Error 003

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by damysteryman, Oct 2, 2009.

Oct 2, 2009

Error 003 by damysteryman at 3:27 AM (13,139 Views / 0 Likes) 36 Comments

    • Member

    damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Member Since:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Message Count:
    1,177
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Hi everyone,

    I've been messing with System Menu 4.2 and IOS70 (so I can update cIOSCORP), and every time I add a certain patch to IOS70, it gives me the 003 error when System Menu 4.2 runs under it.

    Here's a picture of what it looks like on the TV (sorry about the camera's flash):
    [IMG]

    Here's the patch that triggers it (it's one of the 2 patches needed to add the "Korean support for non-Korean Wiis" feature I'm adding to cIOSCORP) (thanks to QLeap for the K support patches):

    const u8 koreankey_check[] = { 0x28, 0x00, 0xD0, 0x0A, 0x20, 0x3A, 0x1C, 0x21 };

    if (!found_koreankey && !memcmp(buf+i, koreankey_check, sizeof koreankey_check)){
    buf[i+2] = 0xE0;
    }

    The 003 error will only happen if BOTH of these conditions are met:
    IOS70 is patched with this patch
    System Menu 4.2 is running under this patched IOS 70

    Everything will work fine if one or both of these conditions are not met, e.g. if you run a different title under this patched IOS70 (older sysmenus, random wads etc.). Even running System Menu 4.2 under IOS60 with this patch seems to work fine.

    I'm not sure if the error lives inside IOS, or inside sysmenu 4.2 itself.

    Is anybody able to figure out exactly how this patch causes it, where the error 003 lives, and how to kill error 003, so I can add it to the next cIOSCORP?

    Thankyou in advance,
    da_letter_a


    • Member

    Unfortune New Member

    Member Since:
    May 10, 2009
    Message Count:
    342
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Country:
    Pakistan
    How about nobody updates to 4.2 since it doesn't include anything good. All it does is try to ruin homebrew...
    • Member

    noobwarrior7 New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,593
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    the error is in the menu.
    • Member

    Thomas83Lin Retro Gamer

    Member Since:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,188
    Country:
    United States
    how are you reproducing this error?? I've already tested a dip'd patched IOS70 under 4.2 and backups play great through the disc channel.


    edit: NVM So this is just a korean Wii problem??
    • Member

    Lothlorian New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Message Count:
    207
    Location:
    Berdoo
    Country:
    United States
    The Japanese must have something against the Koreans. [IMG]

    Reports on 4.2 page on Wiibrew that if you have changed the region of a Korean Wii to say US. If you update to 4.2 on said Wii you will get this brick error.
    • Member

    Slowking New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Message Count:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Since this error usually occurs with korean Wiis that were region changed to U/J/E I think we can assume Nintendo is actually breaking region changed korean Wiis on purpose, because they make a lot less money on them. I mean what else could it mean to go after traces of korean disc support?

    But just to clarify does this error show up on startup and lock up your system or is it a disc-playing error?
    • Newcomer

    phantagom New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Message Count:
    31
    Country:
    Aruba
    Seems so, check here, I think they check if the korean common key is present in the EEPROM, check here for more http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=182977

    You dont have a korean wii, but you are patchin the korean common key in it, so 4.2 thinks you have a region converted korean Wii, so ninty say you are a bad boy I give you a 003.

    For korean Wii region converted IOS70 should be patched to block the korean common key calls to the EEPROM, so IOS70 thinks it's a non korean Wii.

    You are trying todo the otherway around with that patch, that is never going to work, unless you kill the routine that checks for the common key in sys menu 4.2. If we kill this, then you can patch your korean common key in your non korean Wii. And I can update to 4.2 with a korean Wii.
    • Member

    damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Member Since:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Message Count:
    1,177
    Country:
    Antarctica
    That makes sense.

    Oh, and I have to tell you guys something that I didn't tell you before: I have Korean IOS installed (IOSes 41, 43, 45, 46, 52) on my non-Korean Wii. Could this have contributed?

