GBA Save Issue

Discussion in 'Computer Programming, Emulation, and Game Modding' started by TheBeverage, Jul 30, 2015.

Jul 30, 2015

GBA Save Issue by TheBeverage at 4:27 AM (615 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. TheBeverage
    OP

    Newcomer TheBeverage Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    Hi,

    I was using a flash cart to play GBA games but am now starting to use an emulator on my PC hooked up to my TV instead. Unfortunately, the save formats didn't line up, with the flash cart using .sav and the emulators in Retroarch using .srm.

    For converting saves, every other game either required a simple extension change (.sav to .srm) or editing the header of the .sav file to match its Retroarch counterpart, then changing the extension.

    For some unknown reason, I simply cannot get this to work with Final Fantasy IV Advance. I have no idea why this is the case, and after looking into it I found a program called "gbaconv" that was supposed to automate the process, but it required compiling it manually, which frankly I could not figure out how to do.

    If anyone could point me in the right direction (or provide an .exe of that gbaconv program) I would be very grateful.

    .sav file: http://giantbev.info/Final_Fantasy_IV_Advance.gba.sav
    gbaconv: https://github.com/libretro/vba-next/blob/master/libretro/gbaconv/gbaconv.c
    The "GBAconv" that comes up on SourceForge from Google seems to be an entirely different program.
     
  2. tiagobaddog7

    Newcomer tiagobaddog7 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Brazil
  3. Ailuros27

    Member Ailuros27 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    Messages:
    676
    Country:
    United States
    That tool doesn't open for me in Windows 7. It just does nothing. I drag my save onto it and nothing happens.
     
  4. Sonic Angel Knight

    Member Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    7,193
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    What kind of emulator was you using? If you have visual boy advance, try setting battery type to auto and then rename the save as the same name as the rom file (With .sav) at the end, Then put it in the save directory and load the game, it should work. Either that or try import battery save and load it that way.
     
  5. Ailuros27

    Member Ailuros27 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    Messages:
    676
    Country:
    United States
    I've tried both. Neither works. Am I loading it wrong?
     

Share This Page