Dragon Warrior (Quest) 7 issues

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Harley2280, Dec 24, 2012.

Dec 24, 2012
  1. Harley2280

    Newcomer Harley2280 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Somewhere in TN
    Country:
    United States
    I can get the game running, but when it does there's no text, or menus. It's just the music with a blue background after the title screen.

    I'm running CFW Pro-C 6.60, and I have popsloader, but anytime I try to use a pops other then the one from flash, the PSP just goes black and then turns off.

    I've been trying forever trying to get this game to work, I'm stumped and need help.
     


  2. FailName

    Member FailName ░▒▓█▓▒░

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    153
    Country:
    United States
    Use popsloader v3 or the unofficial v4g.

    I'm assuming you did the same thing as I did to get DW7 to work, which was follow this guide and assume I was already on v3 because the installer linked to it says v3, so I disregarded the "POPsloader v1" that came up in the pops selection menu. Turned out I was actually on v1.
    Going back right now, the modified dates on the /seplugins/popsloader folder of the setup files match v3's dates, but after running the installer, v1 files must have replaced them.
     
  3. Harley2280

    Newcomer Harley2280 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Somewhere in TN
    Country:
    United States
    I downloaded the v4g, but I'm not sure what to do from there. None of those files looking like what I got from the guide.
     
  4. Clydefrosch

    Member Clydefrosch GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,423
    Country:
    Germany
    you might as well give up, i've tried to get this to start with v4g, using every version of pops selectable, besides original from flash, none of them even start the game, they just crash the psp
     
  5. kristianity77

    Member kristianity77 GBATemp old fogey

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,360
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had a right hassle to get this to work but it DOES work, its a specific version of POPS to get it to work correctly. 4.01 is the ONLY one i could get it to work.

    Also, depending on how and where you obtained the game, there are a SHED load of dodgy unworking versions out there.

    Probably cant link to where to get a working version from. But google "" and you'll find a working version on there.
     
  6. Clydefrosch

    Member Clydefrosch GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,423
    Country:
    Germany
    thats already too much information to give here. also, thats one of 3 versions of the game i tried, didnt work either
     
  7. kristianity77

    Member kristianity77 GBATemp old fogey

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,360
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  8. FailName

    Member FailName ░▒▓█▓▒░

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Messages:
    153
    Country:
    United States
    Take everything inside the dist folder and replace everything in /seplugins/popsloader of your memory with it. After holding R when booting the game, it should "popsloader ME/PRO mod v4g", or something like that.

    I can confirm it works on a 3000 with 6.60 Pro C using 3.52 pops...It didn't work when I tried to convert it myself, but it worked when I downloaded a preconverted one.
     
  9. Harley2280

    Newcomer Harley2280 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Somewhere in TN
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry it took me so long to respond to you guys, I've been away for the holidays. Anyways, thank you so much this got it to work, and now I can finally play.
     
  10. TalOrtRal

    Newcomer TalOrtRal Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Just wanted to share my experience getting this to work since it's been the biggest pain I've ever encountered in a couple decades of emulating.

    I'm running a PSP 1000. A couple years ago, I drove myself crazy trying to get DW7 to run correctly. When it would run at all, I'd get the solid blue block with invisible text everyone runs into. I upgraded to CFW 6.60 PRO-C and tried EBOOTs from many sources. I was using Popsloader v3 because that's what most popsloader guides describe. After tons of attempts and trying out all the pops settings, I gave up.

    Today, I did some more reading and upgraded to Popsloader v4g. I started trying the popular pops settings and on 3.71, it works! So far, no issues.
     
  11. drgnslayers

    Newcomer drgnslayers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Canada
    Just to help you people, here's a list of compatibility for each PSP model:

    POPS Compatibility:

    All POPS working with PSP Fat, 2000 and 3000 3g

    PSP 3000 (other than 3g):
    Every POPS from 3.02 to 3.52 WORKS
    Every POPS from 3.71 to 6.00 DOESN'T WORK
    Every POPS from 6.20 to Original from flash POPS WORKS

    PSP GO:
    Every POPS from 3.02 to 3.52 WORKS. Sound ONLY works with Headphones!!!
    Every POPS from 3.71 to 6.00 DOESN'T WORK
    Every POPS from 6.20 to Original from flash POPS WORKS
     
  12. drgnslayers

    Newcomer drgnslayers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Canada
    the same goes here as I have a PSP 3000 9g which means that no POPS between 3.71 to 6.00 work :) Your advice has been most useful.
     
  13. falconcrest

    Newcomer falconcrest Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    has anyone figured out how to make the game stop locking up while using certain attacks(gabo's howl/bite seems to do this randomly,vacuslash as well)
     
  14. drgnslayers

    Newcomer drgnslayers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Canada
    after defeating maneater boss, the music does play as usual but have a black screen. I have a PSP 3000 with CFW 6.60 Pro-C and using pops 3.52 with Popsloader 4g
     
  15. Zack1995

    Newcomer Zack1995 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    pops 3.50,3.51,3.52 can be play so swap i if have black screen,if it cannot work swap to pops 6.60 temporary and past that black screen then swap back to previous pops that can be play.i have play and beat it on my psp 3000 firm 6.60 use pro c 2 fix psn.dont use multi disc eboot instead use disc 1 eboot and disc 2 eboot separate
     
  16. drgnslayers

    Newcomer drgnslayers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm using pops 3.52 for that game because for an unknown reason, using pops 3.40, 3.50 or 3.51 gives me an Error 80000004
     
  17. kristianity77

    Member kristianity77 GBATemp old fogey

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,360
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I played this game through with no crashes whatsoever on POPS 3.52 (PSP 3000 9g now, was a PSP2000 earlier in the thread a few years back) using a separate Eboot for each disc (as it saves at the ends of disc 1, allowing you to reset and swap)
     
  18. drgnslayers

    Newcomer drgnslayers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Canada
    It may be my best bet. That's what member Zack1995 recommanded me. oh my CFW is actually PRO-C fix 3.
    say, is it normal that the eboot of either disk is actually bigger than both disks (nearly 2 gig vs 1,5 gig) ?
     
  19. kristianity77

    Member kristianity77 GBATemp old fogey

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,360
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    It shouldn't be. Each Eboot I have is about 550mb each. So should only be around the 1.1gb mark for two separate Eboots.

    Also, Upgrade the ProC-Fix 3 to Pro C2. C2 has had all the fixes now (think there was a release in December 2014). No reason now to stay on Fix3
     
  20. drgnslayers

    Newcomer drgnslayers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Canada
    found out the problem. it would have wiser of me to send it directly to my PSP as it is not compressed otherwise. still, I can't get the second cd's iso to be converted into a 550mb eboot :P
    about the Pro C2 CFW, it has indeed been updated last December but wasn't easy to find an updated version. Gonna have to update my CFW :)
     

Share This Page