DStwo not working / sometimes recognized on 3DSxl

Discussion in '3DS - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Muteki_Marshall, Dec 22, 2012.

Dec 22, 2012
    • Newcomer

    Muteki_Marshall New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    France
    Hi guys i've been having lots of trouble, maybe some of you can help me !

    here's my story,

    I just bought a 3DSxl and a DStwo.

    The console is now updated to 4.5.0-10E
    I formated my SDcard with SDFormater, and I used a friend's DSi to update the DStwo's firmware to the last version. I'm of course also using the latest EOS with the latest patch.

    But, it's not working. When I plug the DStwo in the console, nothing shows up.
    However when I go to the console's setting and back, the card is magically recognized as "ALEX RIDER STROMBREAKER THQ".
    When I launch it, i get the infamous message "an error occured. Press and hold power to turn the system off"

    I managed ONCE to launch it and make it work properly (I didn't do anything, It worked this time for no reason) but after I turned off the console I get the same problem.
    I tried the DStwo on my friend's DSi and it's working fine.

    Is my card faulty ? I've been reading a lot of posts and I don't know what to do anymore...

    Maybe some of you can enlighten me ?

    thanks :)
    • Member

    metroid maniac An idiot with an opinion

    Member Since:
    May 16, 2009
    Message Count:
    353
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you have the latest Firmware Update?
    • Newcomer

    Muteki_Marshall New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    France
    yes i used a DSi to upgrade it
    • Member

    metroid maniac An idiot with an opinion

    Member Since:
    May 16, 2009
    Message Count:
    353
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you had run the latest, v1.19 update then everything ought to be working...
    • Newcomer

    Muteki_Marshall New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    France
    I did. I picked it on the official DStwo website.

    It's bothering me, I did It twice from scratch and I can't figure out what's wrong :(
    • Member

    metroid maniac An idiot with an opinion

    Member Since:
    May 16, 2009
    Message Count:
    353
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All I can think of is that you install the firmware update again. Are you sure you are using v1.19?
    • Member

    AceWarhead "Must Construct Additional Pylons"

    Member Since:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Message Count:
    1,194
    Country:
    United States
    Perhaps it's something wrong with the 3DS XL's card slot? Maybe it's dirty, or some pins are broken?
    • Newcomer

    Muteki_Marshall New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    France
    I think so, the update went fine like I saw on every youtube video showing how to do it.

    Unfortunately I don't have my friend's DSi with me right now... is there any way to see which firmware is runnig on the DStwo ?
    • Newcomer

    Muteki_Marshall New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    France
    Both console and DStwo are brand new, I just played a few hours on zelda oot 3D :D
    • Newcomer

    apretz wat

    Member Since:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Message Count:
    12
    Location:
    Tejas
    Country:
    United States
    I have an issue with my supercard where it will only work if I have the card inserted when turning on my 3DS, and launch the card as soon as the OS will let me, by repeatedly hitting A while the 3DS starts up. Have you tried that?
    • Member

    tbgtbg Shaking the ring ropes up in the sky

    Member Since:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Message Count:
    1,951
    Country:
    United States
    Mine sometimes won't read the microSD card, but somewhere around here (I think) someone said something about inserting the SD at a slight angle and since trying that I've had no more issues with it on my 3DSXL.

    Both my system and card are fairly new like yours (not even had them a month yet), and I have updated them as well. About the only difference is I used an original DS not a DSi to update the DSTWO firmware after updating the 3DS to the most recent firmware. Can't see how that would make a difference, though, updating is updating, right?
    • Newcomer

    Muteki_Marshall New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    France
    I tried spamming A button when turning on the console : doesn't work because the game is not showing up.
    And also reinserting the sd card as carefully as possible but no changes...

    I don't think updating through the DS or DSi makes a difference, it said the update was suscessful.
    I tried a few times launching the dstwo after the update on the DSi and it worked fine. The card was recognized instanly and launched smoothly

    The only way for my game to show up on the 3DSxl is to go into settings and back... why ? :o Is there a reason behind this ? I couldn't find anyone with the same thing happening.
    (And even though it shows up, it just crash with the "error occurred...")
    • Member

    Chary GO FORTH, MY SHINIES~

    Member Since:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Message Count:
    2,118
    Location:
    Boredomland
    Country:
    United States
    The same thing happens to me. You have to press down slightly on the supercard while booting the cart. Works for me everytime.
    • Newcomer

    Muteki_Marshall New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    France
    I tried while turning on the console : no changes, the card won't show up
    I also tried while launching the game, I still get the error message :(
    • Member

    Dark New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Message Count:
    856
    Country:
    United States
    Try unscrewing it and putting it back together. My 3DS didn't recognize it until I did that.
    • Newcomer

    Muteki_Marshall New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    France
    ok I unscrewed it and checked a little bit, everything seemed to be in order, I mean the card looks like any other DStwo... And it still not showing up when i turn on the console :(
    I don't think it's a physical problem since it's working perfectly on a DSi...

    Can the DStwo firmware downgrade itself for some reason ?
    I can't try to re install it since I don't have the DSi anymore... is there really no way to see which firmare is running on the dstwo ?
    • Newcomer

    apretz wat

    Member Since:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Message Count:
    12
    Location:
    Tejas
    Country:
    United States
    If you can't boot the DSTwo, there's no way to tell.
    If you launch the firmware update again on the DSTwo by putting the update file back on the SD card and starting it, it'll tell you what version it's upgrading from, even if you don't let it update. But to do that you'll need to be able to start up the DSTwo in the first place.
    • Newcomer

    Muteki_Marshall New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    France
    Today I tried the "paper trick" without any succes :(

    Thanks for all the insight. I'll try to get my hands on my friend's DSi in the next few days and reflash it again.

    If it's not working, i'll give a shot at the"dstwo_load_NDSL.nds" method...
    ( http://3dsaccessary.wordpress.com/2012/04/24/how-to-repair-your-dstwo-if-it-show-no-card-insert/ )

    And if it's still not working, I guess I'll have to buy a new one, I don't see any other option anymore :(

    Anyway, thanks again for your help.
    I'll post here again to tell you if I managed to make it work or if the card was faulty.

    cheers :)
    • Newcomer

    Muteki_Marshall New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Message Count:
    10
    Country:
    France
    Hey ! Quick update :

    I got my hands on a DSlite, re-flashed the firmware (it was already running the latest version) and... It was still not working on both console...
    I made it work like once out of 20 tries... The card just wouldn't show up.

    So I bought a new one, updated the firmare and it's working flawlessly so far.
    It seems the DStwo was faulty, I can't see any other explanation...

    Hope my troubles might help someone, thanks again guys :)

Share This Page