How can you tell if you have a legit hdd?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by jDSX, Mar 23, 2016.

Mar 23, 2016
  1. jDSX
    OP

    Member jDSX -

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Location:
    Inside of cherry pie
    Country:
    United States
    I'd like to know how to spy a fake slim hdd, I might of bought one with my used slim not sure, but I would like to see pictures of the fakes and the real ones in comparison.
     
  2. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,224
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Other then the holographic sticker (if they include it on the Slim HDD) and the MS stickers on it, there is no visual way of telling.

    You could pop in a original Xbox game and see if it boots.
    if it doesn't, your HDD doesn't have the Xbox emulator stored so it's safe to say your HDD is a third party one.

    Fake HDD's don't exist.
    Nor do counterfeit HDDs... (correct me if I'm wrong pls)
    Their not like flash media luckily.
     
  3. jDSX
    OP

    Member jDSX -

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Location:
    Inside of cherry pie
    Country:
    United States
    My copy of halo 2 plays (more like boots up) then when I try to play a map, is says "the disk is dirty or scratched sorry about that) I have no other copy to test which is why I am worried. I didn't mean to say fake HDD, meant to say not official third party one.
     
  4. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,224
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    HDDs are only made by MS which is the first party ;p.
    Any other harddrive is made by a third party.
    Much like those rubbish Madcatz controllers and what not.

    Your HDD is a first party one or a 3rd party one with the emulator injected.
    It doesn't matter if it's first or third party, they perform exactly the same (if they both have the same speed that is)
     
    jDSX likes this.
  5. jDSX
    OP

    Member jDSX -

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Location:
    Inside of cherry pie
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks Dinoh!
    when it's fully formatted (250gb that is) it shows 238gb does that sound right?
     
  6. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,224
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yep.
    You always lose some data for the HDDX partition (Xbox emulator) and the SysEXT partition (dash updates ect)
    The machine sees 1 kb as 1024 bytes instead of 1000 bytes.
    The rest is common sense ofcourse ;p

    Edit: no prob at all~
     
    Last edited by DinohScene, Mar 23, 2016
  7. JeBobs

    Newcomer JeBobs Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Also, in addition to the hardware stuff, if you go to the settings tab on your dashboard, go to console, and memory devices (or storage devices), at the bottom left or right of the hard drive selection should have the Microsoft logo. If it doesn't, then most likely it's not offical.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,224
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Wrong.
    I've got a HDDHackr hacked HDD and it displays the Microsoft logo.

    The console checks for the security sector.
    If it doesn't find it, it will refuse to use it.
     
  9. JeBobs

    Newcomer JeBobs Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, whenever stick a non-xbox hard drive in my 360 through the SATA port, it lets me use it and it just doesn't show the MS logo.
     
  10. squee666

    Member squee666 Advanced Tech Pleb

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,570
    Location:
    Belfast
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    except the hard drives in original xbox360s are made by Western Digital not microsoft

    thats why people could get larger WD hard drives and clone over from original HD to a larger one
     
  11. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,224
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Most of the HDDs are made by WD.
    MS just resells them.
    It's all about the security sector on the drive.

    External HDD manufacturers usually put their name on the case but when you open it up, it'll likely show it's from Seagate or WD or Toshiba.
     

Share This Page