Format Only One Partition HDD for Wii U ?

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Homebrew' started by NathanPeterson, Dec 24, 2012.

Dec 24, 2012
    • Newcomer

    NathanPeterson New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Message Count:
    10
    Does anyone know how I can get the Wii U to just format one partition of my HDD. I'd like to use the second partition for my backup games on my Wii. This way, I don't have to keep changing hard drives.


    • Global Moderator

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Message Count:
    10,595
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Sorry, it's not possible.
    Nintendo designed it to delete everything from the drive, all partitions are removed and a big single partition (whithout a partition table) is created for WiiU format.

    There were some tests done by a user, but it would (not possible right now) involved launching a program on PC each time to display/hide a partition by faking the HDD size.
    You can't keep it connected to the console and use both partition at the same time.
    • Newcomer

    NathanPeterson New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Message Count:
    10
    Thanks for the reply. Hopefully this can be changed in the future.
    • Newcomer

    stsaerox New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Message Count:
    44
    Country:
    Greece
    Resize the partition that WiiU made?
    • Newcomer

    NathanPeterson New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Message Count:
    10
    I tried this. Unless there is a tool that can read what format the Wii U put's the drive in I'm not sure there is a way.
    • Member

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Message Count:
    5,190
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    Actually, it's not even a partition. It uses the WHOLE disk, even the parts that are used to keep track of which partition is which. That part is just gone so there's nothing to resize.
    • Member

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Member Since:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Message Count:
    11,754
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    So much for wanting to use it for Wii ISO images. Not worth it if I have to unplug it every time, unless someone hacks the firmware preventing the format prompt.
    • Newcomer

    NathanPeterson New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Message Count:
    10
    I hope someone can do this. I do not want to be prompted to format my drive every time I start up my Wii U. I use it for the vWii backup games. My ultimate hope was to have two partitions, one for the vWii and one for Wii U.
    • Member

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Member Since:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Message Count:
    11,754
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sure part of the reason Nintendo doesn't allow for partitions alongside with a proprietary file system is to curtail its use with illicit activity. The prompt is controlled via firmware and once that's been hacked, it's just a matter of time before that algorithm is disabled.
    • Member

    Nintendo Maniac New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Message Count:
    659
    Country:
    United States
    Does it ask to format the drive even if it has been previously formatted with NTFS? If so, will it still do it with a less common file-system like ext2 or that crazy depreciated WBFS?

    Or will it detect the drive no matter how it's formatted?
    Last edited by Nintendo Maniac, Dec 28, 2012
    • Global Moderator

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Message Count:
    10,595
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    it detects the drive, check if there's a partition table, if found it asks to format.
    It doesn't care what partition type you already have.

    If there's no partition table at all (beginning or end of drive), it doesn't ask to format.


    Did someone test a HDD in WFS? (the one that Dragon Quest X Wii is using).
    It's allowing partition, or does it format the full drive too?
    is the WiiU still asking to format the HDD is there's a WFS?
    • Member

    Nintendo Maniac New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Message Count:
    659
    Country:
    United States
    Not to doubt you, but have you actually tried it with an unformatted drive and a drive formatted to one of the more uncommon Linux file systems?

    Also, what about a drive with a NON-DOS partition table?
    • Newcomer

    stsaerox New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Message Count:
    44
    Country:
    Greece
    Maybe it really needs something to fool Wii U. I'm thinking to buy the basic pack and use it along with my "32gb sdhc sandisk 45mb/s" What are the disadvantages about speed and space of this option?
    • Global Moderator

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Message Count:
    10,595
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    no problem doubting me, as I didn't do the tests myself.
    It's a report from a user doing some partitioning tests which found that no partition table resulted in the console to fully ignore it.
    http://gbatemp.net/threads/can-you-make-a-wii-u-partition.337805/page-3#post-4466037
    (read the page3 of that thread, it can be interested)

    I don't know about linux partition, but I supposed that if it finds a partition table, it doesn't care what the partition types are, it just prompt to format the HDD.



    Another users reported that he is using two HDD at the same time.
    One 3TB (for vWii, fully ignored by WiiU as it's not compatible)
    and a one less than 2TB, formated in WiiU format, ignored by vWii.

    Though, I've read that if there are two HDD connected at the same time, the ports were all disabled in vWii (it could be a user's wrong report because his drives didn't work fine, or not enough power etc.)
    • Newcomer

    DeadMan New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Message Count:
    25
    Location:
    Ekaterinburg
    Country:
    Russia
    I make some test with my Flash drive, in first i formate it in fat 32, insert in WiiU, WiiU ask me about format this drive. In second, i fill this flash drive with 0x00 bytes, insert in WiiU, and WiiU dont't ask about format. In setting if i click on Format, WiiU write then flash can be formated, but don't ask about format if it's start with flahs drive connected
    P.S. Flash Drive size is 4Gb
    • Member

    julialy Ehh, I'm so lazy.

    Member Since:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Message Count:
    825
    Country:
    United States
    Here, I'll fix it for you.

    • Newcomer

    DeadMan New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Message Count:
    25
    Location:
    Ekaterinburg
    Country:
    Russia
    Thank's, english not my native language :(
    • Newcomer

    DeadMan New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Message Count:
    25
    Location:
    Ekaterinburg
    Country:
    Russia
    Make another test:
    format my usb flash in FAT32 and insert in WiiU , WiiU ask me about format drive. With WinHEX i change one of 2 bytes in address 0x01FE and 0x01FF to any number and WiiU don't ask about format drive, but USB loader in vWii mode also write me "USB device not found" (i use USB loader GX). But Windows on my PC work with this USB flash fine, it's see the flash in FAT32 format, and chkdsk also don't write me about any error after check'it
    Last edited by DeadMan, Dec 28, 2012
    • Global Moderator

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Message Count:
    10,595
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    don't worry, don't be afraid of talking in English here. Your version was very good and understandable.


    USBloaderGX check these two bytes to determine if there's a table partition.
    once found, it checks if it's FAT or NTFS.
    • Newcomer

    DeadMan New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Message Count:
    25
    Location:
    Ekaterinburg
    Country:
    Russia
    sorry i don't know how compile application for Wii :(, can you change this signature to 55AB (or better change check to: 55AA or 55AB) and compile test boot.dol file ? and i test it on my WiiU

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page