DS/DSi/3DS "hacking" F.A.Q.

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Rydian, Feb 7, 2011.

Feb 7, 2011

DS/DSi/3DS "hacking" F.A.Q. by Rydian at 12:09 AM (107,827 Views / 2 Likes) 69 Comments

    • Member

    UniqueGeek PMD Researcher

    Member Since:
    May 29, 2009
    Message Count:
    529
    Country:
    United States
    The only ones are either dead or NO$GBA (and I think NO$GBA has an option for using raw saves if I remember correctly).


    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Clarified some wording, and added the difference between firmware and the menu/OS.
    • Member

    Chhotu uttam DOH HO HO HO

    Member Since:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Message Count:
    863
    Location:
    TEH WORLD
    Country:
    India
    hey rydian this is looking ausome .

    But I would like to know that can the flash carts be used for nintendo 3ds?

    If any please tell
    • Member

    rockstar99 Hi

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Message Count:
    7,376
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    yes some flashcards such as the SCDS2,Acekard 2i, iEvolution M3i Zero and Acekard 2i work on the 3DS

    The recommended flashcart to get for a 3DS is the DS2 or Ak2i
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Updated the wording in the softmod question to indicate that sudoku was patched.

    Added the question on changing the flash cart's reported game icon.
    • Member

    kingofgamesgx Hitokiri Battousai

    Member Since:
    May 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    250
    Country:
    United States
    found typo in this part

    Picking A Flash Cart

    Q - How do I know which flash cart to get?
    A - There's many things to take into consideration, such as what you plan to do, which DS model you have, how much money you're willing to spend, and if you care about special/addon features. If you check the Qhich Flash Cart Should I Get? sticky you'll find info on the modern flash carts, but if you're confused about a few of them or have other questions feel free to ask. Please make a thread about a flash cart you find before you buy it, because there's many many "clones", fakes, and knockoffs out there.
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You don't like quiche? [IMG]




    Fixed.
    • Member

    Ziggy Zigzagoon New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Message Count:
    436
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    I ask about FlashMe. Sure, I do not see the need for FlashMe now, but does that not coount to be a soft-mod?
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I honestly do not believe that people coming here to look to "hack" their DS care about that.
    • Member

    SifJar Not a pirate

    Member Since:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Message Count:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You just said it wasn't firmware, then go on to refer to it as firmware. You should probably change that so its less confusing for n00bs.

    And I don't think many people are going to care about FlashMe either. It's not need for slot-1 cards and has limited value even for slot-2 cards IMO. You can get a NoPass pretty cheap these days (Datel's MAX Media Launcher does the job and costs £5 from the UK Codejunkies online store), and if you have one of those its not hard to stick it in when you want to use your slot-2 card. You'd need it to install FlashMe anyway. The other functions of FlashMe (brick protection, removing health screen) aren't really worth it either, as the brickers aren't publicly available and the health screen isn't worth a potential brick over removing.
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Whoops. XD That was a leftover before I split that into separate sections.
    • Newcomer

    glysegui New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Message Count:
    82
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Larger SD memory size = slower laoding time?
    • Member

    molh394 New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Message Count:
    209
    Country:
    Singapore
    That's not what is written on the FAQ. Where did you get that?
    • Member

    Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Member Since:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Message Count:
    27,886
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    He was just asking it since this is an FAQ thread.

    No, not inherently. If you bought a $20 4GB card and then a $20 8GB card and the 8GB one was slower, it was probably a cheaper-built one. Pay attention to the class and brand and such.
    • Member

    Sora de Eclaune The Famicom-Eyed Beast of the West

    Member Since:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Message Count:
    2,682
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    This is a very informative FAQ here. I should send it to some of my friends, as they seem to repeatedly ask these questions. I just hope they don't end up asking me to fix the sudokuhax so it works again or modify their SD Card slot (if they have a DSi) so they can play backup ROMs.

    I should really get them "Nintendo DS for Dummies" or something. They're the type of people who think the slot-1 is an SD Card slot, no matter what you tell them, until they actually try to fit an SD Card into that slot. Heck, I've still got at least one friend who thinks he's the authority on NDS hacking just because he learned how to patch with Lunar IPS.
    • Member

    emigre Putting out the fire with gasoline

    Member Since:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Message Count:
    7,497
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I beg you to shoot your friends. Being a noob is fine, being an idiot is another thing entirely. These are the people holding back humanity.
    • Member

    Sora de Eclaune The Famicom-Eyed Beast of the West

    Member Since:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Message Count:
    2,682
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    I can't shoot them! I'm not done with them yet!

    But in all seriousness, they're getting better, but it's still ridiculous.. I could have a whole thread about the stupid stuff my friends do with their DS's.

    Edit) Hey, there's an idea. I think I'll do that.
    • Member

    emigre Putting out the fire with gasoline

    Member Since:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Message Count:
    7,497
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Make a blog thread about it. You could post anything in Blogs.
    • Member

    Sora de Eclaune The Famicom-Eyed Beast of the West

    Member Since:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Message Count:
    2,682
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    And I did, but now I've got to go.

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page