Help with Softmodding

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by MrUnoriginal, Jan 5, 2013.

Jan 5, 2013

Help with Softmodding by MrUnoriginal at 2:53 AM (733 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. MrUnoriginal

    Newcomer MrUnoriginal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    I have the homebrew channel up and running and emulators working fine. I tried to install USBLoader GX and it says I need to have CIOS running first. It looks like it is going to install it itself but then says 'looking for HDD' and hangs up there. I have a USB HD plugged in to the Wii that I formatted with WBFS Manager and I have a Wii game .wbfs on there. What am I missing?
     
  2. yafaiz

    Newcomer yafaiz Old Salt

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Australia
    You need to find d2x cios installer, run that with HBC make sure you have wifi on your wii enabled and install some cios files using that.
     
  3. MrUnoriginal

    Newcomer MrUnoriginal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    So you do need CIOS before the USBLoader works?
     
  4. yafaiz

    Newcomer yafaiz Old Salt

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Australia
    Correct

    To install a CIOS the general method is.

    1. Use d2x cios installer to install a ios249 using base 56, ios250 using base 57 and ios251 using base 58.
     
  5. MrUnoriginal

    Newcomer MrUnoriginal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Ok cool, I got d2x_cios_installer_v3.1. Should that have everything to install the three ios's?
     
  6. yafaiz

    Newcomer yafaiz Old Salt

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Australia
  7. MrUnoriginal

    Newcomer MrUnoriginal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you!
     
  8. yafaiz

    Newcomer yafaiz Old Salt

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Australia
    No problems, one more question.

    For your HDD, is it formatted in NTFS with a wbfs folder on it and the .wbfs files inside that?
    If not, that's what you need.
     
  9. MrUnoriginal

    Newcomer MrUnoriginal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Well I formatted it on my PC as NTFS, then used WBFS manager and formatted the entire thing as WBFS. I have the file in the root now, do I need to make a new folder?
    Also, while I'm asking, if I want to run .wad files for virtual console stuff, can I do that on the WBFS or should I have partitioned it first?
     
  10. yafaiz

    Newcomer yafaiz Old Salt

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Australia
    Just partition it as NTFS and make a folder on it called wbfs and place your games .wbfs files inside that.

    As for .wads not sure.
     
  11. MrUnoriginal

    Newcomer MrUnoriginal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, sorry, I don't need to format it for wbfs? I only need a folder in the root named that?
     
  12. yafaiz

    Newcomer yafaiz Old Salt

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Australia
    Correct just ntfs format with a wbfs folder and the games go in that.
     
  13. DaniPoo

    Member DaniPoo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yeah thats right. But dont use WBFS manager for transfering your games then. It wont work.
    There is another manager "WiiBackupManager" that works with the WBFS folder.
     
  14. yafaiz

    Newcomer yafaiz Old Salt

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Australia
    I just convert ISO to .wbfs file using backup manager and drag and drop the .wbfs to the folder.
     
  15. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    13,307
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
  16. MrUnoriginal

    Newcomer MrUnoriginal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Great, thanks for all the help. Can anyone help with using .wad files?
     
  17. yafaiz

    Newcomer yafaiz Old Salt

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Australia
    You put .was files in a folder called wads and you install them using multimodmanager or mmm for short.
     

Share This Page