Gateway 3DS "Firmware spoofing" and "multi-region"

Discussion in '3DS - Hacking & Homebrew' started by er745, Aug 11, 2013.

Aug 11, 2013
    • Newcomer

    er745 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Message Count:
    5
    Country:
    Spain
    The Gateway 3DS team has released a video showing their card being able to play games from a region different than that of the 3DS console, as well as playing games that normally require the 5.1 firmware on a lower version.



    • Member

    ßleck Cleverly Disguised

    Member Since:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Message Count:
    334
    Country:
    Atlantic Ocean
    • Member

    Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Member Since:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,575
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    Wow..

    Now lets laugh at everyone that said;

    "They won't make an update."
    "This can't bypass region lock."
    "They'll get the money, and drop support."

    :lol:
    • Reporter

    Ryukouki Pianist, Chemist, Reporter

    Member Since:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Message Count:
    3,966
    Location:
    SoCal
    Country:
    United States

    Right? :P I'm actually surprised this happened so fast. TERRY'S WONDERLAND HERE I COME!

    BortzANATOR I think you may be interested in this. :3
    • Member

    CollosalPokemon ばん。。。かい

    Member Since:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Message Count:
    657
    Country:
    United States
    Colour me impressed. I didn't actually say it, but I didn't think they'd crack firmware updates or the region lock (or I don't think I did; I forgot).
    • Member

    TheCasketMan Keyblade Apprentice

    Member Since:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Message Count:
    450
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Do you still need an SD card for each game?
    • Reporter

    Ryukouki Pianist, Chemist, Reporter

    Member Since:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Message Count:
    3,966
    Location:
    SoCal
    Country:
    United States

    Yep, still the same as far as that goes.
    • Member

    ßleck Cleverly Disguised

    Member Since:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Message Count:
    334
    Country:
    Atlantic Ocean
    Yup.
    • Member

    Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Member Since:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,575
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States

    I asked to get into the private beta. :P Their progress is stunning. Now I'm sure if they figured out how to put multiple roms on a single micro sd card, and get it to work on the latest firmware there'd be no complaints.
    Eity, EZ-Megaman, DiabloStorm and 3 others like this.
    • Member

    DinohScene Femboy

    Member Since:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Message Count:
    7,506
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Atlantic Ocean
    OP, please fix your font colours.
    It's annoying to read on the darktheme.

    OT.
    Sweet.
    GW3DS is getting better and better it seems.
    EZ-Megaman and Attila13 like this.
    • Reporter

    Ryukouki Pianist, Chemist, Reporter

    Member Since:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Message Count:
    3,966
    Location:
    SoCal
    Country:
    United States

    It really is, I'm surprised greatly at their progress thus far. And yeah, if they fixed the firmware that'd be fantastic. I'm sure you may have remembered the DSi Evolution from Cyclo or that random DSTwo competitor the EX4i. Those were just so disappointing. :(

    What I do love to see though is that a lot of you guys were like GATEWAY NOT GONNA WORK FUCK THEM or NO REGION FREE NOT INTERESTED. Funny how the tables have turned.
    • Newcomer

    opal New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Message Count:
    57
    Country:
    Poland
    Do you think there is a chance for 5.1 FW anytime soon?
    I don't know if I shoud wait or just buy second 3DS with 4.5 FW :(
    • Reporter

    Ryukouki Pianist, Chemist, Reporter

    Member Since:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Message Count:
    3,966
    Location:
    SoCal
    Country:
    United States

    Mario and Luigi Dream team is 5.1. And they're playing it.
    • Member

    mercluke ‮҉

    Member Since:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Message Count:
    3,109
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    Niiiice. Now they just need to deliver on that rom-choosing menu and I'm set
    (Not really, I'm content with the feature set as it is :p)
    • Reporter

    Ryukouki Pianist, Chemist, Reporter

    Member Since:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Message Count:
    3,966
    Location:
    SoCal
    Country:
    United States

    Judging by how they're making updates at a rapid pace, I would think that a working UI isn't far off. :)
    • Newcomer

    opal New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Message Count:
    57
    Country:
    Poland
    My 3DS has 5.1 FW :(
    I think spoofing FW doesn't mean that 5.1 FW is actually hackable.
    Last edited by opal, Aug 12, 2013
    • Member

    krzz New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Message Count:
    154
    Country:
    France
    that's FUCKING AWESOME MAN :lol:
    • Member

    ßleck Cleverly Disguised

    Member Since:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Message Count:
    334
    Country:
    Atlantic Ocean
    Why the sad face?

    Edit: Yes it does
    • Member

    Armadillo New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Message Count:
    2,255
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Region free :O, fine, you have my money.
    • Member

    Chaossaturn ローレンス

    Member Since:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Message Count:
    213
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is awesome, hopefully there work on a muti-rom loading UI, then it a perfeat flashcard + I hope pokemon works on it. Still worried that if I buy one, a free solution will be available and it will become a paper weight (just like the dongle's for ps3).

    Also I wonder if this will make nintendo make the 3ds finally region free with a firmware update.

    Also I can download any region roms now :)
    Last edited by Chaossaturn, Aug 12, 2013

Share This Page