EDuke32 Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Hendricks266, May 20, 2012.

May 20, 2012

EDuke32 Wii by Hendricks266 at 9:43 AM (14,070 Views / 2 Likes) 71 replies

  1. mikefor20

    Member mikefor20 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Mushroom Kingdom
    Country:
    United States
    So, I made those forwarders and forgot to check a few things. The forwarders did not show correctly in the data management channel. They had no icons so I fixed them. Also, I had megazig move the DUKE 3D logo so its not touching Duke. I will have Seam re-upload the fixed wads. Please fix all links accordingly once he does. Thanks to Abz for pointing me to the BGM source and megazig for editing the placement of the logo.

    Here is the info:

    EDuke32 - DUKEv4.20 voice 8 BLKios58
    Sound is Duke saying "Come get some" with a gun reloading.
    8 blocks of Wii memory.
    Channel ID = DUKE
    Title = EDuke32

    EDuke32 - DUKEv4.20 BGM 10 BLKios58
    Sound is Duke Nuke 'em Back Ground Music that fades out.
    10 Blocks of Wii memory
    Channel ID = DUKE
    Title = EDuke32

    EDuke32 - DUKEv4.20 BGM Loop 11 BLKios58
    Sound is Duke Nuke 'em Background Music that loops.
    11 Blocks of Wii memory
    Channel ID = DUKE
    Title = EDuke32

    I made some changes to the compression so I takes up less room,i think. Don't recall the blocks from first forwarders. I changed the base wad to Wadder Base 3 for all of the channels. Now it shows in data management. These wads are completely legal as far as I know.... Enjoy!!
     
    1 person likes this.


  2. Hendricks266
    OP

    Newcomer Hendricks266 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the updates! The WiiBrew page has been updated with a new link.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. Gan1664

    Member Gan1664 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    France
    Hello

    Is trhis possible to turn and aim with the WiiMote ?

    I tried many changes in the stup and i can't manage to do it.

    If it is possible; maybe someone could post his config file ?
     
  4. seam

    Member seam GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    618
    Location:
    austin texas
    Country:
    United States
    sorry, i dont think that is an option.. you would need to use the nunchuk to turn and the wiimote to aim.
     
  5. Gan1664

    Member Gan1664 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    France
    Ok

    How to do that ? (aiming with the Wiiimote).
     
  6. XICO2KX

    Member XICO2KX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    Portugal
    Yes, being able to aim with the Wiimote would be a great feature! :D
     
  7. codezer0

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,385
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    I'd just as be happy being able to use my classic controller pro.
     
  8. slingblade1170

    Member slingblade1170 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    875
    Country:
    United States
    I was playing Duke Nukem on my Wii a long time ago. You can inject Duke Nukem rom into Sin & Punishment WAD and play it flawlessly on the Wii. You can also edit the banner/icon/animation to whatever you want using a hex editor.
     
  9. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    Personally I hated the N64 version. It looked and sounded terrible compared to the PC, the only thing it offered was split-screen multiplayer.
     
  10. codezer0

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,385
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    Duke 64 also had some exclusive, themed levels. Some were more entertaining than others. I just hated the fact that it was censored up; but then again, I got to play the original on DOS in school as a reward for finishing homework early. :D
     
  11. seam

    Member seam GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    618
    Location:
    austin texas
    Country:
    United States
    well im sure nobody cares, but i figured out something about that "weird stretchy sky/buildings" glitch with this. it only occurs on crt tvs. when using this on an hdtv the issue is gone... guess its some auto aspect ratio adjust bug...
     
  12. nakata6790

    Member nakata6790 True Player

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    881
    Country:
    Greece
    Flawlessly? I remember it showing the sprites behind walls and not being able to save too. Maybe i tried a different/older inject but it had those issues.

    Anyway, has anybody meddled with mods for eDuke Wii?

    Finally, I have the same issues with ''streched'' backgrounds as well (i use a CRT) but i figured it was due to my TV. I also upload a config file for wiimote & nunchuck controls. The buttons configs may not suit you, you can change them any time from the eDuke menu.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. nakata6790

    Member nakata6790 True Player

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    881
    Country:
    Greece
    Hey hey hey! Check THIS out, it came out 2 days ago:



    This plays on eduke32 PC, i'm gonna try and set it up on the wii port and report back asap.
     
  14. codezer0

    Member codezer0 Gaming keeps me sane

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,385
    Location:
    The Magic School Bus
    Country:
    United States
    I apologize ahead of time if this was already mentioned, but does EDuke Wii support the Classic Controller/Pro? I didn't see any mention of it here.
     
  15. nakata6790

    Member nakata6790 True Player

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    881
    Country:
    Greece
    Yes it does.

    Anyway, i cannot seem to get the above mod to work on eduke Wii, if anyone manages to do so, PLEASE report and give a mini guide. TIA.
     
  16. nakata6790

    Member nakata6790 True Player

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    881
    Country:
    Greece
    Hey guys, has anyone managed to get a TV mod running on EDuke32 Wii?
    I finished Duke3D long agowith great wiimote controls, and i wanted to try some mods out as well.
    I downloaded Starship Troopers TC mod and put it in my SD. I know it can run on wii but i cannot get the damn thing to install, the wiibrew page is not clear in its' instructions.
    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/EDuke32_Wii#Using_TCs.2FMods.2FExpansions

    I start EDuke32 Wii, go to New game-->User map and on the right i see a level list of the vanilla Duke 2d levels.
    On the left side, there is the Starship Troopers folder (so the app can see it alright) but it does not let me choose it...
    Any help?
     
  17. nakata6790

    Member nakata6790 True Player

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    881
    Country:
    Greece
    Allright, i managed to get Starship Troopers running! Plays great on Wii!



    make sure the meta.xml has this line at the end: <arg>-gssttc.grp</arg>
    and the app folder (i named it EDuke33 lol) looks like this:
    untitled.PNG


    =EDIT=
    Also managed to get Duke Nukem 3D Atomic edition expansions (Duke @ DC, Vacation, Nuclear Winter) to play!
     
  18. XICO2KX

    Member XICO2KX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    Portugal
    Nice work nakata6790! B-)
    And thank for the tip! :yaywii:
    Starship Troopers rock!!!:D
    ( Only the 1st movie though! :P )
     
  19. nakata6790

    Member nakata6790 True Player

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    881
    Country:
    Greece
    Cool! Try the expansions as well! Nuclear Winter especially as it is timely, Christmas and all :)
     
  20. Chris_Highwind

    Member Chris_Highwind GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for the bump, but I decided to try eDuke32 Wii since I owned both the GOG.com version and the Atomic Edition on Steam. I've put the .RTS and .GRP files in the sd:/apps/eduke32 directory like the instructions say, and installed the soundfont as per the instructions, however, when I start the homebrew on vWii, it goes through the initial loading of the engine procedures, and then I'm stuck at a black screen until I turn off my Wii U via the button on the console.

    EDIT: Turns out that the GOG copy of the Duke Nukem 3D might have some alterations done to it that eDuke32 Wii doesn't support. I used the Steam files from the Megaton Edition and it works fine. Now I just have a problem with a really sensitive strafing and the inability to save my game.
     

Share This Page