gbaemu4ds: GBA emulator for DS(i) (DSi Entry)

Discussion in 'Homebrew Bounty Entries' started by ichichfly, Mar 5, 2011.

?

Is the graphic better if you use the sc Version and the upper screen on a 3DS

I can't do that (have no 3DS) (have not tested that) 69 vote(s) 39.4%
Yes 36 vote(s) 20.6%
No 19 vote(s) 10.9%
I don't know 51 vote(s) 29.1%
Mar 5, 2011
    • Member

    ichichfly New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Message Count:
    558
    Country:
    Germany
    This is a gba emulator for DS

    This emulator is working and tested on r4i gold from www.r4ids.cn.

    Install:

    for wood user (v1.45 or newer) (If you use use an older Version you need to update as this won't work on an older Versions):

    1. Download and unpack the latest Version (link) to the root of your SD
    2. copy the gba homebrews and roms you want to play to your flashcard (the ending must be .agb, .bin or .mb (.gba dose not work at the moment (this does not work because wood disallows it. I can't fix that. Ask the creator of wood)))
    3. finished you can now lunch your gba homebrew/roms like the DS homebrews/roms

    Change log

    current default list


    ==some homebrews/roms crush==
    Try to hold the X button at the point they normaly crush it may work.

    Load an other mode example oldirq/newirq/advirq/HblancDMA/forceHblanc.

    Try to load patch.pat as patch and than load the game as usual (normally only works with advirq/HblancDMA/forceHblanc)

    FAQ: http://wiki.gbatemp....i/Gbaemu4DS_FAQ (Warning everyone can edit this FAQ)

    Compatibility List: http://wiki.gbatemp....patibility_List


    src: https://github.com/ichfly/gbaemu4DS

    Beta 1 todo


    Based on VisualBoyAdvance and tgba
    Last edited by ichichfly, Jul 1, 2013
    Eroz, frown, Pheinte and 21 others like this.


    • Member

    Vigilante TempLurker

    Member Since:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Message Count:
    1,555
    Location:
    CyberSpace IQ:OVER 9000
    Country:
    Philippines
    So is it like a gba emu
    • Member

    Recorderdude Musician, Animator, Buffoon.

    Member Since:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Message Count:
    1,392
    Country:
    United States
    supposedly, but

    .nds file or it didn't happen...

    ...will be the opinion of most tempers here.

    You should post a few more things. What emulator is it a port of? Does it run commercial games or just special homebrew? Does it support DLDI rom loading, loading multiple ROMS, does it have a GUI? Does it have to be packed with roms like GBA emulators do?

    A few more answers here would be nice.
    • Member

    Vigilante TempLurker

    Member Since:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Message Count:
    1,555
    Location:
    CyberSpace IQ:OVER 9000
    Country:
    Philippines
    The guy making the emu should make an account in the site.
    • Member

    ichichfly New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Message Count:
    558
    Country:
    Germany
    sorry the old post was to stupid to leave it her
    • Member

    Recorderdude Musician, Animator, Buffoon.

    Member Since:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Message Count:
    1,392
    Country:
    United States
    Very good, thanks. And if this is a real entry we shall see it tomorrow [IMG]
    • Member

    WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Member Since:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Message Count:
    4,443
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    Wait, are you THE ichfly, who made the Yu-Gi-OWNED exploit?
    • Member

    Vigilante TempLurker

    Member Since:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Message Count:
    1,555
    Location:
    CyberSpace IQ:OVER 9000
    Country:
    Philippines
    So to be clear, is this a Gba emu that can run Gba hombrew
    • Member

    ichichfly New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Message Count:
    558
    Country:
    Germany
    OK this is the gba emu it is only the src because you have to compile the gba homebrew inside the nitrofs since i don't have a flashcard any more. I will fix that soon and the Program it is yet not ready for everyone it is just to demonstrate it is running. I will try to add commercial games support soon. download: http://www.mediafire.com/file/t3hzyylbnn6552l/gbaemuds.zip

    Guide:

    so compile it and just start it. I have tested it on the ds emulator no$gba (of cause in DS mode only) and however not every homebrew is running yet. Normal I won't post a Program in such a state but see first post.

