
    I thought people would be jumping for joy having the ability to change aspect ratio, sound mode, and other settings that you cannot change via the vWii System Menu from its lack of a settings menu.
    Last edited by driverdis, Dec 25, 2012
    • Member

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Message Count:
    8,824
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Last edited by JoostinOnline, Dec 25, 2012
    • Member

    driverdis Searching for Pandora

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Message Count:
    464
    Country:
    United States
    I understand not wanting anyone to host older versions to prevent bug complaints from older versions that you fixed. but its nice to have the option to download a older version in the first place.

    I will update my thread once you post a "vWii" compatible one later on.

    when it comes to trying stuff on the vWii with no way to restore nand without keys+hardware flasher+a dump, i tend to be more towards the "if its not broke, don't update it" kind of thinking, which is why i have not tried 1.8 once i found out 1.6 works fine on the vWii.
    Last edited by driverdis, Dec 25, 2012
    • Member

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Message Count:
    8,824
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Try this out and tell me if it works:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?brbc82fojkebbea

    I haven't added the patches (haven't had time), but it should load 236 automatically, as long as you have the "--vWii" argument in the meta.xml file.

    Besides that, these are the changes that I have made since v1.6:
    WARNING! Spoilers inside!

    That's 25 reasons to update.

    Merry Christmas! :D

    Edit: And in response to your last post, you should use the latest stable version when trying out new stuff. I don't see why you wouldn't.
    Last edited by JoostinOnline, Dec 25, 2012
    • Member

    driverdis Searching for Pandora

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Message Count:
    464
    Country:
    United States
    The reason I used 1.6 is that i downloaded 1.5 a long time ago and i noticed it had a update to 1.6 on Homebrew Browser. so when I updated it to 1.6, i assumed that was the latest version. I did not know 1.8 existed until after i created the thread and wrote the instructions. If i had looked first to see if 1.6 was the latest, i would if found that 1.8 was the latest and used that instead.

    now for the good news,
    it works, 1.8b loads up,changes settings, and saves them properly when loaded directly from HBC.
    I enabled WiiConnect24 and Standby Mode,set sound to Surround, and set aspect to 4:3 all at once then saved and exited.

    the settings were applied correctly as the Wii was stretched from being set to 4:3, WC24 and standby(the Wii U console itself ignores the actual standby power mode as it has none) works as the News channel loaded the latest news.

    I will test the other options later but i see no reason for them not to work also.

    thanks for the update. all that would be left would be the patches as a decent amount of people are on the fence when it comes to installing IOS236. having the patches would eliminate needing IOS236 to run it.
    but of course, go at your own pace. we will wait patiently for when you release a newer one with the patches added.
    Last edited by driverdis, Dec 25, 2012
    JoostinOnline likes this.
    • Member

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Message Count:
    8,824
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Once I learn a little bit more about the IOS patches (particularly if it will cause issues should they be applied to a Wii IOS), I'll add them and remove the need for a cIOS.

    Thanks for verifying that it works. :)
    • Member

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Message Count:
    8,824
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I've invited you to the beta testing conversation, although there is no obligation for you to continue testing if you don't want to. I'll also add you to the credits in the next release. :)
    driverdis likes this.
    • Newcomer

    MarioBr1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Message Count:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    oh wow so WiiConnect24 can be easily enabled and Nintendo just chose not enable it just because?! -_-

    What about the Photo Channel? Can that be reinstalled?

    I dont plan on using any kind of Homebrew on my Wii U til the warranty expires and even then all I want to do is use it to regain Wii functionality if Nintendo refuses to give it to me.

    Would be great if someone could get the Message Board working, along with a program that copies all your messages, pics, "Todays Accomplishments", address book, & the Wii friend code to the vWii.

    Also, did enabling WiiConnect24 add the Mii Parade back onto the Mii Channel?

    Edit:
    Nintendo was also stupid enough that the system transfer moves over the Wii Speak Channel to the Wii U, which in turn makes it worthless because it requires WiiConnect24.

    Something that might be worth checking is going into the Wii Speak Channel with WC24 enabled on a Wii U and trying to check your system friend code and address book from there. Maybe that would trigger it on the message board?

