Gateway 3DS "Firmware spoofing" and "multi-region"

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by er745, Aug 11, 2013.

Aug 11, 2013
  1. er745

    Newcomer er745 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Spain
    The Gateway 3DS team has released a video showing their card being able to play games from a region different than that of the 3DS console, as well as playing games that normally require the 5.1 firmware on a lower version.

     


  2. ßleck

    Member ßleck Cleverly Burrowed

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    Netherlands
  3. Devin

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,644
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    Wow..

    Now lets laugh at everyone that said;

    "They won't make an update."
    "This can't bypass region lock."
    "They'll get the money, and drop support."

    :lol:
     
  4. Ryukouki

    Reporter Ryukouki Brandon Bui

    pip
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4,859
    Country:
    United States

    Right? :P I'm actually surprised this happened so fast. TERRY'S WONDERLAND HERE I COME!

    BortzANATOR I think you may be interested in this. :3
     
  5. CollosalPokemon

    Member CollosalPokemon ばん。。。かい

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    673
    Country:
    United States
    Colour me impressed. I didn't actually say it, but I didn't think they'd crack firmware updates or the region lock (or I don't think I did; I forgot).
     
  6. TheCasketMan

    Member TheCasketMan Keyblade Apprentice

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    708
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Country:
    United States
    Do you still need an SD card for each game?
     
  7. Ryukouki

    Reporter Ryukouki Brandon Bui

    pip
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4,859
    Country:
    United States

    Yep, still the same as far as that goes.
     
  8. ßleck

    Member ßleck Cleverly Burrowed

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yup.
     
  9. Devin

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,644
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States

    I asked to get into the private beta. :P Their progress is stunning. Now I'm sure if they figured out how to put multiple roms on a single micro sd card, and get it to work on the latest firmware there'd be no complaints.
     
    Eity, EZ-Megaman, DiabloStorm and 3 others like this.
  10. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene GBATemp official Hiro fanboy™

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,425
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    OP, please fix your font colours.
    It's annoying to read on the darktheme.

    OT.
    Sweet.
    GW3DS is getting better and better it seems.
     
    EZ-Megaman and Attila13 like this.
  11. Ryukouki

    Reporter Ryukouki Brandon Bui

    pip
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4,859
    Country:
    United States

    It really is, I'm surprised greatly at their progress thus far. And yeah, if they fixed the firmware that'd be fantastic. I'm sure you may have remembered the DSi Evolution from Cyclo or that random DSTwo competitor the EX4i. Those were just so disappointing. :(

    What I do love to see though is that a lot of you guys were like GATEWAY NOT GONNA WORK FUCK THEM or NO REGION FREE NOT INTERESTED. Funny how the tables have turned.
     
  12. opal

    Newcomer opal Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    Poland
    Do you think there is a chance for 5.1 FW anytime soon?
    I don't know if I shoud wait or just buy second 3DS with 4.5 FW :(
     
  13. Ryukouki

    Reporter Ryukouki Brandon Bui

    pip
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4,859
    Country:
    United States

    Mario and Luigi Dream team is 5.1. And they're playing it.
     
  14. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,154
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    Niiiice. Now they just need to deliver on that rom-choosing menu and I'm set
    (Not really, I'm content with the feature set as it is :p)
     
  15. Ryukouki

    Reporter Ryukouki Brandon Bui

    pip
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4,859
    Country:
    United States

    Judging by how they're making updates at a rapid pace, I would think that a working UI isn't far off. :)
     
  16. opal

    Newcomer opal Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    Poland
    My 3DS has 5.1 FW :(
    I think spoofing FW doesn't mean that 5.1 FW is actually hackable.
     
  17. krzz

    Member krzz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    France
    that's FUCKING AWESOME MAN :lol:
     
  18. ßleck

    Member ßleck Cleverly Burrowed

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Why the sad face?

    Edit: Yes it does
     
  19. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,623
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Region free :O, fine, you have my money.
     
  20. Chaossaturn

    Member Chaossaturn ローレンス

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    213
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is awesome, hopefully there work on a muti-rom loading UI, then it a perfeat flashcard + I hope pokemon works on it. Still worried that if I buy one, a free solution will be available and it will become a paper weight (just like the dongle's for ps3).

    Also I wonder if this will make nintendo make the 3ds finally region free with a firmware update.

    Also I can download any region roms now :)
     

Share This Page