    ADD: put the gba rom as gba.gba in the nitrofiles folder before you compile it (for a new rom you have to recompile it)

    ADD2: yes I am ichfly form wii-homebrew.com

    ADD3: the _.txt is only there because every folder in the zip needs at last one file inside

    ADD4: don't forget max homebrew size it can run is 2MB

    ADD5: it seams the program can load homebrew from the the normal flashcard and so also run on most oft the flashcard and it is not needed to recompile it by make the following changes in the main.cpp

    add #include to the includes
    and change nitroFSInit(); to fatInitDefault();

    well i compiled it and send it to a tester and he sad it works I have not tested this myself.

    ADD6: Compatibility List:

    devkitpro examples:

    PCXView color bug and very slow (5 fps)

    template working color bug

    ansi_console working (color bug)


    homebrew:

    Bits 2005 crush

    Mister Jelly works but slow

    GoldenEye Advance work but slow(~2fps) and color bug

    billybox slow color bug

    L'affaire FAREWELL starts color bug

    Ghost'n Goblins Advance starts color bug
    • Member

    spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Member Since:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Message Count:
    2,430
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, colour me impressed! I tried it on the iEvo and got maybe 3 or 4 fps (a guess) it didn't get to "helloworld2" running from the Sudoku exploit, shame.

    It does take quite a while to compile though, so anyone else trying this, note that it probably HASN'T crashed during the make process.
    • Member

    Recorderdude Musician, Animator, Buffoon.

    Member Since:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Message Count:
    1,392
    Country:
    United States
    Well, they said it couldn't be done, GBA on DS, that is.

    They were wrong.

    Now you can even if it is slow.

    Shit just got real in this contest [IMG]
    1 people like this.
    • Member

    ichichfly New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Message Count:
    558
    Country:
    Germany
    OK by frame skip and cutting something away i got some good speed improve ( i think about 50% faster than the last one) however this was only to demonstrate that it is possible not realy for any contest. I only posted it beause of the first post lol

    However the prog is still slow


    http://www.mediafire.com/file/28omemexeica1w7/gbaemu2.zip

    I think this is my last post I only post again if i get a speed improve of about 100 %
    • Member

    jamespoo New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Message Count:
    257
    Location:
    Auckland
    Country:
    New Zealand
    just used this to play pokemon on the orginal ds and it works but sometimes it dose freeze for half a sec every 20sec or so
    • Member

    Recorderdude Musician, Animator, Buffoon.

    Member Since:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Message Count:
    1,392
    Country:
    United States
    was that a COMMERCIAL pokemon game? and what was the rom size?

    The creator claimed it only played homebrew under 2mb.
    • Member

    Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Member Since:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Message Count:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    Wow. color me impressed! This is great! I am glad to finally see this happen after so many naysayers.

    I would say keep up the work with the emulator, I have high hopes for it. I wish you luck.

    EDIT: LOL! Spinal Cord said the same exact thing I did in my opening of my post. That's funny. [IMG]
    • Member

    giratina16 Born This Way

    Member Since:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Message Count:
    928
    Location:
    G.O.A.T.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Holy sweet fuck, I never thought GBA would run on DS without the use of DSTwo.
    • Member

    SifJar Not a pirate

    Member Since:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Message Count:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is this ONLY for DSi, or will it work (obviously very slowly) on DS (Lite)?

    Even if it is slow, impressive that you've done it. I'm currently compiling it to try it on my DS Lite. I'll report back my experience.
    • Member

    Nujui I need something to do.

    Member Since:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Message Count:
    3,931
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    Could someone tell me how to compile this? I want to try this on my ds.
    • Member

    SifJar Not a pirate

    Member Since:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Message Count:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I errored when trying to compile. Is there a specific version of libnds/devkitARM I should be using to compile this?
    • Member

    spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Member Since:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Message Count:
    2,430
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm using the latest build. It worked fine (although it took a while) for me.

Share This Page