Hacking "DS with a question mark" icons for all .NDS Files?

Epicenter

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hello! I read through the FAQ thread and googled thoroughly but to no avail. This is my first time using Slot 1 devices- my last one was an old-fashioned "M3 Adapter" for Slot 2 on my flashed DSL. I have tried two different DS Slot 1 flash cards, and this same issue has cropped up on both, but with slightly different symptoms.

Previous device (now nonworking): R4 "Dual Core" SDHC card, junk clone-of-a-clone. Didn't work properly with the software from the "official" website, which made it report that it was an AceKard 2 "RPG" (what). Kind of-sort of worked with "R4 for Clones". The "Wood"-style list would show up, but to the left of each NDS file's name would be a gray icon of a DS with a big question mark over it, which I interpret as "Unreadable file". The occasional file would work- like the .NDS that is used to update the onboard chip to work on newer DSi/3DS FW, but most games and homebrew would not, giving this [?] icon. I found that testing version after version of the "Wood" software (by launching .nds files) would sometimes make particular .nds files work, but not most of them.

I switched to the ACE3DS because the R4 "Dual Crap" spontaneously became nonworking and won't even recognize as a cartridge to the NDSL or 3DS it worked perfectly in moments before. You win some, you lose some.