DSI bricked by R4I

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by shanks13, May 14, 2010.

May 14, 2010

DSI bricked by R4I by shanks13 at 7:28 PM (3,318 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. shanks13

    Newcomer shanks13 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi i have a dsi that has completely stopped working with or without a game in it, whatever i try to get on it gives me the message 'error press and hold down the power button to turn off and refer to the user manual' there is nothing in the manual.

    I took it to a local shop and they said it was bricked because i had used an R4i card in it and would cost £90 to fix.

    Can anyone help me at all, ive got a very sad child
     
  2. Gnargle

    Member Gnargle I am not a New Member, I've been here since 2008!

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    568
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't know a whole lot about the R4i specifically, but its very difficult to brick a DS. You'd have to seriously mess up the firmware and no flashcart actually edits the firmware. The shop is probably bullshitting, did you tell them you'd used an R4? Because if you didn't there's no way they could know you'd used a flashcart, its not like in the Wii where they can analyse the cIOS or something.
     
  3. shanks13

    Newcomer shanks13 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No i didnt tell them i had used an R4i but they suggested that is what could have caused it which is when i said i had.

    Cant pay £90 to get it fixed so was really hoping for some ideas on how/if it can be fixed.
     
  4. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,950
    Country:
    United States
    What type of R4i was it?
     
  5. retiredjerk

    Member retiredjerk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    sounds like u are on 1.3 firmware and not bricked
     
  6. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,950
    Country:
    United States
    1.3 firmware doesn't block flashcarts.

    OP: Do you have an original DS game? Put it in and turn it on.
     
  7. bou707

    Newcomer bou707 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    thats weird, never thought you could brick it
     
  8. lakaiskateboarding

    Member lakaiskateboarding GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    Can´t you just send it to Nintendo? They´ll probably fix it for free.
     
  9. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,950
    Country:
    United States
    That's not it, you CAN'T modify DSi system files without the common-key, which we don't have!
     
  10. shanks13

    Newcomer shanks13 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Typically its just out of warranty by a few weeks so nintendo will charge to fix it as well.

    Nothing is working at all i get the error message on everything, cant even play normal ds games.

    Sounds like im going to end up buying a new one or paying the £90

    Just wanted to ask incase anyone could help at all

    i was using an R4i-sdhc upgrade which i have only had a month or so i got it from r4i.co.uk and used the kernal v1.20b
     
  11. fearofshorts

    Member fearofshorts GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Send it to nintendo. I think that they'll fix it a bit cheaper, and then you'll be sure that it works. Plus, they'll probably extend the warranty a bit after the repair.
     
  12. lukands

    Member lukands I took the little bus here

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    461
    Location:
    Your mamas house
    Country:
    Estonia
    maybe try taking battery out, this might reset things? unless the error is already flashed onto the mobo?
     
  13. johncenafan427

    Member johncenafan427 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    Troy, Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    i have no idea. i have the r4i gold, and nothing wrong has happened so far.
     
  14. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It is possible for an R4i to brick your system, it would have to be by blowing a fuse on the motherboard though (which would presumably have caused a crash the first time) due to the cart being cheap and/or faulty.
    Best course of action is to send it to Nintendo if you are still within warranty, they will take it as a glitch as there is no way for them to know you used a flashcart.

    Edit: Just noticed its out of warranty, try calling customer services and explain your problem (just don't mention the R4) and ask them for a warrqanty fix which they may provide considering its only a few weeks out.
     
  15. Tux'

    Member Tux' The Linux Based Penguin

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    If it's a firmware problem, he may still be on 1.3, he hasn't said otherwise, and he could update, see if anything works after that, no?
     
  16. Inunah

    Banned Inunah The Female Mistaken for a Male.

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,679
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    If you can't turn on the DSi without getting the error message, how are you supposed to get to the update screen?
     
  17. Samik

    Newcomer Samik Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    LH city
    Country:
    Slovakia
    it looks like the fuse problem....i saw somewhere that r4is oftenly blow fuses on ds....they arent that good made it is a bad working clone...
     
  18. Knyaz Vladimir

    Member Knyaz Vladimir 3DS Hacker

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Location:
    Unconfirmed
    Country:
    Canada
    Take the card out and ship it to Nintendo. They charge about 70Pounds (I can't make the sign) to fix it. Tell them you were playing a game and something happened that you don't understand. They cannot tell if it's an R4i unless you leave the card in there.
     
  19. spark1223

    Member spark1223 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    United States
    If its a DSi. Its not bricked. Its a blown fuse like everyone said if anything. I really think you might be able to find someone to do it for you if you do want to pay nintendo, fuses are cheap and are not terribly difficult to replace, many people on these boards can do it.
     

Share This Page