Firmware Update Compilation thread / List of Flashcards working on 3DS

Discussion in '3DS - Games & Content' started by Pong20302000, Jul 26, 2011.

Jul 26, 2011
    • Member

    Jiehfeng I'M FINE!

    Member Since:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Message Count:
    3,248
    Location:
    I dunno
    Country:
    Sri Lanka
    But it would be more convenient if here we had the same info too.



    • Newcomer

    dsboy11 New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Message Count:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well I went and bought a DS Phat on ebay, but the update patch still won't work :-(

    Can you explain (in detail - sorry I'm quite new to all this) how you updated using an NDS Phat?

    This is what I did: -
    1. Used an old R4 card to run the "R4iGold_3DS45_NDSi145_Patch_NDSL.nds" patch using my newly purchased DS Phat.
    2. Once loaded I took out the old R4 card and then inserted my R4i Gold 3DS (R4ids.cn) into the DS Phat.
    3. I pressed KEY_B..... nothing happened
    4. I waited.... nothing happened
    5. I pressed Key_A..... and it say's "FAIL" and nothing else.

    I tried everything else I could think of (including using the NDSi patch file) but still had no luck. The only other thing that happened was when I tried running the "R4iGold_3DS45_NDSi145_Patch_NDSL.nds" patch directly from my R4i Gold 3DS card (again using the DS Phat) it came up as "Fail" and "Press KEY_A again".

    What am I doing wrong? Any ideas?
    • Member

    Pong20302000 i might be a Horcrux

    Member Since:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Message Count:
    8,073
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    there is so many mixed results from these R4ids.cn cards at the moment
    its just crazy how some work fine
    some dont work at all
    i will have a word with the team shortly and see if i can squeeze some info for you
    having a DSPhat is always the best for flashing any card tho as any card will never be blocked on it
    • Member

    Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Member Since:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Message Count:
    4,323
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    United States
    My apologies if you have already tried this, but after the first attempt to update results in a "Fail", take the r4 Gold out and reinsert it then try to update again.
    • Member

    Pong20302000 i might be a Horcrux

    Member Since:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Message Count:
    8,073
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    Ok guys just chatting to the team


    will report more as i get it

    the team will get sick of hearing from me before this is over :P
    Last edited by Pong20302000, Dec 20, 2012
    • Newcomer

    mj yule New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Message Count:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Pong, "a solution possible" ? Mine flashed "success" on a Lite, but hasn't worked since. I can't get it to flash to anything now (as in previous firmwares) using any software pack as a loader. Is this fixable? I contacted the shop and asked for an RMA - should I hold off or return it? I managed to get a Supercard DSTwo from them and it works perfectly.
    • Member

    Pong20302000 i might be a Horcrux

    Member Since:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Message Count:
    8,073
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    sorry, so are you saying you flashed the update and then the card didnt work?
    what extent did it not work? was it blocked?

    you can possibly fix it using the DStwo to boot a firmware update and then place the card into the slot
    • Newcomer

    mj yule New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Message Count:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    HI, the card was flashed using a DSlite with an R4 original (wood 1.54 s/w). It was a brand new R4i3DS that I put in the 3ds (on 4.5.0-10) and it was recognised but gave the "error, hold power to reboot" msg. From then it wasn't detected on the 3ds or Dsl.

    So I flashed it on the DSlite -it claimed success but still wasn't recognised by either machine. I have subsequently tried and tried (using 2 DS lites, 2 R4's, a CycloDS evo using 7 different SD's , formatted with FAT/FAt32 ,used Panasonic....) All the same, it starts flashing and fails at about 80-90% :-(

    I mailed support and they said same as you, try another DSlite...when I explained everything I'd done. I think it's goosed :-(
    • Member

    Pong20302000 i might be a Horcrux

    Member Since:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Message Count:
    8,073
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    when you say wasn't recognized you mean gave the Error or didn't show up in the slot

    if it was showing and booting in the DSLite but not showing at all in a DSi or 3DS then its the PCB board not connecting to the pins so a piece of card or paper should be put under the pcb board to bring the board closer to the pins
    also when you flash any card on a DSLite/Phat make sure Autoboot is turned off
    • Newcomer

    mj yule New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Message Count:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Didn't show up in slot.

