Here is how to access PSVita's Recovery Menu

Discussion in 'PS Vita - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by masterchan777, Dec 28, 2011.

Dec 28, 2011
    • Member

    masterchan777 New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Message Count:
    294
    Location:
    World Wide Web
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It looks like Sony has enabled easy access to PSVita's Recovery Menu to perform some "service" tasks such as fixing a corrupted file system, upgrading the firmware, formatting memory sticks and more.

    Here is how to access the Recovery Menu :

    1- Completely Switch off the PSVita (Press Power Button for 10 seconds, not a standby).
    2- Press and hold "R" + Power + PS (PlayStation Button).

    Wait a few moments and you'll be greeted with the Recovery Menu, which I need to remind you to proceed with caution through its different functions.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R532NpDMQhw


    Here is an image of the Recovery Menu in English (credit to junn)

    [IMG]
    • Reporter

    Foxi4 Gravity is for weaklings.

    Member Since:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    17,742
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    This is... pretty damn sweet.

    Looks like an unbrickable (or at least harder to brick) system to me.
    • Member

    DinohScene Femboy

    Member Since:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Message Count:
    8,064
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Atlantic Ocean
    Hold R + Power.

    Thats the same as the pandora hack on the Phat PSP's.

    Pretty sweet tho.
    Hopefully this will be left in.
    • Member

    s4mid4re  

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Message Count:
    1,669
    Country:
    United States
    Also the PS (Home) button for the vita's recovery menu.

    Anybody know what "recreate the database" (second option) is for?
    • Reporter

    Foxi4 Gravity is for weaklings.

    Member Since:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    17,742
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    As far as I remember, the button combination could be changed on the PSP to your liking.
    • Member

    DinohScene Femboy

    Member Since:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Message Count:
    8,064
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Atlantic Ocean
    Iirc. you could change it after you have booted into the recovery menu of M33.
    My mind is a bit blank when it comes to the early days of PSP hacking ;p
    • Member

    zachtheninja Honorary Ninja

    Member Since:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Message Count:
    191
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    !!!
    Maybe this could be used for ps-vita soft-modding?...
    • Reporter

    Foxi4 Gravity is for weaklings.

    Member Since:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    17,742
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Yeah, Sony would definatelly give hackers a flasher to make their lives easier. Naaah...
    1 people like this.
    • Member

    DinohScene Femboy

    Member Since:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Message Count:
    8,064
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Atlantic Ocean
    LOL
    Sony.......
    • Banned

    prowler Banned!

    Member Since:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Message Count:
    9,344
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    erm, PS3 also has a 'recovery menu' like this, nothing to get excited about.

    [hr]Posts merged

    It does what it says, rebuilds the database. So if something goes wrong, then it... rebuilds it.
    • Member

    s4mid4re  

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Message Count:
    1,669
    Country:
    United States
    I was just wondering the difference between it and "system restore" (fourth option). /:

    I mean what's the 'recreate database' supposed to do for you, that the system restore doesn't?

    EDIT: I'm also confused as to what the 'database' is supposed to be for the Vita...
    • Banned

    prowler Banned!

    Member Since:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Message Count:
    9,344
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    System restore restores the PSP to factory settings. Rebuilding the database just rebuilds it, incase something becomes corrupt or things start to slow down.
    I'm confused at why you're confused.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Database
    1 people like this.
    • Member

    junn .

    Member Since:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    358
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Country:
    United States
    PSV recovery menu.in english.
    WARNING! Spoilers inside!
    1 people like this.
    • Member

    chaosdarkneo New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    530
    Country:
    United States
    How did people even find out these button combinations? Are they in the manual, tucked in a tiny little corner somewhere?

Share This Page