    Everybody Votes, Check Mii Out, Nintendo Channel, and the Internet Channel would be nice to try and get working on the Wii U as well.
    Last edited by MarioBr1, Dec 31, 2012
    • Member

    bezem New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Message Count:
    207
    Country:
    United States
    I just wanted to chime in on this thread because it's been pushed to the second page and it's exactly what I've been looking for! Since getting WiiConnect24 enabled was something I had been scouring this forum for, and it somehow got pushed to page two, I wanted to give it the bump it rightfully deserves! I'm a nerd who enjoyed the News Channel as a venue for getting the news perhaps a bit too much, so I was really hoping someone more capable than I would find a way to get the channel working. First and foremost I wanted to thank Driverdis and Joostinonline for having the courage to mess with Wii Settings Editor in vWii mode as I certainly did not :) With this fix the News Channel works perfectly but I can confirm the Forecast Channel does not (likely received same error as Driverdis - FORE000006 or something similar) and the Nintendo Channel does not work either (gives me an error code that, when entered on support.nintendo.com, points to a Nintendo Channel outage). I confirmed on an actual Wii both channels still work, so maybe it knows a Wii U is trying to access them? Also, I changed the video settings (480p to 480i, 16x9 to 4x3 since I'm still on an old TV). It made things a bit blurry (like connecting with RCA cables) but it worked. Just wanted to bump the thread and add my feedback!
    kineticUk and JoostinOnline like this.
    • Member

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Message Count:
    8,824
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    All the thanks for that should go to Driverdis. He has been kind enough to do some testing for me on the vWii, as I haven't hacked my Wii U yet. Pretty soon I'll release a version that doesn't require a cIOS and that has "Exit to Internet Settings" and "Video Mode" disabled in vWii mode, as they won't work. It will be compatible on both the real Wii and vWii.
    bezem likes this.
    • Member

    bezem New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Message Count:
    207
    Country:
    United States
    I am in full agreement. I keep following this thread to check on the updates and it appears I'm the only one excited by this. Shame really, as I would love to have a fully functioning Wii (sans GC support) in my vWii. Thanks to your work with Settings Editor I'm that much closer. Is it possible we can get a vWii compatible forwarder for 1.8b? It's the only Homebrew app right now I would really want a forwarder for but my skills on the coding end of things are lacking.
    • Member

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Message Count:
    8,824
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Sure, give me some time.

    Sorry I haven't released v1.9 yet. I've been distracted with other projects.
    bezem likes this.
    • Member

    bezem New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Message Count:
    207
    Country:
    United States
    No worries, I just wanted to bump the thread again as well as continue to give my positive feedback. I really am surprised no one else has jumped in to this thread. I guess I'm the only one who cares about getting their Wiimode as close to the original Wii as possible :)
    JoostinOnline likes this.
    • Member

    kineticUk New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Message Count:
    444
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No defo not the only one believe, this sounds brilliant and will be very useful if not essential.

    Thank you.
    Last edited by kineticUk, Jan 9, 2013
    JoostinOnline and bezem like this.
    • Newcomer

    Plunt New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Message Count:
    99
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I agree with the usefulness of this app. I wish there was a way to have it automatically launch on vWii startup, that being said a forwarder would be the next best thing.
    Keep up the great work, looking forward to the next update.
    bezem and JoostinOnline like this.
    • Member

    asper New Member

    Member Since:
    May 14, 2010
    Message Count:
    180
    Country:
    United States
    [IMG]
    New Settings Editor GUI Channel Forwarder for vWii !

    Works with the following paths:

    SD :\apps\settingseditorgui\boot.dol
    SD :\apps\SettingsEditorGui\boot.dol
    SD :\apps\SettingsEditorGUI\boot.dol
    SD :\apps\Settings Editor GUI\boot.dol
    USB :\apps\settingseditorgui\boot.dol
    USB :\apps\SettingsEditorGui\boot.dol
    USB :\apps\SettingsEditorGUI\boot.dol
    USB :\apps\Settings Editor GUI\boot.dol

    Please test, if it works I will add it to the Channel Forwarders thread !
    Last edited by asper, Jan 14, 2013
    JoostinOnline likes this.
    • Member

    JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Message Count:
    8,824
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    • Member

    asper New Member

    Member Since:
    May 14, 2010
    Message Count:
    180
    Country:
    United States
    I used fix94 one, have I to rebuild it with yours?

Share This Page