Hacking [Gateway] Can you get DLC for free?

chrisluna413

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hi, I'm extremely new to the 3DS Gateway scene and was wondering if I can get Fantasy Life and Fire emblem DLC for free without having to use the eshop. I apologize if this is a frequently asked question.

osaka35

Instructional Designer
Global Moderator
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hi, I'm extremely new to the 3DS Gateway scene and was wondering if I can get Fantasy Life and Fire emblem DLC for free without having to use the eshop. I apologize if this is a frequently asked question.

It's possible, but it's not the easiest thing in the world. If you'll notice in the forum, speak of "cia"s and the like, that's basically what's being talked about. Anything you can get from the eshop can be installed in this manner...though it's not easy by any means. Check out the rest of the forum now that you know what you're looking for. Though I would first suggest you look into how gateway works, what it does, all about the dev stuff, and the like. The more you understand the basics, the better chance you'll have at installing DLC without bricking your console.

cearp

瓜老外
Developer
Trophies
XP
Country
Tuvalu
If you mean if you can download it from Nintendo's servers without paying for it, then technically yes.
If there is a free piece of DLC to download for a certain game, you can use that to be able to get all the paid pieces too :)

Reactions: Margen67

player0

Trophies
XP
Country
If you mean if you can download it from Nintendo's servers without paying for it, then technically yes.
If there is a free piece of DLC to download for a certain game, you can use that to be able to get all the paid pieces too :)

If it is not those "RELEASE"es, I am still waiting cearp to teach us how to download DLCs and updates from official server and repack them as CIAs ourselves :bow:

D

Deleted-188346