Full vWii Softmod

Discussion in 'Wii U - Tutorials & FAQs' started by asper, Dec 26, 2012.

Dec 26, 2012

Full vWii Softmod by asper at 5:24 PM (257,755 Views / 14 Likes) 387 replies

  1. asper

    Member asper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    United States
    Guide modified (with author permission, maybe he will modify it's original one); if someone knows the prcoedure to actually restore backupped NAND contents I will add it to the guide.
     


  2. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    12,628
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Thank you for taking in account my concerns :)
    It looks better now.

    Edit:
    Just one thing, but I didn't test it yet.
    Is d2x r53 also allow installation of r52? I thought you had to download them separately.

    You provide link to the v10-alt, but in the guide you tell the users to install r52 (v10 non alt).

    I saw users reporting that the alt didn't work for them, and reverting to r52 fixed their issue.
    Maybe you could tell them to start with r52, and if they want additional or different features (like dual port support, fixing some HDD detection issue, but less compatible emuNAND) then they can download the r53 and do the d2x installation steps again (overwriting the existing files and IOS, no need to delete IOS)
     
  3. asper

    Member asper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    United States
    Done !
    You are right, now it's clearer ! (i don't know how to make tables/columns with bbcode so the pros/cons descrption is not too nice to read but it is there now !
    Thank you for your pointing-outs !:)

    EDIT: beta52 and beta53 can both be installed using the same cIOS Installer Mod v2.2 but you have to replace di ciosmap.xml so probably the answer to your question is no, you cannot use them AT THE SAME TIME with the installer (maybe someone can modify the ciosmaps.xml files in order to be possible to use both in 2 separate folder but I don't know if this is possible).
     
  4. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    12,628
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    I don't think tables are possible with bbcode (it would require html access, but only moderators have access).
    you can use the "code" but it will color the text randomly and you can't use other BBcode inside.

    Another way could be to make a picture. Make a html on your computer with tables, etc., then take a picture and use the img tag here.
    There's no link in the pro/cons table, so it shouldn't be a problem, and it will not change in the future as it's the differences between two specific versions.
     
  5. jputter

    Newcomer jputter Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Belgium
    hey for me it works but just da vwii53 vwii52 give"s a mload eror @ cios installer thnx for tha work
     
  6. patientx

    Newcomer patientx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Turkey
    Can we use EU versions of these games in US WiiU to hack it ?
     
  7. petspeed

    Member petspeed GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Country:
    Denmark
    No you need one of the games in you own region
     
  8. ChaosEnergy

    Member ChaosEnergy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Germany
    in hope to get a real clean nand dump i tried fstoolbox elf file (renamed) , so i booted directly into fs toolbox
    it says nand access limited, ok..
    and it said dump 163mb
    stopped at sysmenu (ok..have to expect problem without hbc, but i hoped...)

    installed hbc

    started the dol file from package
    said, nand access limited...
    dump 135mb (hmm 28mb lossed in calculation???)

    ok saw in package the meta.xml is missing, so added ahbprot line
    throws an error, but goes directly into menui, i dump the nand...135mb again, but with ahbprot it dumps without error

    open question..why will it try to dump 163mb, when used the elf file loaded by the exploit, and only 135 when used in hbc withh the dol/elf
    can fs toolbox "see" more files loaded as boot.elf by exploit, than as boot.elf/dol via HBC incl abhprot, if so, maybe those files could be the switch from vwii to wiiu

    and someone should add the info about the missing meta.xml...missing ahbprot...
     
  9. asper

    Member asper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    United States
    I had crashes/problems using directly FS Toolbox; launching it from MMM (MultiModManager) solved all my problems, never tryed to use it in other ways; can you try also this method and report the dumped size ?
     
  10. [Truth]

    Member [Truth] GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    652
    Location:
    Mushroom Kingdom
    Country:
    Germany
    Thats because you are linking to/using an old version of FS-Toolbox.
    There are newer versions by Nano/damysteryman, you should update your guide.
     
  11. ChaosEnergy

    Member ChaosEnergy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Germany
    i think it was your package, where fs toolbox had missed the meta..xml (with ahbprot settings)
     
  12. [Truth]

    Member [Truth] GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    652
    Location:
    Mushroom Kingdom
    Country:
    Germany
    DonĀ“t know what you are talking about, meta.xml with <ahb_access/> line is and was always in my package.
     
  13. asper

    Member asper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    United States
    Done, thank you !
     
  14. stratt

    Newcomer stratt Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    quick question.... Is this for wii or wiiu games, or both?
     
  15. asper

    Member asper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    United States
    This is for Virtual Wii under Wii U console; that is to say it is the softmod guide for the Virtual Wii System you can use inside a Wii U so this is not for a real Wii.
     
  16. stratt

    Newcomer stratt Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    i'm sorry, i meant to ask is this for playng backed up wii games using usb loaders or for wiiu games
     
  17. asper

    Member asper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    United States
    It is ONLY for backed-up Wii games using USB Loaders.
     
  18. stratt

    Newcomer stratt Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    thank you
     
  19. asper

    Member asper GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    United States
    New WiiFlow channel compatible with vWii dash ! (no bannerbrick !) - Thanks Fix94 !
    [​IMG]
    Here is the link.
     
  20. Kingcool

    Newcomer Kingcool Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Sweden
    Wow! Now that i saw your pic. Is it possible to run Gamecube games in vWii? Is there a working guide to follow?
     

Share This Page