GBA Emulation on the 3DS?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by games2007, Apr 4, 2011.

Apr 4, 2011

GBA Emulation on the 3DS? by games2007 at 9:37 PM (51,107 Views / 0 Likes) 31 Comments

    • Member

    games2007 New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Message Count:
    263
    Country:
    United States
    If I were to buy a 3DS and then a flash cart that is capable of playing DS games, would I also be able to play GBA games?
    I have a collection of over 30 DS games that I still play on my DS Phat, and I'm considering getting a 3DS.
    I heard the system has 128MB of RAM and would, in theory, be able to play 3DS games, but the question is whether or not anyone here has done it.


    • Member

    _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Member Since:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,453
    Country:
    United States
    Only if you bought the SuperCard DSTwo, as it's the only DS flashcart that allows you to play GBA games without an expansion.
    • Member

    Ryupower Brood

    Member Since:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Message Count:
    2,526
    Country:
    United States
    NO
    you can ONLY run games in DS mode on the 3DS using a Dsi Flash Card
    but
    SuperCard DSTwo has a GBA emulator addon
    BUT you still NOT using the extar ram the 3ds has
    • Member

    Fear Zoa This... This is the world we live in

    Member Since:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,437
    Location:
    Maryland
    Country:
    United States
    Assuming that we cracked 3ds mode....maybe......but we haven't so no....the DsTwo can run them but only using its own processor
    • Member

    CherrySkitty New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Message Count:
    123
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    Wait 'till 3DS mode gets hacked x3.
    It WILL be able to run them. I'm sure of that. The 3DS is very powerful and should easily emulate most GBA games.
    • Member

    alexg1989 New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Message Count:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    If it gets hacked, you mean?

    There's no guarantee that it will. It took the Playstation 3 how long to get fully hacked?

    I hope it is though, and soon. The GBA emulator for PSP is near perfect with only a few games suffering problems. Games like Mother 3, Zelda A Link and Minish Cap all work perfectly, so I'm sure the 3DS can run a perfect GBA emulator if it gets hacked...
    • Member

    DiscostewSM New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Message Count:
    3,831
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Country:
    United States
    *sigh* Here we go again.

    It took the PS3 so long to be hacked because there was no need when it had OtherOS. Hackers hack for access to the system, but that was already given, minus the nitty-gritty portions that involved piracy. Sony had removed it, and so hacking went full force on it.
    • Member

    alexg1989 New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Message Count:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    hmmm... didn't know that, obviously...
    • Member

    nutella Low Glycemic Index

    Member Since:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,093
    Location:
    Your nearest supermarket
    Country:
    Australia
    Bullshit. OtherOS was always very limited.
    • Reporter

    Qtis Grey Knight Inquisitor

    Member Since:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Message Count:
    3,419
    Location:
    The Forge
    Country:
    Antarctica
    But it was still there. That was something you can't say for quite a few gaming platforms.. Even though it didn't give full access, it made it possible to run something on the system without making it signed et al [IMG]


    -Qtis
    • Member

    DarkShinigami #1 strongest Shinigami BANKAI

    Member Since:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,752
    Location:
    Soul Society
    Country:
    United States
    kick me from this thread but once again i say i hope the 3s never gets hacked i wanna go legit but if its hacked the temptation will be too much
    • Newcomer

    Squeeks New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Message Count:
    19
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm pretty sure everyone and their mothers knows that now, seeing how you post that in every single 3DS thread.

    Anyway, I'm more worried about SNES emulation when the 3DS is hacked, the PSP SNES emulator is goddamn horrible.
    • Member

    Keva New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Message Count:
    304
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Piracy is about choice, if you want free games then there you go. If you only want homebrew. You can get that too. Want neither of those things? You got that as well.

    Just because a system's hacked doesn't mean you have to use it.
    • Member

    pachura New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Message Count:
    564
    Country:
    Buy a Slot-1 flashcard for your DS for playing GBA games. Here you go, a perfect solution. Remember that 3DS' screen has different resolution, so even if someone manages to run GBA games on it in the future, they will look soft and blurred. DS vs. GBA did not differ that much and games were sharp and pixel-perfect.
    • Member

    emigre Putting out the fire with gasoline

    Member Since:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Message Count:
    7,514
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Develop some Will Power? It's like giving up smoking in a sense. You know you want to but you can't.
    • Member

    naved.islam14 Gbatemp's Official Dark Knight™

    Member Since:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    968
    Location:
    Gotham
    Country:
    Sri Lanka
    I think GBA can be emulated on the 3DS because if GBA can be emulated in the DSi, the 3DS should be able to emulate the GBA, we just need to crack the 3DS...
    • Newcomer

    xinyyy78 New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Message Count:
    26
    Country:
    China
    If we crashed 3ds mode,maybe it wii have.
    • Member

    alexg1989 New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Message Count:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    I have a PSP and a version of Snes9x on it all the time... It's not perfect, but it's definitely not horrible...

    You make it sound though you can't play any game using it... Most that I've played run perfectly with few exceptions such as Donkey Kong Country, but even that game can be made to run at perfect speed by tweaking in the options screen...
    • Member

    Fear Zoa This... This is the world we live in

    Member Since:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,437
    Location:
    Maryland
    Country:
    United States
    GBA can barely be emulated on the DSi so I don't really see that as any sort of support In this argument....
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    GBA can be emulated pretty much perfectly on the PSP, so the 3DS should be capable of it unless the focus was on the GPU instead of the CPU...

    EDIT: Typo.

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page