Error 160-2203 on Boot

Discussion in 'Wii U - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by BlackDragonGamer, Jan 4, 2017.

Jan 4, 2017
  1. BlackDragonGamer
    OP

    Newcomer BlackDragonGamer Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    India
    Hi! I'm very new to GBAtemp.
    I'm not exactly sure is this is the right place to post.

    I recently bought a Wii U (PAL, Mariokart 8 bundle) from Dubai (I live in India). I updated my system to 5.5.1E through the Wii U setting.

    I did fiddle around with homebrew and stuff and managed to install home-brew on the virtual wii (Mii Maker method) and installed USBloader gx and the required CIOS files to play backups after backing up the keys and nand.
    I didn't install anything on the Wii U side itself (only used the browser to get to the Homebrew).

    Now the problem is that almost every time I boot, I end up with a black screen with error 160-2203 (which it says is a system memory error) forcing me to do a hard reset. Sometimes, it'll freeze at the Wii U screen, again forcing a reset. When I do manage to get in, launching the settings app more often than not gives me the same error again.

    However, I haven't faced any problems playing the games themselves. I have tried Mario Kart, Zelda Twilight prices and xenoblade X.

    I have tried formatting the system which didn't accomplish anything.
    Nintendo doesn't support India and therefore I cannot contact their support.

    I would greatly appreciate any help.
     
  2. WiisleyU

    Newcomer WiisleyU Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    Brazil
    I don't understand so much about it too but I think hacking it and running a custom firmware could help.
    I recommend you to search about iosuhax, fw.img and haxchi, and even for rednand or coldboot haxchi if the others can't help
     
  3. BlackDragonGamer
    OP

    Newcomer BlackDragonGamer Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    India
    So basically not booting into the actual firmware might be the only option?
    I'll try Coldboot Haxchi and see if it works. Cause that seems to be the only way to completely bypass the sysnand on boot. Or are there other ways? AFAIK redNAND cannot be directly booted into. Or am I wrong?

    Thanks for replying. I was getting rather worried that I might be completely screwed.
     
    WiisleyU likes this.
  4. C0mm4nd_

    Member C0mm4nd_ GBATemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016
    Messages:
    480
    Country:
    Italy
    Maybe a corrupted nand chip? It's rare, but it can happen
     
  5. RCJayce

    Member RCJayce The Defender Of Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    617
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    So asumming your Sysnand is more dead that alive, you COULD try to use Rednand to launch a sysnand from SD bypassing the Sysnand itself.

    This is just a theory a Game Th... nevermind. But in papers it should work, give it a try!


    Edit: Coldboot Haxchi+Rednand is what you need.
     
    Last edited by RCJayce, Jan 10, 2017
  6. BlackDragonGamer
    OP

    Newcomer BlackDragonGamer Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    India
    Well I guess that's the only option left. I'll try it next week and see if it works out. I really hope it does.
     
  7. C0mm4nd_

    Member C0mm4nd_ GBATemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016
    Messages:
    480
    Country:
    Italy
    Please no... it will fuck all... CBHC loads a game from internal memory, you internal memory is pretty ehm... yeah, y'know. If it can't load that title it will give an error.
     
  8. BlackDragonGamer
    OP

    Newcomer BlackDragonGamer Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    India
    I'm not really sure if my internal memory is completely screwed considering that when it works, it works (as in playing the games and vWii). Especially vWii. Once I boot into vWii I don't encounter any issues at all (thank God).

    So maybe for now, I'll have to stick with, reset every time and just play the games.
     

Share This Page