How do I boot my Lenovo IdeaBook U310 on a flashdrive w/ Win10?

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by Polarise, Jan 7, 2017.

  1. Polarise
    OP

    Member Polarise GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    736
    Country:
    United States
    Hello, so my dad gave me his computer but I want to reset it and make it mine.

    The way I want to do it is by installing Windows 10 on my flashdrive and have the computer boot it. Is there a way for my laptop to do so?
     


  2. swabbo

    Member swabbo Wot u doin readin dis m8?

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    East Yorkshire/ A Bin
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    when you boot down the boot order button and set it to boot the usb before the hdd, and if you have a windows 10 installation disc, copy everything on it to the blank usb
     
  3. Polarise
    OP

    Member Polarise GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    736
    Country:
    United States
    how do I do that? I already have all the files needed for win10 on the usb.
     
  4. swabbo

    Member swabbo Wot u doin readin dis m8?

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    East Yorkshire/ A Bin
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    when your computer is starting up, there should be a button you can press to boot into a boot menu, should be either F2, f12 or DEL

    It should tell you what button to press
     
    Last edited by swabbo, Jan 7, 2017
  5. Polarise
    OP

    Member Polarise GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    736
    Country:
    United States
    How would I boot into the bios with the lenovo?
     
  6. swabbo

    Member swabbo Wot u doin readin dis m8?

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    East Yorkshire/ A Bin
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  7. Polarise
    OP

    Member Polarise GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    736
    Country:
    United States
    If I press the novo button, when I enter boot menu, it just bypasses it and boots to win10, which is corrupted.
     
  8. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,902
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    On modern lenovo laptops they have a dedicated BIOS/recovery setup button. You'll need a pen or pencil tip to press it when the machine is powered down. It will then boot to a menu allowing you to access the BIOS and change the boot order whilst you install Windows 10. However the boot order may already be set to USB first, have you tried booting from the USB key yet?
     
    swabbo likes this.
  9. Polarise
    OP

    Member Polarise GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    736
    Country:
    United States
    I haven't tried booting from the USB key yet. I could boot into "Automatic Repair" options but the computer does not seem to show the usb when pressing use a usb device...
     
  10. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,902
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  11. Polarise
    OP

    Member Polarise GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    736
    Country:
    United States
    yes i have.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Here are some more details, the flash drive is 8gb, with win10 on it it has 4.05gb.
     
  12. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,902
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Tried different USB ports? Check to see in the BIOS if USB is excluded from the bootable/startup devices, though that shouldn't normally effect the dedicated boot menu...
     
  13. Polarise
    OP

    Member Polarise GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    736
    Country:
    United States
    Could I download a win10 iso instead, then use system recovery image? Because when I open that, it could see the flashdrive.
     
  14. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,902
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you don't mind having Lenovo's preinstalled software then just use the standard partition recovery utility (providing your father didn't wipe or replace the hard drive). You won't even need the USB key.

    I'd normally opt for a clean install but the above is probably the easier option and shouldn't matter to most people.
     
  15. Polarise
    OP

    Member Polarise GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    736
    Country:
    United States
    how do I enter standard partition recovery?
     
  16. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,902
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  17. Futurdreamz

    Member Futurdreamz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,172
    Country:
    Canada
    May I ask why you want to make the USB drive your boot drive? Or am I misunderstanding and you just want to make a USB installer drive?
     
  18. Polarise
    OP

    Member Polarise GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    736
    Country:
    United States
    What if... I make a system backup image of my current computer (win10), and restore it on the new computer!
    I want to fresh install win10 is why.
     
  19. Futurdreamz

    Member Futurdreamz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,172
    Country:
    Canada
    Ah, I misunderstood.

    I just use Rufus to properly format the drive from the ISO, then use the advanced startup option in settings->Update&Security->Recovery to boot the USB drive.
     
  20. Polarise
    OP

    Member Polarise GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    736
    Country:
    United States
    This might be a bit off topic but I didn't want to make another post for this,

    When I insert my microSD into an adapter, it says that it is not writable, but when I put it into a different adapter, it shows as writable. Both adapters have the switch set to writable. Is there a fix? I think this happens when you accidentally take out the SD card without safely ejecting it.
     

Share This Page