Homebrew GBA emulator for the ... DS?

mithrilfox

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Since Slot 1 devices are unable to play backups of our favorite (owned) GBA cartridges, it seems it would make some sense to make a GBA emulator for the DS (though a bit of overkill, huh).

Has anyone done it, or is anyone doing it? If we had one, we wouldn't need to worry about Slot 2 devices anymore (if the thing worked(.

Julee

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Canada
The slot-1 processor isnt fast enough for software emulation of GBA games and isnt compatible with hardware emulation. The emulation would have to take place on a processor built into the chipset of the flash card.

bhamophet

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Malaysia
woot..this is the (insert numbers here) times this question was asked!!

Im a noob too once so i understand
happy.gif

P

pasc

We all were noobs, bhamophet, but this is no way to get around the fact that he:

Did not use the search feature.

I think we should sticky this so it won't happen again.

P

pasc

Yeah, then... anyway, I just thought the following:

The Gba has just a lil better specs then the SNES, so what's going on anyway... I don't quite understand.... I could only think of it this way:
The DS is too slow to read the fast GBA Cards, cause compared to the SNES Cards they have (really) fast read speeds, or ?

TLSpartan

Kills threads
Trophies
XP
Country
FAST is the best at explaining all of this, but I will have a shot
laugh.gif
. The GBA likes to have access to all of the memory in a split second(hence 32MB RAM in flash carts). Slot-1's are too slow to do this.

mithrilfox

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Some of you guys are just plain jerks.

Just quit responding to posts you don't like or feel are repetitive. It's a lot more effective than angering yourself over everytime someone asks a question that has been asked before. Besides, is this your personal palace where you seek to maintain the purity of "one question only asked once" ?