Hacking How to avoid bricking a PSP Go?

UtadaRumiko

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Yes, I'm a newb at this whole PSP business so I'll be asking plenty of questions. Anyway, I'm curious, because I'm really nervous about this whole "bricking" thing (I never had to deal with it when using my DS so this is new). It looks like bricking a psp could screw it up pretty badly. So I'm wondering what exactly can someone do that would result in the bricking of their PSP Go? (or psp in general. I have a Go) Simply downloading CFW and a bunch of games, an emulator or two, as well as some PSX games wouldn't result in it right? (Because that's basically all i'll be doing to it.)

s4mid4re

Trophies
Website
v4.gbatemp.net
XP
Country
United States
Nope, those most likely won't cause a brick. Bricks are usually caused when faulty files are overwritten/deleted in the psp's flash. From my knowledge, current LCFWs out there (i.e. PRO) barely overwrite existing files, but instead, usually adds files. Same goes with the permanent patch, which barely has any chance of bricking because it has a test run that will let you know if your psp is capable of installing perma patch (after the test run gives you positive results, you can run the actual installation).

Although I've heard somewhere in the forums that psp Go's tend to have some lag/slowdown during cold booting (boot up your psp from a shut down state; not to be confused with standby/sleep mode) while using perma patch. Permanent patch isn't a necessity, though, so you can opt to boot up fast recovery (a homebrew that is run from your memory stick to boot into 'hacked' mode, which only really makes around 5 seconds' difference) every time you cold boot your psp.

xist

ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ
Trophies
XP
Country