    New quirk - I just got a DSi to sort out and tried it in there - the DSi is on 1.41 - the cart shows up as "Metroid Prime Demo"...........

    This is without a memory card in it. Just formatting one as I write this.

    Thing is - I tried the card/paper trick to the point it wouldn't fit in the slot :-(

    Oh - how do I turn off autoboot on an R4 original? Or CycloDS Evo or the Supercard DSTwo...(not tried that as a source yet.)

    Arghhh!

    It was recognised ONCE - now it's gone and no matter how thick a bit of paper it's not there.

    What's weird is that if I leave it for a day, the first "boot" shows something. I'm giving up and RMA'ing it. The Supercard just worked - pity it's going to someone else whilst I wait for a fix or replacement of the R4i
    Last edited by Depravo, Dec 20, 2012. Reason: Do NOT summon the almighty MERGE-A-TRON! ~Dep
    • Member

    Jiehfeng I'M FINE!

    Member Since:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Message Count:
    3,248
    Location:
    I dunno
    Country:
    Sri Lanka
    Please don't double or triple post. Read the rules.
    • Member

    Pong20302000 i might be a Horcrux

    Member Since:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Message Count:
    8,073
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    well then if its metroid the update hasnt had 4.5.0-10 update applied yet
    its under the DS console settings
    if it did and now doesnt its definitely the connectors
    • Newcomer

    mj yule New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Message Count:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is my final post on this (sorry about double/triple posting earlier).

    As i said previously, the card was being detected erratically - or what I believed was erratically ....... but


    I left it overnight and tried running the update (back to metroid prime demo) off an R4. R4 in, load rom, eject, R4i in, press B and BINGO it's shown as an R4i 3DS - run update, SUCCESS. Turn off, turn on - it's detected. It loads (R4wood 3DS 1.55), I try a game..........sticks at loading...................... turn off, on and not detected :-(

    Left it for a day and it did the exact same thing???????????

    If the card is out of the DS/DSi for a prolonged period, it'll be detected. Won't run ANY game and then it disappears.

    I'm stumped. So it's going back. I'm not slating the R4i 3DS developers, the card may well be a counterfeit. It definitely feels much lower quality than the Supercard I got (or my old original R4's ) and CycloDS. The PCB moves about inside the case for one and it feels thin too. The one thing I dislike on the Supercard is the springloaded SD slot..... Why cant they make it like a plain slide -on the side like the old M3???

    Oh well, I got a card working for the 2 machines I needed sorted for xmas - thanks to ChipSPain.com and also
    NDS-card.com as they both got SupercardTWO's out to me before xmas.

    Happy holidays to all and all the best for 2013!
    • Member

    osirisjem Wii U: Y U No Sell ?

    Member Since:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Message Count:
    763
    Country:
    Canada
    of the cards listed in the flashcards working ... which of the companies tends to be good at keeping up with firmware updates (historically) ?
    • Member

    Fyrus Artilleur Carmin

    Member Since:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Message Count:
    763
    Location:
    Marseille - France
    Country:
    France
    Supercard is usually the best at having the first compatibility with Firmware updates.
    Jiehfeng likes this.
    • Member

    Pong20302000 i might be a Horcrux

    Member Since:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Message Count:
    8,073
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    Supercard DSTwo
    there worth the cost because there has been no problems so far
    • Member

    GamerzHell9137 New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Message Count:
    2,811
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Pong, any news about the r4ids.cn Rev C(DORASU Icon) update?
    • Member

    osirisjem Wii U: Y U No Sell ?

    Member Since:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Message Count:
    763
    Country:
    Canada
    Will it work on a Nintendo 3DS or 3DSXL ?
    The FAQ doesn't list 3DS or 3DSXL.
    http://eng.supercard.sc/manual/dstwo/faq.htm
    • Member

    GamerzHell9137 New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Message Count:
    2,811
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    3DS XL is same like 3DS just with bigger screens so the answer is yes, it's gonna work.
    osirisjem likes this.
    • Newcomer

    giabao8811 New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Message Count:
    26
    Country:
    Vietnam
    r4ids.cn still not fix the problem update 4.5.0 with metroid icon?

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page