    But what I don't get is that SysMenu 4.2 will only give me this error if it is running under the new IOS70. Running it under IOS60 with the same patches works fine. So I've made a quick fix:

    Just install IOS60 in IOS70's slot!

    This quick fix will be present in cIOSCORP v3.5.
    • Member

    FenrirWolf New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Message Count:
    3,596
    Country:
    United States
    By the look of things it's only IOS70 that contributes if changing it around fixes the issue. Doubt 41, 43, etc have much to do with it.
    • Member

    Slowking New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Message Count:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    I really don't think you should add korean disc support to cIOSCORP. We know now that it is dangerous to have this key on your system and it could brick Wiis with the next update.
    It's not like a lot of people are going to want to play korean discs and if they do they can just trucha sign it. Don't play around with something that dangerous.
    • Member

    nknave New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Message Count:
    154
    Country:
    Mexico

    Not to sound like a smart ass or anything, this fix is simple:

    Extract all contents from IOS60
    Extract all *.tik *.tmd *.cert from IOS70
    delete all *.tik *.tmd *.cert from IOS60

    MAke a hybrid where all the 00000000.app *09.app are with the *.tik *.tmd *.cert from IOS70
    recompile and install.

    I'm already enjoying cIOSCorp v3.5 without it being released [IMG]
    • Newcomer

    gajo New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    24
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hi
    I am having the same problem, how can I remove this error? bringing the wii back to life?(my wi is korean)
    • Member

    aabbccdd New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Message Count:
    179
    Country:
    Finland
    To my understanding you can't do anything anymore if you don't have preloader / bootmii/boot2 installed.
    • Newcomer

    gajo New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    24
    Country:
    Brazil
    with the 4.2 update came pre loader etc., has no other tool for this problem? [IMG]
    • Newcomer

    cerebus New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Message Count:
    32
    Country:
    Canada
    Why would the Japaneese have something against Korean since it's the biggest community in Japan after the Japanese (of course) and the Brazilians
    • Member

    Lothlorian New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Message Count:
    207
    Location:
    Berdoo
    Country:
    United States

    Not sure really. They occupied Korea for the first part of the 1900's until the end of WWII. Now they are bricking Korean Wii's!!! hehe
    • Member

    damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Member Since:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Message Count:
    1,177
    Country:
    Antarctica
    OK, I've uploaded my modified IOS70 to mediafire. If anyone wants the error003-causing IOS70, just pm me.

    So, to me it seems that the systemmenu needs to be running under the new IOS in order to trigger the System Menu to check for the Korean key. Has anybody managed to find out more about the error 003, and how to stop it?

    Just a quick question:
    Was I the first person to see the 003 error with my own eyes, or did other people see it before I did?

    A bit off-topic:
    I just can't get over how I managed to trick my wii into thinking it's a region-changed Korean Wii.
    • Member

    Slowking New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Message Count:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Well there are a few theories, but there are not enough people to actually have korean Wiis I guess.
    Best guess is: The korean key actually is stored in an EEPROM area in Hollywood. ( http://hackmii.com/2008/09/korean-wii/ hiding keys) It's usually not used, which is why the region changers didn't bother to change it. It's rewriteable but that would probably need completely new code). My guess is that the new System Menu checks if there is a korean key there and if it does find it it bricks your System. Ofcourse for it to check such things it needs a new IOS that has special functions in it.
    • Member

    Groomery New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Message Count:
    168
    Country:
    Sweden
    I have an Korean Wii, Brought it from Renchi.com, they sad it was an USA system, but when i updated to 4.2 i got the error message.

    Error:003 unauthorised device has been detected Now my WII is bricked [IMG] [IMG] [IMG] [IMG] [IMG]

    I really hope someone clever person figure something out!
    • Member

    9th_Sage New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Message Count:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    Well...on purpose or no, it isn't like any of these things SHOULD be supported or sanctioned by Nintendo. It's the risk we all take, the possibility of a hack or something b0rking the system. I definitely feel bad for people like the fellow above me though. Isn't as thought that was his fault.

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page